We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Afternoon Tea”
Review of Cafe 1885

Cafe 1885
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Snape
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vintage Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A wonderful afternoon with the girls! Afternoon tea great value and very enjoyable. I have been to the Ritz for afternoon tea but enjoyed the vintage relaxed feel they offered far more. Little cakes, yummy scones, delicious sandwiches served with real English tea in very fancy teapots out of china cup and saucers. I took a photo and shared on twitter lots of lovely comments. A must for a girls day out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    16
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“pleasant cafe, delicious food”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stopped at the Cafe 1885 for lunch on Easter Sunday and were lucky to get a table for 5 as we hadn't booked in advance. The cafe was very busy and the staff were understandably running to keep up - but remained cheerful and welcoming nonetheless.

We had a big pot of tea and a variety of meals - all day breakfast, bacon sandwich, cauliflower soup, a side order of big fat chips and my order - scrambled eggs on smoked salmon. All delicious and all served nice and hot.

We all enjoyed our meals and thought the food was good value.

The cafe is part of the Snape Maltings which is a must-see if you're in this area of Suffolk. The concert hall is the home of the Aldeburgh Festival and concerts throughout the year. There are also galleries, small shops and an antique shop in the complex.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amahlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great place for light afternoon re-fuel”
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Good place to stop, choose from a good range of teas/coffees, and we recommend the toast platter and marmalade - good value, tasty and effective!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tlwmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lunch!”
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I visited Cafe 1885 on a busy Saturday lunchtime and had a fantastic lunch. Service was friendly, prompt and the food was lovely (I had the ploughmans and my partner had the parfait.) Have been a few times since and all of the visits as good as the last! Great value for money in a relaxed atmosphere.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Foodielover14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
220 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Bit skewed”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place has changed hands in the recent past and it became different, better than it was. It was well organised and the food has been consistently of a good standard. Today we dropped in for coffee and cake, quite excellent in quality, but the waitress was not. Everything was 'there you go', a mini skirt which looked like a pair of knickers, almost a surly disposition and a general air of laid back. I noticed some customers having to go to the counter to ask if there was waiter service. Obviously the manager/manageress was off but maybe that was the management, who knows. So, to sum up, everything was the same as far as food and beverages were concerned except my impression was somewhat skewered by their font of house staff. I should also say that the price for two coffees and one carrot cake came to over 8£, not cheap but really worth it, really! The cafe is situated upstairs in a large shop where one's wife can have a ball choosing things she just can't find anywhere else. The Snape Maltings, where it is located, is the home of Benjamin Briten's Music School and an auditorium which supports the most uncomfortable seats in Europe (take a cusion, most diehards do)

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 1885 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 1885? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing