We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, fantastic food and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pit Stop Cafe

The Pit Stop Cafe
Ranked #32 of 47 Restaurants in Southwold
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fantastic food and wonderful hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is the most unique, beautiful and tranquil place. On my most recent visit, the children went off exploring, then played tennis while we read the papers under an impossibly blue sky, surrounded by the sound of skylarks and the coconut scent of the gorse flowers. The food was delicious, fresh and well cooked using good quality locally sourced produce. We had cooked breakfasts. The homemade courgette bread was fantastic. It's a wonderful place to stop, and shelter mid way across Southwold Common on your way to the harbour, or to Walberswick. The children are kept busy with lots of outdoor and indoor games, puzzles, toys and books, and there are papers for the adults. The cafe is in a old sports pavilion, which has been beautifully preserved and carefully looked after by Anne. It's as if the clock has stopped sometime during the 1950's, but with better food. Anne looks after this place so beautifully, she deserves a medal for her services to children and stressed out parents. It is really special place with proper home cooked food, and wonderful service. I hope it never changes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy20114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good fried breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

looking out over the golf course and tennis courts eating a full English breakfast is great.
Lots to do for the kids and good value for money

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, frosty customer service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 10am on 29th July 2013. Deserted but on closer inspection 1 member of staff was opening up. Shortly after second member arrived. Place was clean and presentable. We ordered 3 breakfasts with tea/coffee. These came in a timely manner and were very good, particularly the sausages.
My only gripe is that the staff were obviously having an off day as one member of staff moaned about the other as to where they had been. And when my daughter wanted a straw we were told "We don't have any" You could cut the air with a knife. And the moaning about the cheese not being on the shopping list. We had to ask ourselves how our breakfast was as no one seemed to care!
Apart from this it seems to be a popular place, but a one off for me just for the customer service, or rather lack of!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjbtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cool, shady, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Visited the Pit Stop Café today - a nice welcome and plenty of shade in the veranda and marquee, excellent sandwich, nice breeze, good place to get out of the sun and away from the beach, plenty of tea!.
A whole room full of games, toys, books for children and plenty of space for activities.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We visited the Pit Stop in Southwold regularly whilst on holiday. The breakfast was very reasonably priced for Southwold. Delicious scrambled eggs, baked beans, mushrooms and granary toast, rounded off with a lovely cup of tea. There is a good variety of cakes, sandwiches and other foods. The Pit Stop is a hidden gem in Southwold. Dogs are most welcome in the covered enclosure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pit Stop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Pit Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing