We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blyth hotel southwold”
Review of Blyth Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blyth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely little red brick victorian hotel. Modernised sympathetically and charming in a chabbi chick way. Sam is a legend and we couldnt have been more comfortable. Breakfast was really good and the room a treat. Had a better stay here than in many a so called four star hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedseagoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 794 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and the location is great, within walking distance of everything and beach is fabulous. The hotel has clearly at one time been decorated very well however this was not recent and i think it is now in need of a deep clean and general refresh of the decor - the hall smells and the stair carpet is positively grubby. the bedroom was nice, except the shower door was broken and the rooms are much smaller than shown on the website there are no sea views. breakfast was nice although the milk had gone off as i discovered when i put it in my coffee?! in summary i think it's over priced for the standard. i stay in hotels
/b and b's regularly and for the same price get a much higher standard of cleanliness, needs a bit of 'tlc' to warrant the cost.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachael775678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent two nights in the Blyth, the hotel was in a good position close to the beach and the centre of the village - we didn't use our car at all whilst we stayed here. The staff were all very polite and helpful and I was made a perfect whisky mac at the bar last Saturday evening - Thank you! The hotel had a nice atmosphere and everyone made the effort to talk and ensure we were happy with everything, breakfast was good, would prefer it to be a little more traditional and less effort to be fancy had an unusual and, if i'm honest not very good eggs benedict for my breakfast - it was billed as traditional but it was rather a mess and not good at all, It may just be me? Overall - would recommend, nice hotel.

Room Tip: Don't order the eggs the 'traditional' eggs benedict for breakfast - sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I think the Man from the AA ratings must have been having a bad day to only give this Hotel 2 Stars. Easy check in, staff very friendly , we had 2 rooms - one a double superior, the other the Alderburgh Suite, both were absolutely excellent, seen on here some comments about tired decor, ok but we were not there to look at the Wallpaper. Rooms were clean and spacious and had it not been such a lovely day i could have stood in the wonderful shower all day. Did not eat in the evening but breakfast was absolutely excellent. Would recommend this hotel to everyone, will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked a while ago via the internet and I have always been led to believe you get the best price when booking on line! Well not according to the owner of The Byth ! our rooms were £75 and £50 more than any other room on offer due to a promotion.
On arriving you notice a vase of very old looking flowers on the counter. The stair carpet is positively grubby. We were staying in room 5 (not a recommend) The furniture is very tired, the loo brush is dirty, the shower after turning the handle for minutes does not produce hot water.Sitting on the loo is only for contortionists.Going down stairs into the dining room one notices the floor around breakfast bar is sticky The breakfast bar needs replacing or repainting it is past shabby! The outside furniture is tatty the fag dispensers are not emptied. I could go on but i'm sure you get my drift. When I commented on the price I was being charged the owner said 'this is Southwold'

Room Tip: Don't have room 5
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have eaten here on a number of occasions, and the food has always been good, and the catering staff have always been attentive, which makes all the other inconsistencies rather strange.
For some years, a loyalty card has been advertised for regular customers, and as we pass very regularly, we thought it was well worth applying for, about 2 years ago. Well, we tried. We came back so many times to see if the cards were ready, it became a joke, and so we gave up. And stayed away. When we saw a special deal on Full English breakfast advertised in June 2013 we thought we would try again. Sure enough, when we went in, we were told there was an entirely new system in place,and issued a loyalty card immediately, although we were told it couldn't be used for the breakfast.
Fair enough, it was a good deal, so we planned a week ahead, and with some friends arrived on Monday 24th at 8.45 am eagerly anticipating our breakfast. Although the sign was still outside advertising it, not only was the dining room and bar entirely deserted, when we eventually found a member of staff, we were told they "weren't doing breakfasts" that day. After further grilling, we were told that there was a "problem with gas in the kitchen".
Whether this is connected with the fact that the lease was advertised for sale a few days before, so the owner is moving on, I will leave others to judge,
Shame - it could be such a good place.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We would like to praise the staff at the Blyth for the way they handled a 'bit of a crisis' at the hotel while we were staying there this week. Their water pump broke down and all guests in the fully booked hotel were transferred quickly and efficiently to accommodation of equal or superior standard at other hotels in Southwold. The new pump was couriered and up and running the next morning.
As always the staff were friendly but professional and our stay at the Blyth was exceptionally enjoyable.

We'll be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.6 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
403 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
762 reviews
9.7 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
499 reviews
8.2 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyth Hotel

Address: Station Road, Southwold IP18 6AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: $97 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blyth Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple, yet stylish. The Blyth offers comfortable, well decorated bedrooms, all en-suite with a popular bar and AA Rosette awarded restaurant. A perfect, family friendly base for your stay in the beautiful town of Southwold. Contemporary seaside hospitality at its best - personal service from a friendly and experienced team of staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blyth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyth Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing