We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation”
Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Snape
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Mill
Ranked #3 of 5 Snape B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This B&B massively exceeded our expectations as the website really doesn't do the place justice. This accommodation comprises a gorgeous holiday- let style building, which is beautifully presented,full of character, well equipped and very private. Ellen is a very hospitable host and I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Suffolk.

The accommodation has Wifi (although the speed is very slow), a selection of books, DVDs, towels, shower gel, iron, kitchenette,which includes cutlery, crockery, kettle range of fruit teas and filter coffee. There is also a lovely private garden attached to the cottage with outside table and chairs. Ellen also provides bread, fruit, cheese, ham. yoghurt , range of cereals etc for breakfast.

Ellen was also very flexible regarding our checkout time on the Sunday- which was good because we had been to a wedding the night before and were up very late the next day!

My only criticism is that the website could do with being updated to include more info on the cottage itself (as fascinating as the history of the building is) and our sleep was slightly disturbed by birds (?!!) in the roof- but I guess that's what you get in the countryside!!!

Overall though 10/10.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burystgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just returned from another stay with Ellen Nall but this time with my in-laws in tow and a stay at the Miller's Cottage. The same welcoming and attention to detail/food provision, but if you are staying as a foursome who might want to do more than sleep and eat breakfast you might be better off finding a cottage with more comfort. My in-laws are fairly elderly and there is no really comfortable seating in the living/dining area. The twin beds are quite low and have wooden sides which they found annoying. Think this cottage is probably best suited to couple with children rather than two couples.

Room Tip: Couples should choose the Garden Cottage rahter than the larger Miller's Cottage - it is far mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were lucky enough to pick an amazing weekend weather-wise to go to Snape, we had planned to stay two nights and ended up staying three. Location is within walking distance to Snape maltings, lovely walks along the river, two great pubs. We stayed in the Garden Cottage which consists of one open plan room containing very comfortable double bed, side tables, good lighting, comfy sofa, table, chairs and small kitchen area with microwave, toaster, kettle. Tea, coffee, milk, butter, bread, variety of jams and cereals, yoghurts, orange juice, ham, cheese. Everything clean and immaculate. Ellen is wonderful host and I really appreciated her almost immediate reply whenever I emailed and it was lovely meeting her.

Room Tip: Also took a look at the other 2 bedroom cottage with a view to bringing in laws - obviously more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at the mill cottage last week for 3 nights. It is just as others have described. It suited us because we had already been staying in other parts of Suffolk for 5 nights. we had eaten the full breakfasts at traditional b and b's and were ready for a change. It was private with an area of the garden straight out of the patio doors to sit in. As we had lovely weather this was very welcome. We went to the Crown on 2 nights and ate well but on 1 evening we stayed in the cottage. We were able to heat a ready meal and drink wine sitting in the garden relaxing. We also felt that we could return at any time of the day without disturbing anyone. Ellen puts fresh milk etc in the fridge during the day and is available for info but other than that you feel as if your on your own. We really liked that.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was our second visit it is motre than B&B great self contained accomodation with breakfast incuded(delicious home made jams bread fruit etc)
Location in the village of Snape with 3 pubs for dinner and great scenic walks and easy access to Aldeburgh , Snape Maltings etc
very helpful owners all in all excellent value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieramsay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESSEX
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Just back from a 2 night stay in the Garden Cottage at The Old Mill. Beautifully furnished, lovely bright room with kitchenette and shower room. Really this is almost self-catering rather than b&b as the breakfast is taken in the room and all the food you need is supplied, including cereals,yoghurts,fruit,homemade preserves etc. We were also given a freshly baked loaf of bread on arrival which was a real treat. Kitchen has microwave and toaster so simple meals can be made if you want to stay in.

Lovely views over the private garden and fields beyond the property, very quiet and peaceful yet on the road leading to Aldeburgh. Had a day at nearby Orford on the river, where you can get a ferry to Orford Ness (National Trust nature reserve) and take a boat trip around Havergate Island (RSPB) where we saw hundreds of the gorgeous Avocets which inhabit the island. Could not fault the accomodation,location or welcome of host Ellen and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINALLEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Having previously stayed at Ellen and Chris Nall's delightful beach-side self-catering cottage at Thorpeness we had high expectations of The Old Mill. We weren't disappointed.

We took Miller's Cottage (the larger of the two available) with a double and a twin bedroom. Both are simply but comfortably furnished. There's a shower-room and a kitchen/living room equipped with refrigerator, microwave oven, kettle, toaster and television. You'll also find a small selection of books, magazines, games and jigsaw puzzles.

It's described as bed-and-breakfast accommodation but there's a difference. Ellen stocks the cottages with bread, butter, cereals, milk, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, ham and preserves. There's an ample supply of tea and coffee. It's then up to the tenants when they take their breakfast. Our stay was in typically wet November weather so we were unable to take advantage of the cottage garden and the table and chairs provided for guests' use.

The Old Mill was once the home of Benjamin Britten, the composer, whose photo hangs on the living room wall. Not far away is Snape Maltings and its world-famous concert hall - the venue for the Aldeburgh Festival, founded by Britten. It also houses restaurants, art galleries and retail outlets for items such as food and drink, kitchenware, arts and crafts, books and clothes. We were fortunate to be there on the first Saturday of the month when the Farmers' Market is held.

For food and drink we recommend The Crown Inn, a few minutes' walk from The Old Mill, though the nearby Golden Key is well-regarded. There's also The Plough and Sail pub adjacent to The Maltings. Within walking distance is the village shop and a motor garage which rents out bicycles.

The upmarket seaside resorts of Aldeburgh and Southwold (with its excellent pier) are within driving distance and the area abounds with opportunities for walking, cycling and sailing. Real ale lovers should note that this is Adnams' country, though beers from several microbreweries are often available. We'll be back for more!

  • Liked — The simple comfort.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Father-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Snape
4.6 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.5 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Mill

Property: The Old Mill
Address: The Old Mill Church Road, Snape IP17 1SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Snape
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Snape
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Mill, dating from 1797, overlooks the village of Snape and The Maltings Concert Hall (a short walk away) on the River Alde beyond. It was originally converted in 1937 by Benjamin Britten where he lived until 1947, and where he composed 'Peter Grimes.'The property still retains the character that Britten bought to it, but has been updated in recent years, and now offers very comfortable accommodation in either of two separate cottages within the grounds. Both have their own private entrance and their own garden in which you will find picnic tables, chairs and a barbecue. Each has a small kitchen with sink, a microwave oven/grill, a refrigerator, kettle, toaster, and the various other accouterments you would expect to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We will provide an extensive 'continental' breakfast in your cottage, to your requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Mill Snape, Suffolk, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing