We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wet &windy stay in southwold”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Suffolk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wet &windy stay in southwold”
Reviewed July 1, 2007

After reading the somewhat negative reviews on this site last year we were hesitant about staying at The Swan. We do not live too far away but needed to stay at a beach location that could accomodate a dog.(Unfortunately as it turned out the poor old chap was unable to come with us). We have also had experience of the catering at The Swan over the past seven or eight years and felt it was nothing special with overpriced confusing menus.So we arrived for that dreadful rainy weekend at the end of June just booking dinner for the first night.So dinner time came and we were amazed at at the changes; gone are the multi menus and in come the simple well thought out menus using largely local food where possible, and wow what a delicious meal. We quickly changed our booking from B&B to the DBB package which is excellent value for such quality fare, and the dinners on Sunday & midweek were just as good as the full priced Saturday menu. My husband & I are 'foodies' and try different places all over the country; we rate this as number 2 amongst all the places we have eaten, including London,for dinner this year. I would like to see the bathrooms in the garden rooms given a makeover as they are looking rather tired and the bar lacks atmosphere. I am glad to say there didn't seem to be any problems with hot water during our stay which has been a moan with previous correspondents. The staff are truly excellent from the housekeepers to the management I don't think the residents of Buck Palace could be better cared for.

  • Liked — Great food and wine
  • Disliked — tired bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank choosyfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    193
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
85
383
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

I was sorry to read the review by JANE000 about her awful experience at The Swan and feel I must try and reassure others who may be thinking of hosting their wedding at The Swan Hotel, that not everyone's experience is the same.

We held our wedding at The Swan in May 2006. Alot of the planning was done by email and we were allocated a specific person to deal with. However I would say that this means of communication was insufficient and it wasn't until we actually arrived the Thursday before our wedding that we were confident that all our requests were confirmed!

I would like to mention in particular Jude the manager at the time of our wedding who was SUPERB. He completely set our minds at ease and made the whole thing look easy! All the staff at The Swan were wonderful. They really got into the spirit of the event and couldn't have been more obliging and helpful.

The Swan Hotel is a perfect setting for a wedding by the seaside. The wonderufl big rooms and sloping floors add character and style to the wedding and its a memorable stay for all your guests. As bride and groom we stayed in the fabulous Admiral suite which offers the perfect 'amazing bathroom' and the bed is HUGE! Its the perfect room to retreat to after the excitement of the day.

The restaurant staff were efficient and helpful and in planning our menu for the day the chef was outstanding. All food is locally sourced and as a significant number of guests (including me!) were veggie he offered great alternatives to meat dishes.

We feel that The Swan Hotel rightly deserves its reputation and have thoroughly enjoyed our stays there. Our wedding would not have been nearly as wonderful without the attention to detail and overall friendliness the staff here offered us. I would WHOLE HEARTEDLY recommend this as a wedding venue. It was truly the best it could have been!

A couple of tips if you are planning a wedding at The Swan:
1. Book garden rooms for your guests - this keeps everyone together and allows the party spirit to go on without interrupting other guests!
2. Book a meal for everyone at the fish and chip shop on the Pier - our guests loved this. It gave everyone the chance to meet the people they didn't already know before hand and assured a good meal before the big day. Note - the owner is a grumpy man, but ignore him and you'll have a great time.
3. Use Emmeline Florist - along the high street. Really exceptional service and great value. A pleasure to deal with!

  • Liked — The luxury fixtures and fittings - and the sense of period history!
  • Disliked — The garden room bathrooms could do with facelifts.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

We recently had a very enjoyable mid-week break at the Swan Hotel. We stopped in one of the garden rooms as we had our dog with us. These rooms are ideal for anyone wanting to take their dog away with them as they are spacious, well equipped, and lead straight out into the garden.

We enjoyed lovely food at the hotel (we had dinner included), the breakfasts were particually nice. We found the staff to be very friendly.

Southwold and the surrounding area are delightful. It is like stepping back in time. There are some nice walks close by (for anyone with a dog, note that the beaches are closed to dogs May - September). We shall certainly be returning in the near future, and shall stop at the Swan again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Slow check in, had to wait until 2.30pm for the room even though we could see it was ready
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2007

Stayed in a superior room that overlooked the market place. The room and bathroom were excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. What more can I say - my husband and I could not fault The Swan and will definitely be returning.

  • Liked — The size and cleanliness of the room.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BARELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

We stay at the Swan fairly regularly, having decided to have our wedding reception there in June 2005 (we got married on the end of the Pier) . Nothing has ever been too much trouble for the staff, and we have always been made to feel special when we go there now (as "returning guests"). Our wedding reception was fabulous, and the menu had been specially created for us by the chef (Robert) along with Lynn (the wedding planner).

The food is always great, whether it is for breakfast or dinner- and yes, it may be a little above average in terms of cost, but its always good quality. The wine selection is also good and reasonably priced.

We love the fact that our dog is welcome too (but not in public areas). We accept that the garden rooms are not necessarily as smart as those in the main building, given that dogs are allowed in them.

The rooms are comfortable, and we have always had robes in our wardrobe..some of the bathrooms in the garden wing might need updating, but I don't spend that long in there, so not too fussed about that!- they are always clean..

We also love the food at the Crown, but tend not to stay there as they don't take dogs.

Anyway- we would always rate the Swan as treat, and would happily return there at the drop of a hat!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharpie180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2006

Nothing changes then - we used to stay there in the 80s before the great facelift - and lack of hot water was a regular event. It was endearingly eccentric though so no one minded ! We live in Southwold now so we don't stay in the hotel - and prospective visitors should note that the time warp is no more - Southwold has become London on Sea. Despite all the town and the Swan are both still lovely.

Stayed October 2002
Helpful?
1 Thank bathgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

The Swan is one of those hotels stuck in a time warp. The room was wonderful with dual aspect and looking over the square.

We were not used to being awoken with a cup of tea but hey this is Suffolk and tea makings in the room is one of those modern touches that has not quite arrived here yet!

The dinner was fantastic and breakfast really good. The staff were very polite and helpful, the manager is a gem working hard to bring the place a little more up to date without losing the charm, well done Jade.

  • Liked — Great room
  • Disliked — No tea making in the room
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roots-and-wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
963 reviews
12.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,398 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is currently preening its feathers and we look forward to its reopening in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing