We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High quality, incredibly tasty, freshly baked food”
Review of Two Magpies Bakery

Two Magpies Bakery
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“High quality, incredibly tasty, freshly baked food”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fantastic Portuguese custard tarts and fruit tarts, superb sandwiches (roast beef and horseradish in new potato focaccia) and amazing sausage rolls. Great atmosphere and wonderful staff, only complaint ... it was always busy, even in off-peak November. Finding the Two Magpies Bakery was one of the highlights of our trip to Southwold.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank c_comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    113
    35
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Again, again”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I can't praise this place highly enough. The pride and pleasure the whole staff take in their excellent bakery products and the wonderful coffee is an utter joy. Really worth every penny. I'm so sorry for the reviewer below who felt rushed but it is a busy bakery rather than a coffee shop. Highly amused that we were not the only ones who queued up at 8.am for coffee and mocha and took them down to the benches on the top prom. Oh in another life I would apply for those vacancies like a shot. Same time next year.... if not before....

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited 5 times in 4 days! Great coffee and amazing cakes. Called in on our way home to collect more cakes and bread.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jld005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little dunmow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor dismissive service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

First time visiting Southwold and popped in here when we arrived for coffee etc. Service was rushed and rude from the start. No please or thank you. Counter and seating area is far too cramped. Coffee cups too small. I was provided with tea without a cup. I had to queue again and was ignored for several minutes to ask for a cup. I heard another customer complaining about her latte, a female staff member rudely said "we'll didn't you explain you only wanted one shot! I'll have to make it again" This rude comment was accompanied by rolling eyes and a sigh! Appalling. Really nothing special and certainly wouldn't go again. Far better elsewhere in Southwold.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection, excellent quality”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great range of first rate treats, we tried the huge meringues which were fantastic, the light but tasty gingerbread man, and my favourite, a bloody huge slab of salted caramel chocolate cake. This was immense, loved every bit of it! Friendly staff too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paddy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Magpies Bakery also viewed

 
 

Been to Two Magpies Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing