We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as great as we remembered”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Even though it's been four years since our last visit to the Blyth, it's still just as great. Ever so friendly and efficient staff, excellent food and service.

We also love the fact that The Blyth really is dog friendly, not just pretend dog friendly like some places. The staff are so lovely, for instance bringing a bowl of water to ensure everyone is happy and comfortable.

It's in a great location, meaning you can leave your car and walk around the town and along the gorgeous beach.

As we left it quite late to make our booking, there was only one single room left but this was explained to us and we got a nice discount. It was absolutely fine for the three of us (my Husband, dog and I) for one night and would be more than adequate for a person travelling alone. This is the only reason I've scored low on sleep quality, but on previous visits it has been great.

We thoroughly recommend a stay or visit to the Blyth if you're in Southwold, we felt sad to leave yesterday.

We'll definitely be back again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkyKiwi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (784)
There are newer reviews for Blyth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 784 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have to agree with most of the reviewers on here, the stair carpet is awful and I think standards have gone down since we last stayed two years ago. Absolutely nothing on the bar menu for a veggie, i.e. me, and my husband said his steak wasn't as good as last time. Having said that, the staff are fantastic and so attentive, and we're not far from the sea. And the bed is comfy! But I think £100 pn is a bit excessive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I just spent two comfortable days at Blyth Hotel. The owner and staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable, the shower need a bit of TLC but worked fine. The staircase carpet could do with renewing, as could most of the carpets but that must be a huge capital outlay and I guess the hotel is under relatively new ownership so little by little....
Breakfast was lovely and the rooms represented good value for Southwold; only 20 minutes walk to everything!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have an extract fan from the kitchen on the wall between their windows. It switched of...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed in the Aldeburgh room. The room was spacious with nice bath and shower. But the bed was awful, mattress was so hard that I nearly considered sleeping on the floor! Liked the decor of the hotel but does need a re paint and a tidy up outside. Dinner was ok... had the bar menu... but food could be much better presented. Breakfast was good. An ok stay but it was nothing special. 7/10

Room Tip: The Aldeburgh room was lovely, spacious and clean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 787bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The room I was in was decorated in a duck egg blue which was fab. Richard at reception has the funniest sense of humour and just up my street!! Breakfast for the first two mornings was chaotic but very chilled on the third morning. All of the staff were really friendly and happy to help. I noticed a few pensioners were staying and they were on first name terms which was lovely. I was in room 9 which is a nice size and quiet as it is at the back overlooking the garden. There was not a hook on the bathroom door which was a nuisance and I am not a lover of soap dispensers because if you want to have a bath you need to stand up each time to get some soap to wash rather than have a nice soak with a bar of soap beside you. All in all a lovely stay and I would most definately go again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michi099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Room was spacious , well decorated clean and comfortable. Cooked breakfast was good, but don't order the eggs florentine unless you want your eggs on an untoasted and unsliced muffin. Coffee was weak.
Did not eat in the restaurant because when we arrived at 8:45 we were told the kitchen was closed; the next day we saw a sign saying the food served between 12:00 and 9pm. Don't go to Sothwold if you want to eat at 8:45 because you will get the same answer at other hotels/pubs restaurants. Hence poor service score

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely little red brick victorian hotel. Modernised sympathetically and charming in a chabbi chick way. Sam is a legend and we couldnt have been more comfortable. Breakfast was really good and the room a treat. Had a better stay here than in many a so called four star hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedseagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Southwold
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
730 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,035 reviews
12.4 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: $102 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing