We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Burchley House

Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Tucked away at the top of the high street located on North Green
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Southwold, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michael12...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fantastic house, great location for shops and leisurely walks in the Southwold area. The welcome pack was very much appreciated after our long journey . All the rooms were large enough to accommodate our party and there was ample parking space for the cars. Plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge for a large group. The quality of Burchley House made a major contribution to our enjoyment of our stay in Southwold. Richard, the owner, lives in the area and responded in a helpful and friendly way to any queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall quality and enjoyment of staying in Burchley House
Liked least: The property was situated a little back from the main road and we all found it difficult to locate initially. A detailed map of the immediate area with the house marked would have been a great help
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John2144
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“annual walking group break”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We are 4 couples who take turns to find a base for a few days walking.This has to be the best..absolutely perfect.Each room with its own en suite lots and lots of space to sit and eat or sit and relax.very modern,very clean and it had everything we wanted..We would certainly recommend it time and time again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a very special birthday weekend for my husband, with our children and grandchildren, It was wonderful to be in such a large house, particularly enjoyed the on-suite bathrooms. The kitchen had everything we needed and a lovely large table. Decor very modern and seaside'ish. The children and grandchildren loved it. We would certainly book it again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gina S
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family stay in May”
Reviewed May 10, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a wonderful stay and we're delighted to find extra's like milk, wine, cake and flowers. House is amazing and has everything you need. Pity about the weather but we still enjoyed Southwold and Burchley House. There were six of us and our two little grandchildren, so the space was a real benefit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammamacc
Macclesfield
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely smashing, no complaints, well equipped, cosy large house .”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A range of ages stayed, all female, loads of hot water ...on tap in the kitchen , comfy beds space for everyone and so well equipped

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Baths ,showers , beds, space, parking, wifi
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveyB195...
2 reviews
“Great house in a great location.”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Family and friends surprised my wife by getting together for her 70th birthday, we had already stayed here in December for her brothers 80th. Once again we were not disappointed. Everything you need is in the house and Southwold town centre is only minutes away. Everything from the pier to the beach and Adnams brewery is within walking distance.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACQUELIN...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked Burchley House for a special family birthday celebration. It completely lived up to all the photos. My family were travelling from all over the place and as soon as they arrived at the house it just felt like home and they all immediately relaxed! You really couldn't wish for a more comfortable, more luxurious and more convenient place to stay in Southwold. I think the fact that all of the bedrooms have their own bathrooms and are all so beautifully decorated really adds to the whole wonderful experience of staying there. We were all very sad to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing