We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tea room”
Review of Adnams Cafe

Adnams Cafe
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet
Description: The Adnams Café offers a stunning location to take a break from the hustle and bustle of Southwold. Enjoy freshly baked breads and cakes, fresh salads and soups and hot meals all served to your table by our friendly staff. Take the opportunity to relax on seating areas created using the old copper stills from the brewery or outside in our picturesque courtyard. And if you needed more incentive to visit then there's free Wifi too!
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What better way to recover after the brewery tour and beer/wine/gin sampling, than to enjoy a great cuppa and delicious cake in this lovely tea room!

Thank shani33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at Adnams Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and it's great to hear that your tour was made complete by a visit to our café. We hope to see you again next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 402 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

Always busy in shop and cafe and staff seem to enjoy what they are doing. Kitchen products offer a huge range but they seem pricey; aimed at Londoners down for the summer? Good food in the cafe.

Thank geowk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at Adnams Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. We offer a range of stylish and designer kitchenware in-store which we do price at a competitive rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

5 of us for breakfast for £42. Good selection of foods and drinks, staff are very very good here, attentive and professional. Short waiting time, well presented and of course the usual tastings to keep you topped up. Jeremy in particular handled a dog attack with another family in the yard fantastically. He gave the kids free ice cream and told them a story about his dog. Will always visit here everytime!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cjbtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your breakfasts and found it good value for money. We're sorry to hear that there was an incident with your children in our courtyard but glad to hear that Assistant Manager Jeremy was on hand to help. We hope we shall see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If it isn't broke, don't fix it could well be applied to this cafe. What started off well with an imaginative hot dish or two every day, baked potatoes and salads, nice breakfasts, coffee, cakes and scones has gone through various tweaks and meddlings which have spoiled what was good. It is a nice environment with outdoor seating - but the food is on open display - and flies walk over it. This is not good. The only plates provided for the serve yourself salad and main course are side plates - we saw one poor woman struggling with her quiche and salad because the plate was far too small - and it looks mean to do this. Cakes looked dried up and very solid - Paul Hollywood and Mary Berry would not approve. There are some wrapped sandwiches which looked nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bathgirl52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent shop were you can sample the lovely adnams beers spirits and wines. Then a small array of foods in the back and you can sit in the original beer vats great place

Thank BenW412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Public Relations Manager at Adnams Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and we're delighted that you had a great experience in our Café and store. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adnams Cafe also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Adnams Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing