We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Break”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Break”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently booked a weekend break at the Swan in Southwold and were not disapointed. We stayed in one of the garden rooms at the back of the hotel which offered private quite stay with lovely views.

Did not have a mini bar fridge so could not keep our drinks cold but that was the only fault with the room. It was funished to a high level and the bed very comfortable. Service on arrival good however they could not offer us a carparking space so had to park in the high street and walk back with our cases however they sorted that out the next day for us.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the garden rooms and also request a carparking space for arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review
I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Swan and I hope to welcome you back again soon
Kind regards
Martin Edwards, Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    193
    111
    36
    16
See reviews for
85
383
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I booked the hotel for a special occasion and was happy to pay what I consider to be a lot of money. I assumed we would be staying in a room in the historic and beautiful hotel, we were in a shalet style room on the other side of the car park. We were dissapointed. The room was nicely decorated and clean but not worth £150 a night. The paint on the outside of the building was flaking off and the shower a bit dated but it was ok. We decided to eat in the hotel, my advice is don't bother. It was very overpriced with stained seating, we left there still hungry and had to buy some food from tesco. The portions were tiny. The staff however were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guppyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I’m pleased the staff were helpful and met your expectations but it’s a shame the room & dinner did not.
We are hoping to refurbish our bedrooms next year and have already done work to the public areas in the main house.
A tip for the future – call us directly to ensure you receive your room of choice and the best deals.
I hope to see you again the future
Kind regards
Martin Edwards, Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night last month, Room 18 was very nice with a distant view of the sea. The food in the restaurant was memorable and breakfast very good. The staff were very helpful on arrival and even changed our room for us as we wanted a twin but were given a double. The building is very old but has a quaint charm about it. Would defiantly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank contentedme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I’m glad you enjoyed your visit and remember it fondly.
We pride ourselves on our staff and pleased the minor problem was promptly resolved
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind regards
Martin Edwards, Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, GB
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I'm sure ours wasn't a typical visit, but a bit more staff training would have smoothed away the hiccups. We arrived early to leave our car while going for lunch and the friendly man on reception told us he would see if we could get into the room at 2pm, if not it would be 2.30pm. We returned at 2pm and without checking a young receptionist told us the room wasn’t ready. When I explained about the note that had been given to housekeeping, a more helpful colleague checked and confirmed that as the previous guests in room 20 were late checking out, it wouldn’t be ready until 2.30pm. At 2.20pm we were assured it would be ready in 10 minutes, and we were told this again at 2.30pm. At just before 2.40pm a very apologetic lady gave us the keys and we took the lift upstairs to find 2 cleaning staff gossiping in the doorway while one was still hoovering the room. “Its not ready, you’ll have to come back in 10 minutes” we were told abruptly. We stomped downstairs (I was feeling unwell by this point and getting grumpy!) to be told “why don’t you buy a drink in the bar” which I didn’t find helpful, and consequently ignored.

We eventually got into room 20 – a lovely big room with 2 large windows overlooking the square. Huge, soft, yet supportive bed was just what I needed. As we’d interrupted the cleaning I had to wipe the coffee stains off the wall and call for towels, but they were quickly brought with apologies. The bathroom is tired and in need of a good clean in the corners and under the sink, all those places that you can only see when you are lying in the bath (which was a generous size and comfortable).

We had drinks in the bar in the evening and as they were very busy my husband had a very short wait for his latte – but the lovely lady serving him gave us a couple of gorgeous macaroons to say sorry for the delay.

Breakfast was interesting! It was busy but running smoothly at the start, with our order taken efficiently. Gradually we noticed less and less people were getting their cooked breakfasts, ours arrived but our requested ‘well done’ poached eggs were raw and inedible. The poor waiting staff were flying around and one was telling the guests “Sorry, chef is unwell” … “Sorry, chef collapsed from heat exhaustion”… “the manager’s helping out but he’s no chef and doesn’t know what he’s doing” (which explained the eggs). We had plenty to eat – on offer there was cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruits and pastries as well as the toast being brought around, but we did feel sorry for the waiters. If the room rate is right we will return, and probably at a different time of year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and I do have to agree this doesn’t seem like a typical visit.
I’m glad the bedroom was up to your standard and enjoyed the fabulous views those rooms do offer.
It is a shame the room took a little while longer than our usual 2.30pm check-in and Breakfast didn’t run smoothly for you on that particular morning, again this isn’t typical for us.
I certainly hope I can welcome you back in the future
Kind regards
Martin Edwards, Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Really lovely hotel, my husband and daughter, myself and our 2 chocolate Labradors stayed for 2 nights in the lighthouse rooms, they were a very good size and lovely and clean, very comfy beds and beautiful garden to sit in outside our window, very friendly place, staff were fantastic and had no problems with our 2 big dogs. Had breakfast in our room both mornings which was again brilliant! DVDs in reception for children to bring back to room to watch great idea! Our dogs loved it too was welcomed with doggy bowl, blanket and treats. Brilliant location near to everything we needed will defiantly stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janemboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I’m pleased you had a lovely time with us. The weather also helped.
Not only do we like to look after our 2 legged friends but our 4 legged friends too.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Martin Edwards, Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stay here every time we visit wonderful Southwold each year.
Always stay in the garden rooms after first having a pint of Adnams immediately on arrival (best beer in the world: do a tour).

The Swan is typically Suffolk. The staff are efficient and friendly and many have been working there for years which is nice.

The garden rooms are perfect for a stay but need some attention (particularly rotten window cills and stained carpeting). The garden and lawn was very dried out which indicates a lack of care. Our friend could'nt work the shower and the shower screen looked as if it were fitted in the 1970's.

The rooms are basic, sufficient but expensive and still has no wifi. The hotel benefits from a lack of competition in the area.
The car park is a trial: a friend has his car "pranged" (fortunately insurance details were left at reception: The Swan does seem to attract decent people).

The Swan has a lovely grand dining area.
I always have the full English breakfast and it is delicious. The rest of the breakfast is great but the muesli resembles powder more than proper flakes of cereal.
The arrangement for the help yourself cereals, yoghurts, croissants etc.. Is a little cramped and time consuming and could be arranged better.

It is a lovely idiosyncratic kind of place which has a Suffolk "feel good factor" but still does not have wifi to the garden rooms but there is nowhere else to go nor would we want to (probably): its like visiting your favourite Aunt (the beer helps of course).

Room Tip: Garden rooms offer more spaciousness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hohum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, it’s lovely to know you enjoy coming to Southwold and The Swan each year.
We are looking into refurbishing our rooms and have already done work throughout the Hotel, WI-FI in the Lighthouse Rooms is a must in our future plans.
I look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Kind regards
Martin Edwards, Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Swan, we stayed in a lighthouse room. Most of the rooms are set around a garden, some are around a shared patio area. You need to specify at the time of booking if you want one of the premium rooms to ensure you are put in the rooms around the garden with your own patio area and seating. White robes can also be requested if not part of your room. As other reviewers say the rooms are tired around the edges and need some touches of paint. But most importantly the rooms are clean, very comfortable, and tasteful. For the price you pay I would expect Adnams to keep on top of the decoration. I love the freedom of the lighthouse rooms - you feel you really have your own space. The staff are very efficient and very welcoming, queries are handled efficiently and effectively. The breakfast is lovely. We ate in the restaurant and were delighted with all aspects, food delicious, presentation lovely, service excellent. Adnams champagne hit the spot perfectly and this was out honeymoon.

Room Tip: Lighthouse - around the garden - own patio area if summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billeedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and please accept our congratulations on your wedding. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Martin Edwards
Swan Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#4 of 4 in Southwold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.2 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swan is currently preening its feathers and we look forward to its reopening in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing