We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blyth Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Randolph Hotel(Southwold)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown(Southwold)
$166
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Southwold)
$223
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Head Hotel(Beccles)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveler rating
275
323
143
47
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
275
323
143
47
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthwold suiteno liftevening mealone night staycooked breakfasttown centrenew ownersfull englishlovely hotelenjoyable stayfew minutes walktop floorlarge roomthe staff were friendly and helpfulwithin easy walking distanceshower roomeggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
557 - 562 of 818 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I visited the Blyth on valentines night with a few friends to have the four course meal they were offering and was not disappointed, upon arrival we were shown to our table and brought some pink fizz and canapés which were unique and delicious, we then ordered our starters and mains, everything on the menu sounded lovely but I went for the chicken and rabbit roulade to start and the pork belly for main, both were perfectly cooked and full of flavour, not only this but the presentation of both courses shows the chef takes time and care in each plate, for dessert I had the dark chocolate marquis which was a brilliant way to round of the meal, I left the blyth full and completely satisfied. Would recommend to anyone looking to have a delicious meal !!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KingGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We found the Blyth Hotel whilst searching online for an affordable hotel for our February half term break. The hotel is conveniently situated a few minutes from the town centre on the way in to Blythe from the main A12 road.There was good parking outside and although the Edwardian building looks ordinary from the outside, when you enter any reservations are quickly dispelled. THe rooms are tastfully decorated and the atmosphere friendly and comfortable. It feels like you join a local community for a while with delightful and helpful staff always around. The bar has a good selection of the local Adnams beer and we found several wines we enjoyed. Make a point of eating in rather than out as the chef cooks a variety of excellent meals in the evening. We had cooked breakfast in the morning but here was also porridge and choice of cereals for those not so hungry.The rooms are comfortable with all the facilities one could wish for. I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights in Southwold town which was a good winter break in a dog friendly hotel.
Breakfast was enough to set you up for the day and there was a reasonable fish and chips lunch deal. Dinner was in the restaurant area and looked and tasted very good. Rooms were old fashioned but modernised with ample shower and ensuite facilities. Prices seemed to vary but off peak deals were advertised and we took advantage of a groupon voucher.Good value for money at the moment but expect prices will rise in the spring in this popular costal resort.The beach is sandy and the pier and promenade are bracing and enjoyable

Room Tip: There is only one twin room, two larger suites and the others are doubles .Had number 5 which was an adequate double but not king size as expected but was quiet around the sideof the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Southwold is a favourite and frequent destination for us, so we were happy to be enticed back to the Blyth by a particularly good offer recently; two nights bed, breakfast and three course dinner included for a very modest sum. This Edwardian hotel is located a short but scenic stroll away from the town centre.

Our room, at the rear of the hotel, was tastefully furnished, comfortable and quiet, and as a previous reviewer has mentioned, the radiator was fully controllable which was just as well as the weather changed dramatically during our stay. The bedroom and bathroom were both very clean.

The dinner menu offered several dishes with local provenance; I chose fish on both occasions and it was cooked extremely well and with a lightness of touch in its presentation. Breakfast choices were abundant, again with local produce including very good kippers, smoked haddock and ham which finds it's way into delicious Eggs Benedict.

All the staff were friendly and helpful, and check-in and check out were painless and carried out with good humour by the owners. A most enjoyable trip - we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cardvarnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to Blyth Hotel and it was as brilliant as always.

The Hotel is clean and bright and beautifully decorated. It is a very dignified and graceful building inside, with high ceilings, an "old" feel in keeping with it's history, and all very calm and tranquil. The owners are closely involved in the running, and they and the staff give excellent, friendly service, with very good attention to the little details, without being over bearing or faddy, or stuffy.

One thing we like about this hotel is that you have control over the radiators in the room - so you are not condemned to roast all night - we often find hotels to be way too hot to sleep, but this is not the case here.

The food in the restaurant was freshly prepared, and beautifully presented. We had one evening meal in the hotel and another in town, just because we like to get out and explore. When we ate dinner at the hotel, I had a particularly lovely starter comprising red pepper stuffed with Couscous, and grilled halloumi - delicious.... for my main I opted for the duck, and my husband went for the pork belly. Both with seasonal vegetables. Couldn't fault any of it, and the puddings were also superb, tasty but not heavy at all.

The breakfast menu is also fantastic - the only stress is knowing what to choose. It included The Traditional works, also kippers, smoked haddock etc, also Eggs Benedict, Eggs Florentine - but I couldn't resist the Stack of Breakfast Pancakes with bacon and maple syrup drizzled over. So good, I had it again the second day. Hubby went for the Traditional both days. This is on top of the array of juices, meats, cheeses, cereals etc.

Location wise, OK, the hotel is not on the sea front so you can't see or hear the sea. But that really is being picky. It is a lovely 5 minute walk through town up to the seafront. Also, if you cross the road opposite the hotel, you are straight onto a footpath that takes you all the way to the Harbour, and on to Walberswick. We took this route to the harbour both days, and came back along the denes to the seafront and pier. I think you can also walk directly from the pier to the back of the hotel to make it a circular walk, although we haven't done it - next year! I am almost reluctant to say how good this hotel is because I don't want to find that we can't get in next year, but we really do want to say thank you for a wonderful short break. Sally and Richard, from Norwich.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews