We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we lived nearer”

The Boardwalk Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Boardwalk Restaurant is a family-friendly restaurant serving delicious food all day from 10.00am. Many of the ingredients are locally sourced. Open everyday of the year except Christmas Day, we serve morning coffee and cakes from 10.00am, lunches from 11.30am through to the early part of the afternoon, cream teas are a speciality in the afternoon. In the summer months we do high tea for children from 5.30pm and then suppers all evening. The hours are slightly shorter in the autumn and winter months, please check our website for daily opening hours. Sit inside or enjoy sitting on the boards outside enjoying some of the finest views of Southwold. Fully licensed, there is no nicer place to have a pint of Adnams or a glass of wine, listening to the sound of the waves beneath your feet! Please note: our food service hours are 11.30am - 4pm, and 5pm - 8.30pm. These times are weather permitting and therefore can change.
Hockley, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wish we lived nearer”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent food, lovely "seaside" fare. Located on the pier so superb views up and down the coast. Seating inside and out if it gets too blustery.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABreathOfFreshAir, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, glad you enjoyed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    160
    69
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

No trip to Southwold would be complete without a visit to the pier which is a world away from the tacky experience of most seaside towns. We were fortunate to make the decision to stop for lunch as the Boardwalk Restaurant. Even for a late lunch in early January the place was busy, not a young crowd I will admit but a few couples and several families along with the more mature diners.
This is not what you would expect from a pier eatery - many beers on tap, a good selection of wines & drinks and a very interesting menu. My wife had a very tasty smoked haddock chowder and I had slow roast belly of pork which is one of my favourite foods and this was one of the best I had ever had.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidFromMaldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABreathOfFreshAir, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review, the Boardwalk is great value for money and i am so pleased you enjoyed the whole experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food on the pier”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Boardwalk is located on Southwold pier and seems to be very popular. We arrived as a party of 7 at 1.30pm and had to wait for about 20 minutes to be seated, although this was explained in a courteous manner.

I had the moules frites which were very good. The service was prompt and friendly despite the place being pretty full. A positive experience and I would not hesitate to return there next time I'm in Southwold.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suedebicycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABreathOfFreshAir, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Brilliant to hear that you had such a good time and that we could accommodate your party with such ease. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Southwold food at southwold prices”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Service good friendly staff. But the food was very average and quite over priced we had steak and chips and the chips were chip shop chips minus the paper wrapping all for £16 then there were drinks and starters on top total bill £180 for 6 people

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABreathOfFreshAir, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We have been agonizing on how to respond to this review . . . Most of our reviewers comment on their good experience of value for money with regards the food . The Manger of the restaurant remembered your party and that you enjoyed your meal, he was surprised at your review. We don't feel a sirloin steak, etc is dear at £15.95 but we take every criticism very seriously so did a little research. Your bill came to £180.45 with a break down of £41.45 on drinks, £23.95 on 4 starters, £91.70 on 6 mains and £23.35 on 4 puddings. So with some of your party having 3 courses and the food bill totalling £23.16 per head, we don't think that's too bad. We are sorry that you were disappointed with the chips and have spoken to the chefs on that night to make them aware. All our chips are bought in ambient, we do not use frozen chips. We do hope you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Decent food - but the view's the thing”
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

There are few more pleasant places to eat in Southwold than the Boardwalk. A lively room full of families with views of the sea on both sides. It's easy to linger and just soak up the glories of the Suffolk coast from south to north. There's a reasonably-priced lunch of tasty light bites. The evening menu is more ambitious and generally well delivered. But what makes the Boardwalk special is location, location, location.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABreathOfFreshAir, Manager at The Boardwalk Restaurant, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for this review, we are glad you find us reasonably priced, value for money is one of our key objectives. And the location - well we would have to agree!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boardwalk Restaurant also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Boardwalk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing