We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Mill
Ranked #4 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the 'Gardener's Cottage'. It was great. We liked having a kitchenette and being able to have breakfast how we liked, when we liked. The location is excellent. The property is characterful and stylish in a genuine country way. The hosts are relaxed and charming. (Not the sort of prissy types that normally run b&bs).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocitizenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen N, Owner at The Old Mill, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you both for your lovely review, and I'm glad that you had such a good break. Come again, and I'll make sure that I make more apricot jam when they come into season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just spent 4 nights in the Miller's Cottage. The accommodation, which has its own private entrance, is tastefully decorated and furnished and impeccably clean. The bed with its crisp white bedding is one of the most comfortable we have slept in. There is a seperate sitting/ dining room with kitchenette which is well equipped. The continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious.
The Old Mill is ideally situated for exploring the Suffolk coast and there are numerous walks on the doorstep. There are also 3 places to eat within walking distance. We thoroughly recommend this B&B and would have no hesitation in staying here again. A great place with welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen N, Owner at The Old Mill, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are always glad when people like staying here, and will always keep trying to maintain and improve things so that people want to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at The Old Mill and thoroughly recommend it. We chose the Garden House, it had everything for a tranquil, peaceful and comfortable stay. For us, the privacy was vey welcome-just to be able to come and go as we chose. We appreciated the lovely breakfasts Ellen stocked for us (fresh daily) and it was nice to be able to eat when we liked- in our pyjamas!
There are up to date DVDs to watch as well as TV on a good quality screen, plenty of towels, lovely bedding and copious amounts of tea and coffee with fresh milk.
Snaps Maltings in the village has lots- cafes, clothes shops, home and garden shops, card store etc as well as a concert hall which is focusing this year on Benjamin Britten.
We ate at The Crown Inn (5 mins walk-see my review) 2 nights running and loved it.
This is a great place to stay if you like walking, we hopped on the bus to Aldeburgh, then walked the old Smuggler's Path back to Snape-6 miles.
If you have any special requirements etc give Ellen a ring or email her, she is friendly and approachable and appeared keen to ensure people enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: Garden Room is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blunderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen N, Owner at The Old Mill, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were lucky enough to have almost a full day of sunshine, a rare treat at the moment!

Best wishes
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This was the 2nd time we had stayed with Ellen. Unfortunately the Garden House was already booked but Ellen very kindly accommodated us in the Miller's Cottage, which normally sleeps 4 (1 double & 2 single bed). As usual, Ellen had stocked the fridge with lots of nice surprises, yoghurts, melon, ham, cheese, milk, jams and home made bread for breakfast or an inpromptu snack!
Would of liked a nice comfy sofa to watch the DVD collection, but alas the room is not quite big enough to accomodated both a sofa and a table and chairs, but the place is so quiet, it is be ideal place to get immersed in a good book ( which there are plenty in the cottage).
The new shower is great (recently installed). Nice & powerful.
Lots to things to do and see around Snape. Snape Maltings, walking, bird watching, cruise drown the river (from the Maltings), also a shop just up the road and 3 pubs.
An ideal place to stay and relax.
Thanks Ellen, for another great stay. We will be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MrandMrsB250605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen N, Owner at The Old Mill, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you so much for all your kind comments, and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I keep trying to think of a ways off improving comfort in the Miller's Cottage, and your comment confirms that I need to do something this winter. I will come up with some solution!

Best wishes
Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lovely place with excellent hosts. Website really doesn't do it justice.Tasteful decor. Maps, books, videos, thick towels, crispy sheets, toiletries. Breakfast stuff left ready in your flat with fruit, homemade bread and best homemade marmalade we have ever tasted, tea, coffee etc. to be enjoyed when you want it. This meant that we could have a proper lie-in as well as a lazy breakfast. Owners very knowledgeable about the local area. Many walks and footpaths starting from the doorstep. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Garden flat consists of one big room. Rooms in Millers Cottage are small but easier to do separate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen N, Owner at The Old Mill, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was good to meet you and we hope to see you again. I promise that I will have a good look at the website over the winter and try to make it better represent the lovely place that it is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This B&B massively exceeded our expectations as the website really doesn't do the place justice. This accommodation comprises a gorgeous holiday- let style building, which is beautifully presented,full of character, well equipped and very private. Ellen is a very hospitable host and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Suffolk.

The accommodation has Wifi (although the speed is very slow), a selection of books, DVDs, towels, shower gel, iron, kitchenette,which includes cutlery, crockery, kettle range of fruit teas and filter coffee. There is also a lovely private garden attached to the cottage with outside table and chairs. Ellen also provides bread, fruit, cheese, ham. yoghurt , range of cereals etc for breakfast.

Ellen was also very flexible regarding our checkout time on the Sunday- which was good because we had been to a wedding the night before and were up very late the next day!

My only criticism is that the website could do with being updated to include more info on the cottage itself (as fascinating as the history of the building is) and our sleep was slightly disturbed by birds (?!!) in the roof- but I guess that's what you get in the countryside!!!

Overall though 10/10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burystgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned from another stay with Ellen Nall but this time with my in-laws in tow and a stay at the Miller's Cottage. The same welcoming and attention to detail/food provision, but if you are staying as a foursome who might want to do more than sleep and eat breakfast you might be better off finding a cottage with more comfort. My in-laws are fairly elderly and there is no really comfortable seating in the living/dining area. The twin beds are quite low and have wooden sides which they found annoying. Think this cottage is probably best suited to couple with children rather than two couples.

Room Tip: Couples should choose the Garden Cottage rahter than the larger Miller's Cottage - it is far mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snape
4.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
6.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Thorpeness Hotel and Golf Club
5.4 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ship Inn Blaxhall
Ship Inn Blaxhall
#1 of 2 in Blaxhall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: The Old Mill Church Road, Snape IP17 1SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill, dating from 1797, overlooks the village of Snape and The Maltings Concert Hall (a short walk away) on the River Alde beyond. It was originally converted in 1937 by Benjamin Britten where he lived until 1947, and where he composed 'Peter Grimes.'The property still retains the character that Britten bought to it, but has been updated in recent years, and now offers very comfortable accommodation in either of two separate cottages within the grounds. Both have their own private entrance and their own garden in which you will find picnic tables, chairs and a barbecue. Each has a small kitchen with sink, a microwave oven/grill, a refrigerator, kettle, toaster, and the various other accouterments you would expect to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We will provide an extensive 'continental' breakfast in your cottage, to your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Snape, Suffolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing