We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Special”
Review of Cafe 1885

Cafe 1885
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Snape
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Seaside Special”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Situated within the Snape Maltings, on the first floor, this cafe is clean and well presented and has an inviting menu - many dishes from local producers ingredients. We enjoyed a very pleasant lunch with excellent service. We had between us Ham Hock Terrine, Dressed Cromer Crab with New Potatoes, Leak and Potato Soup - all were voted delicious. I see the odd comment in the reviews of this cafe about slow service etc. - this was not the case for us, but it should be remembered that this is a tourist situation for which it must be impossible to predict accurately staff requirements - a coach arriving at just the wrong time can easily skew service times and one should be understanding!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    37
    16
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vintage Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A wonderful afternoon with the girls! Afternoon tea great value and very enjoyable. I have been to the Ritz for afternoon tea but enjoyed the vintage relaxed feel they offered far more. Little cakes, yummy scones, delicious sandwiches served with real English tea in very fancy teapots out of china cup and saucers. I took a photo and shared on twitter lots of lovely comments. A must for a girls day out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pleasant cafe, delicious food”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stopped at the Cafe 1885 for lunch on Easter Sunday and were lucky to get a table for 5 as we hadn't booked in advance. The cafe was very busy and the staff were understandably running to keep up - but remained cheerful and welcoming nonetheless.

We had a big pot of tea and a variety of meals - all day breakfast, bacon sandwich, cauliflower soup, a side order of big fat chips and my order - scrambled eggs on smoked salmon. All delicious and all served nice and hot.

We all enjoyed our meals and thought the food was good value.

The cafe is part of the Snape Maltings which is a must-see if you're in this area of Suffolk. The concert hall is the home of the Aldeburgh Festival and concerts throughout the year. There are also galleries, small shops and an antique shop in the complex.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amahlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place for light afternoon re-fuel”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good place to stop, choose from a good range of teas/coffees, and we recommend the toast platter and marmalade - good value, tasty and effective!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I visited Cafe 1885 on a busy Saturday lunchtime and had a fantastic lunch. Service was friendly, prompt and the food was lovely (I had the ploughmans and my partner had the parfait.) Have been a few times since and all of the visits as good as the last! Great value for money in a relaxed atmosphere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Foodielover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1885 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing