We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dream venue for wedding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“dream venue for wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2011

Me and my fiancee went to visit the hotel as we were interested in it as our wedding venue. As soon we walked in we knew this was the venue for us, the hotel looks amazing couldnt ask for more. We didnt have an appointment booked but Maggie the general manager was more than happy to chat with us and show us around the hotel. She was so helpful and friendly. We have been to some other places and were just made to feel like any other customer and that they were just after taking our money and not really wanting to make our day special. Maggie listened to what we wanted and even gave us a few ideas on how we could do things which was really great. She didnt rush us through our meeting like most places do.
The hotel is completley transformed and we cant wait to say 'i do' there

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bride2be16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    58
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
89
79
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

Looking forward to next visit. Huge change to everything and all so much to the better. Looking for something to fault but can't find anything!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

We live locally so after the Riverside Hotel being shut for refurbishment for several months we thought we would give this place a try. One word, 'Wow' you wont be disappointed!

From the second you walk through the door the quality of the hotel is shown through both the decor and the staff. The rooms are done to the very highest standard possible with cleanliness second to none, supurb bathroom and comfy beds!

The thing I love about this hotel is there is something for everyone. Whether you enjoy relaxing in the libary style front room with a book, enjoying fine wines in the oak style room or fancy some shots in the modern bar, everyone is cated for.

The restaurant is fantastic also as it enjoys views over the river lark and mature gardens. The food taste's lovely and is at a very reasonable price also, helped along with the second to none service from the freindly and helpful restaurant staff.

To some it up, whether your looking for a venue for your wedding or event, a nice sunday lunch, a romantic getaway, or just a drink in one of the bars, you will be blown away by the fantastic Riverside House Hotel, Mildenhall.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

My stay here was wonderful. Maggie, Claire, Sarah, and all the staff took such good care of me that it felt like a welcoming hug at the end of a long day. When I first saw my room I was delighted. It was clean and sumptuous. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was fit for royalty. When I couldn't figure out how to turn on the warming towel rack in the bathroom, all I had to do was ask the housekeeping staff and they had it fixed/on that afternoon. The food was superb. (Most days I had a full fry for breakfast and on one occasion I had an excellent salmon meal for dinner.) The restaurant is so popular with locals, you may need to book on weekend evenings. The hotel is located on the edge of Mildenhall town and backs onto the Lark River. It has a beautiful back garden and a resident heron. It is peaceful and relaxing to sit in the garden and listen to the river. There truly isn't anything I could find fault with the staff of this newly refurbished hotel or the hotel itself. I encourage you to find out for yourself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy58772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

I was very proud to be asked to do the wedding chair covers and balloons for the first wedding held at the riverdside on dec 18th after the hotel reopened what a change !!!! to the place from the moment you walked in the door the whole feel of the place was very up market I deal with brides all the time and would recommend this hotel to anyone without any problem .... the settingswelll I can wait to see the garden in the summer time the people were helpful the rooms beautiful the whole decor my only complaint is you could do with updating your website with new picture of your lovely hotel

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marie_coleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

where do i start we had a party of 113 guests to celibrate the biggest day of our lives, from start to finish from management to all the staff on show and behind the scenes everything was perfect the staff are so friendly, polite and curtious the food is 120% and the price is very resonable me and my wife have not a single bad word to say and all our guests have only said postive words we will definatly recommend the riverside hotel to anyone who is looking to have a gorgeous beautiful setting for there wedding, we had 18 guests who stayed in the hotel over night and 28 guests stayed for a meal the next day which was as perfect as the day before the rooms are perfect and everything is very modern, i wish all the people involed all the best and i look forward to visiting the hotel again very soon, on a whole there are not enough stars to rate this hotel.

thank you for making our wedding day so special

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funkymonkeytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

After hearing the hotel was under new ownership, I was interested in seeing what the hotel would look like & I was amazed with the transformation! Upon entering the hotel, you are instantly greeted by happy staff members working in reception, new furniture, lovely refurblished rooms, fantastic food & happy/helpful staff members... what more could you ask for!?

Very pleased customer & I will be visiting very soon! :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
22.9 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing