We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great sunday lunch at Sutherland House”
Review of Sutherland House

Sutherland House
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Sutherland House is not just Southwolds only seafood restaurant, it is also a neighbourhood restaurant which serves local food for local people.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We had a great sunday lunch at Sutherland House”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Lunch at Sutherland House is fabulous, has a relaxed atmosphere and we were served delicious roast pork with excellent crackling. We can highly recommend this restaurant.and will eat here again. Booking is advised.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    186
    58
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Holding it's own in an Adnams dominated town”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Excellent food and wine - I couldn't have been more impressed. The restaurant is quaint and has a lovely homely atmosphere. The staff were friendly and chatty. A most enjoyable experience

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louisebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in southwold on a wet & windy weekend in march! Our meal at Sutherland House was excellent. The staff were friendly and had great product knowledge. It was lovely to eat locally sourced food. Would definitely make a return visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cisp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great impromptu treat”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Last evening my wife and I stayed in Southwold after attending a funeral nearby. Being Friday and not having booked anywhere to eat we walked along the High Street seeing some places full and others not well frequented. With more hope than expectation we went into Sutherland House having been attracted by the menu. "Full house" was the message, immediately qualified by, "We could fit you in at 8". We took the offer and went for a walk returning to a friendly reception and straight to a lovely table for 2. The food was as good as we had hoped from the look of the restaurant and the menu, nicely presented without being pretentious. We both had superb fish dishes and, unusually for me, deserts that were stunning. We only wanted a glass of wine and the selection of house white was very palatable. The service was attentive and prompt without being rushed. The bill was very reasonable for excellent food, well served by pleasant staff in delightful surroundings. It's along way from home but I would like to go back and stay!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our evening meal was excellent , especially the fish.
Staff were nice and the blazing fire and buzzing room made it worth the £99 + tip for two.
The bedrooms looked good so maybe next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sutherland House also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to Sutherland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing