We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Crown
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Room 8 was a pleasant room and the bed was super comfy. Food was very high quality as was the wine (good cocktails too). All in all a very good hotel and a pleasant stay. There were a few hiccups with communications and payment but all resolved easily in the end. Good staff. Will return!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HilsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Reviewer.
Thank you for sharing your comments, we are very happy you had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 408 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was an anniversary treat for us and was worth every penny. The room was well furnished with plenty of space. A Pure digital radio and a Samsung Smart TV (with iPlayer) were a welcome touch.
Bathroom was a room, not a cupboard and the water was hot and at a good pressure.
Bed was comfy and large. The room was superb.

The back bar is a lovely place for a predinner drink and the evening meal was exceptional.
Staff were friendly, polite and just attentive enough without being intrusive.

Southwold is a beautiful little town with just enough to do for a couple of lazy days without the kids.

Room Tip: The only thing I wish we could change is the rubbish collection on the High Street woke us earlier t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for sharing your comments.
I`m glad you've enjoyed your stay and found our newly refurbished rooms to your liking.
We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We used to have money, but now we're Nouveau Skint. Nonetheless, nothing perks us up more than a break at the Crown, so we look out for the special offers and boy, are they good value!!!

The "standard" rooms have been revamped and are just as luxurious as ever, but fresh, updated and perky. We had our favourite room at the front and if only other hotels' basic rooms were like this. The new beds are just as comfortable as ever - neither to soft or too hard, the little armchairs, the neat furniture, lighting really well thought-out. Facilities; tea-making in rooms has instant coffee but a nice selection of teas and some home-made shortbread, and if you don't like long-life milk the staff in the back bar will always fill a jug for you. Bathrooms at the Crown, even in the standard rooms, are bigger than most faily bathrooms and I particularly like having a bathroom with an outside window, not an extractor fan. Slept like a baby and wished I was staying for a week.

The Crown has changed the way it does breakfasts. The buffet has gone, and staff will bring to your table whatever you ask for. Pricing is done according to whether you just have tea and toast or cereal or porridge or whatever, whether you choose one of the stunning cooked options (I particulary like the smoked haddock, poached egg and hollandaise sauce), or whether you have porridge etc and THEN a kipper etc. This works really well, but the menu does need to show a price for the "light" option of just tea and ceral or whatever,'cos it looks on paper as if you pay the same for this as for the cooked option, and I was told this wasn't so.

I should have had the light option really, as we had stayed on the "wine, dine and stay for free" offer, and had really pigged out the night before. Most "special offers" that look too good to be true, ARE; not in the case of the Crown's Wine Dine and Stay for Free. Treat yourself to a really good dinner including wine (for what they offer the Crown's menu is very modestly priced, and the budget they set is £125 for 2, which allows you to indulge in their seductive array of wines by the glass) and your overnight stay is free. You just pay for your breakfast. What a treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer.
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.
We are delighted you`ve enjoyed your stay and we couldn`t be more happy to leave such a great impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love Southwold - not too commercialised and with a relaxed atmosphere. The hotel is well situated for walks along the coast to the pier. The accommodation was excellent - spacious, well appointed and with good facilities. We would recommend paying a little extra for the better rooms. The staff were excellent - attentive but not too intrusive. We have already booked again. It's a real treat to be able to get away to good old traditional comfort and friendly hospitality.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoMark79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are very happy The Crown has lived up to your expectations and we look forward to having you back.

Lukas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have been to Southwold many times and our favourite watering hole has always been the Crown with its laid back atmosphere, great food, and a good selection of wines by the glass (preferred to its staider sister The Swan), Now it's even better as all the rooms have recently been refurbished in soft muted tones in a style that I call John Lewis! Great beds and bathrooms and the latest technology with iphone/ipod docking stations, ipads to borrow and the latest Samsung smart television. Go for a back room which has lovely views over the roof tops - ours was 16 on the top floor and was spacious and comfortable. The only negative is the dank smelling corridors - a change of carpet would not go amiss here too. The Crown serves first rate breakfast (loved the kippers), and dinners too with a frequently changing menu that reflects seasonal choice. Check out Adnams website for special offers. We got a great two night deal that included dinner, bed and breakfast with one the dinner at the Swan and the other at the Crown with a brewery tour thrown in too!

Room Tip: At the back is quieter. We enjoyed our top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback.
It`s always great to welcome back our regular guests and we are very happy our recent refurbishment made your stay more memorable.
Undoubtedly we will see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

One night stay for with my wife. Beautiful room - vast space, very well equipped and very clean
Lovely dinner and excellent wines. Lovely traditional breakfast served by friendly helpful staff
Beer quality and range exceptional

Room Tip: Pick on at the back overlooking the brewery if you are staying over the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrebleOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, General Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review,. We are very happy you found both rooms and service to your liking.
Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Charming and quaint old Pub / Inn with stylish refurbished rooms but that's where it ends. Stayed in a superior suite, Room 4, which had been booked as a twin room but was made up as a double on arrival.
Although the staff are pleasant and polite, there seems to a bit of a take it or leave it attitude about the place, especially when it comes to booking in, the lack of assistance and direction to your rooms and reservations for evening meals on busy nights (Saturday).
The Green Room Restaurant echoes and is a noisy babble, the bar which doubles as a dining annexe is slightly quieter but both are furnished with bare scrubbed tables and uncomfortable seating, the bench seats can be more than a foot away from the table! Not a suitable ambience or very comfortable, when combined with slow service and tepid meals (half a small lobster that had barely touched the grill). The food presentation did not justify the exorbitant prices for what was largely prepepared food with very little fresh content.
If you want a quiet coffee or drink after the meal, there is no quiet or separate lounge, just a rather cramped back bar and you will compete for service with the restaurant. Service in the bar was slow most of the time; reception seemed to close after 4pm, the telephone was not answered and you were dependant on going to find bar or restaurant staff.
Neither the service or the quality of restaurant food that you would expect from an Hotel. However, an excellent pub breakfast was well served each morning.

Room Tip: Room 4 Suite a bit expensive at £210 per night - go bed and breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdnamsSouthwold, General Manager at The Crown, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you for your review.
While it is true, the Crown is classed as a hotel (as we have over 10 rooms), we walk the fine line between a pub and a restaurant, as we try to combine good food with a relaxed atmosphere.
We are happy you found the staff pleasant, we are truly sorry you didn't find the lobster appealing. I can assure you we use only the freshest ingredients and our food is not ‘’mostly prepared’’.
We apologise for the mistake regarding the bed set up, this was quickly remedied by our staff.
The Crown indeed does not have a lounge ( a fact we always share with our guests), however there is always an option of having a drink or coffee in our snug back bar.
As for the price of the room, room 4 in which you have stayed is our premier room, which offers 2 bedrooms with all the amenities you can expect for the price tag.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwold
0 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#4 of 4 in Southwold
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blyth Hotel
Blyth Hotel
#3 of 4 in Southwold
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,054 reviews
12.2 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
689 reviews
4 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown

Address: High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Price Range: $244 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing proudly on Southwold’s High Street, The Crown is at the heart of the town and just moments away from the beach. Something of a Suffolk food institution, The Crown has always offered outstanding quality food and wine in a wonderfully informal setting. The wine list boasts a tantalising range of wines by the glass, one doesn’t have to have a bottle. It also showcases a range of well kept and award-winning Adnams beers and spirits. Our 14 bedrooms are all stylish and full of character, offering a high standard of accommodation and a comfortable, memorable stay in Southwold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Southwold
Crown Southwold
Crown Hotel Southwold
The Crown Southwold, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing