We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visited on recommendation...”
Review of Coasters

Coasters
Ranked #5 of 48 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $42
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Visited on recommendation...”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited Coasters on recommendation - and it was really good. A freezing cold Monday with the wind howling and snow being blown horizontally, but all that paled into insignificance once we started to thaw out and enjoy the good food and wine. The service was well paced and unobtrusive. A great way to spend a birthday!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingofTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete_Woodward, Owner at Coasters, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and for braving the Southwold elements to come and see us :) Looking forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
Pete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    171
    43
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“High Culinary Standards”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My Wife and I visited this restaurant whilst we stayed for a short break near Southwold. We visited as we were passing but also after seeing favourable reviews on Tripadvisor.

We went for dinner on a Monday evening and we were the only customers in the building.

I have to say that the standards of the food were high and we were both very impressed. We had a main and a dessert each. My Sea Bass was cooked to perfection. However my wife ordered a twist on traditional sausage and mash. She had Wild Boar Sausages with a black pudding mash. My only disappointment after tasting this was that I did not order this myself as it was exceptional.

My dessert was stunning, I forget the name of it but it was a kind of frozen peanut butter dish with a flapjack.

The service was spot on (friendly but not over fussy) and we were both very impressed. If we were ever in Southwold again we would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank droperidol30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, fantastic service.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We chose Coasters after reading the reviews on this site. If you are visiting Southwold you must pop into this restaurant. The food was superb, the wine list varied and with a good range of prices, the service was attentive and friendly. Excellent all round.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattK2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
“Saturday Dinner”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend in Southwold and this was our second visit to Coasters and once again fantastic, great meal, great staff and great atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another Excellent Meal”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We returned to Southwold this weekend and of course had to book dinner at Coasters after having visited them last year.
We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the cosy friendly atmosphere was just as we had remembered from last time. We will definitely come back again when we are next in Southwold. Coaters is a realy find.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coasters also viewed

 
 

Been to Coasters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing