We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay and rest up .... and cycle friendly”
Review of Albion House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albion House
Ranked #4 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
London
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay and rest up .... and cycle friendly”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just the one night for bed and breakfast in the Attic room at the top of Albion House. We could easily have stayed for more but our cycle trip did not let us. A real shame as our hosts, accomodation and location were perfect. Having said that the Attic room is in the converted attic of the house so maybe not to everyone's taste as the stairs to the room are a bit steep, as you would expect. There are twin beds in the room and a handy rail to hand clothes as well as a side table and draws as well as a tv and tea / coffee making facilities. There were all sorts of teas, coffees, drinks and beverages avaialble so you could stay there for ever. A nice touch was the kit kats as we had cycled 65 miles that day and chocolate always goes down well after that effort.
There is a shower room and a separate toilet on the floor below so not too far to get clean and refresh. The Albion is cycle friendly and we secured our cycles out of reach and sight of the main road. A big plus. Indeed cycling guests are a common feature of the Albion as it is in excelllent cycle country.
A short walk from two pubs which were pretty busy but both did food. We ate in one which was pretty good.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Loads of food, a full locally sourced, cooked breakfast with every jam / spread you could think of. Plenty of toast, teas and coffee and great conversation with very, very, helpful pleasent and cheefuls hosts.
All in all a great find and somewhere to head straight back to whenever visiting the area. A reall gem. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank perrycrimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beautifully appointed home, very comfortable bedroom, perfect breakfast and companionable, cultured hosts Gemma and Barbara - all the ingredients of an excellent, relaxing break. And all around you - the Great Britain of the Great Britten!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sporadiccommentator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Eight of us stayed here during a cycling tour. We were very warmly welcomed and had a good night and a perfect breakfast. Don't worry about sharing bathrooms - this is a superb place to stay in an excellent position.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaSouthampton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Builders were working in the garden but were no trouble to us as we were only staying the one night. On entering, the house did seem quirky but was full of interesting objects and discussions. The owners were fascinating and supplied lovely breakfasts. Rooms did share bathrooms and toilets but that didn't seem to inconvenience anyone in our group but could be problematic if you don't like to share or walk across corridors. The rooms have old style furniture but bottled water was free and there were other drinks that could be bought for a small sum. Good selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Nothing compares for a return to the simple things in life; home cooked food (sourced locally where possible), beautiful countryside, welcoming locals and the best landladies - possessing that rare quality of making you feel as welcome as an old family friend whilst respecting your privacy ABSOLUTE HEAVEN.

Room Tip: We always stay in the Piano room on the ground floor so are unable to comment on the other rooms. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Jemma and Barbara make us so welcome in their beautiful house. We have been visiting Albion House every 2/3 months for the last 5 years and have enjoyed every trip. Fresh air, a 6-8 mile walk through the countryside, a welcome pub dinner and a hearty breakfast before we set off back to a week in 'the Smoke'.
We highly recommend the B&B and Snape is a lovely, tranquil setting for a relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Speak to Jemma or Barbara and we are sure they will look after you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Gemma & Barbara provide a warm and stylish welcome at this wonderful B&B just down the road from Snape Maltings. Hard to beat !

Suzanna

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzannaMCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albion House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion House

Property: Albion House
Address: Albion House Church Road, Snape IP17 1SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Albion House Snape, Suffolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing