We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed ”

Buckenham Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Dissapointed ”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We popped into buckenham coffee house for a cuppa and a snack and found v good service but found a fairly poor product. The coffee, for a coffee house was v mediocre and the peppermint tea had v little flavour.

Helpful?
Thank bryan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona C, Public Relations Manager at Buckenham Coffee House, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello Bryan M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Buckenham Coffee House. We are sorry that you felt disappointed with your visit.

As Southwold's first original Coffee House we pride ourselves on the range of coffees which we offer and to hear that you felt your coffee was mediocre is disappointing. Can I ask which blend of coffee you sampled and whether you spoke to the staff of your dissatisfaction with your drinks whilst you were with us? Had you done so we may have been able to have provided a different blend for you to try and a different tea.

I do hope this hasn't put you off a return visit as we would love to see you back in Southwold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Not a great experience. Coffee rather thin and tasteless. The carrot cake was average. Neither item justified the price charged in excess of London prices! However to be fair we found everything in this place over priced ! Go to Costas further up the same road, much better value. We left Southwald with the view that the place is money grasping !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Poor Experience”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I can't believe how disappointed I was with this experience. The bread was stale and it took ages for my baguette to be delivered. I was also very disappointed to overhear the staff discussing their mark up on cakes. Comments "like we can charge a bit more they will pay anything" did not leave me feeling valued. The anti Costa Coffee sign was also disappointing and spoke volumes about the priorities of the business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_CIP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We've been here a few times and find it very good for a tea/coffee and cake later in the afternoon. It looks to be an old cellar with wooden beams and exposed bricks with a lot of character. There is a wide selection of teas and coffees and various cakes, scones and teacakes - there are full meals too but we've only had a snack. What we've had has been nice. Service has been quick and staff and very friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barco22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Really good cup of Joe”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We always come here for a coffee when visiting Southwold, and are never disappointed. The cinnamon cappuccino I had was excellent, and my wife enjoyed her coffee too. We had a toasted tea cake as well, which was scrumptious. The two ladies who run this place are very pleasant, and the place is scrupulously clean. A good coffee experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckenham Coffee House also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Buckenham Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing