We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Quality Meal”
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Ranked #3 of 55 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten lunch several times here and each time it was excellent. This time we had dinner and we were not disappointed. The starter and main dish (fish) were excellent as was the service. A very enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

So glad you had a lovely dinner with us, thank you for your support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovley evening at this restaurant, the food, wine, ambiance and the staff made it a visit we will remember.
Thank you for a great evening.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank michmashpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, it is always nice to see the hard working staff get a mention

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely 2 night stay.
Our room was very small but clean and well appointed.
All staff from check in, through breakfast and fabulous evening meal were friendly and helpful.
When you book your room be sure to reserve a place in the restaurant, it is superb.
Everything about the weekend was fantastic I highly recommend a stay at the Surherland.

Date of visit: September 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank georgecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your recommendation, we hope to see you here again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten here before , years ago , we think under previous management , and we're very disappointed with not only the quality of the ingredients , but also the standard of cooking. We had scallops which were overcooked, mussels which were chewy , overcooked fish and dry tough lamb. Overall it was awful . Wouldn't eat there again. The next day we ate at the Swan and received an excellent meal for the same price

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Why you felt the need to post two reviews is beyond me, one on our hotel and again on our restaurant site saying the same thing, but as you decided to do so , i will respond the same as i have to your previous review.

"so let’s put this into perspective, when a guest has a three course meal with us and complains about every single course and then again about breakfast we know that this type of guest is most likely to post something like this. So whilst we do not necessarily agree with your comments, your review is a matter of your opinion and you are entitled to it,"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sutherland House has super service and great food; it is a really relaxed, yet special dining experience and I can't recommend it enough. It is the only restaurant in town I would consider for a guaranteed first class evening.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank LBK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Sutherland House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing