We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice tea room”

Squiers of Southwold
Ranked #33 of 50 Restaurants in Southwold
Price range: $3 - $11
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 24, 2014

And they have a nice selection of tempting candy items for that sweet tooth. I am especially fond of the chocolates.

Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAZJ, Owner at Squiers of Southwold, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

Thank you for your custom .... Probably not the best place to come if you are watching the calories, however a square or two of a good, high cocoa percentage dark chocolate often hits the mark when a chocolate/sweetie craving strikes and won't sabotage healthy eating too much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Had tea and cake here. The cake was nice, very light but, unfortunately, the slice was much smaller than I would have expected for the price, coupled with a small teapot for two with no top up water that just managed to give us two small cups of tea.
The interior was full of knick-knacks, but could do with a refurbishment, and something to ease the rather musty smell.
£10 credit card minimum spend was an added drawback, especially as it wasn't advertised until you pay up.
Called here as Tilleys is no longer, but I shan't return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAZJ, Owner at Squiers of Southwold, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

I'm sorry that you considered our cake portion to be of a meagre size, all our cakes our homemade using 'real' ingredients-free range eggs, butter etc not packet sponge mix, so we feel that the size of portion fairly reflects the ingredient cost. Our tea pots are sized according to cups required so a pot for two would fill two cups!-we have found that a large percentage of hot water was wasted when supplied with tea pots when not quested so now willingly provide additional hot water if requested. There is a sign on the counter that clearly states a minimum £10 charge for credit cards-unfortunately as a small, independent business we are heavily charged for any bank services and have no choice but to ask this minimum charge so as not to be out of pocket! Lastly the musty smell?-not something we or our staff could find-it is a building of approx 350 years old, with fresh coffee, cakes and meals being prepared daily and as the weather has been so superb the front and back doors open to provide a gentle breeze. We are sorry that you felt our establishment did not meet your expectations but feel we have fairly and accurately responded to your criticisms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The worst "meal" we've been confronted with for a long time. Everything except the fried egg appeared to have been microwaved to the point of no return - veg indigestible, pastry indestructible. Coffee reminiscent of a 1970's office brew where a Pyrex jug was left on a hotplate all day to gradually evaporate. For a tea room even the tea was dull and tasteless. Truly awful

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We went to thie tea room for lunch (6 people). It was atrocious. The food was mostly frozen and microwaved. The chicken pie was not even well cooked from frozen. The vegetables were so overcooked they could be inhaled through the teeth. The coffee had clearly been hanging around in the pot for at least a day. The chips and fishfingers were solid, and the pastry on the pasty was over-microwaved so it had gone solid. The soup, although homemade, was not fresh and left a sour taste in the mouth for the rest of the day. The service was average. The total cost of this terrible meal was ridiculous when considering you can buy such amazing food in Southwold.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAZJ, Owner at Squiers of Southwold, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

I am sorry you felt your experience at Squiers was unacceptable. I was working the day you and your party came in. As per Trip Advisor recommendations I do not wish to comment further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

"Squiers of Southwold" cannot be described in terms excluding superlatives.

My wife and I, and youngest son, looked for local food and came across this place. We are from Bedfordshire in the Home Counties and therefore used to some fine dining, of course. Our taste may be eclectic but what suits the English is English food and we are most healthy when dining on it.

Helpfully shown to a table by a very welcoming young lady, we were pleased to see a menu including English food - you know, potatoes, root veg, brassicas etc. and beef and lamb, and so forth, with a liberal grinding of black pepper (no salt necessary.)

We ordered the cottage pie and a steak and kidney pie. If there was an ideal cottage pie, this was it. See the picture of the plated pie. Just count the different veg, taste the gravy, taste the lamb and you would wish to feast at Squiers every day for the rest of your natural.

With no noticeable fattiness about it, this dish was mouth-watering to the last and to the last forkful we did go. It would have been intolerable to have left anything on the plate. (My son, though, has a stomach the size of a small haggis and often leaves potato or pastry etc. in favour of making room for the meat and other veg. - good chap - brought up well, although I say so myself, who shouldn't?)

The staff was excellent, justly proud of their service and food prep.

Highly recommended for those which chaw high and you'll surely return home with strict instructions to your cook to mend your diet and return to sensible, English food, between dinners for invited guests.

Everything tasted as you should imagine them to taste if cooked properly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAZJ, Owner at Squiers of Southwold, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review, such lovely praise indeed!
We don't claim to get it right all of the time but certainly try our hardest to provide reasonably priced, wholesome, local produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squiers of Southwold also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Squiers of Southwold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing