We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night in August 2013, it was our friends 40th wedding anniversary celebration. We arrived just after 3pm and ordered afternoon tea, what a lovely treat. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. This is defiantly a very well run hotel. The room we stayed in was very clean and fresh. Such a lovely spot for a hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    59
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
92
82
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

As many of the other reviewers have said, it is a great venue for a wedding and I totally agree. My brother and sister-in-law got married here and we had a fabulous time. We also stayed the night with the rest of the family booking out the 15 rooms available. The food was really tasty and beautifully presented, the service was friendly, you didn't have to wait long to be served and the large garden is beautiful. The room we stayed in was really large, the shower was lovely as were the free little shampoo's and shower gel's. The bed was awesome. We slept so well and didn't want to get out in the morning!! But worth getting out for the breakfast which again was very tasty. This hotel is just on the outer edge of Mildenhall. A five minute walk to the shops. There is lots of room to park if you drive.

Room Tip: We stayed in 21 which looked out onto the gardens and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We held our daughters wedding at the Riverside Hotel in August 2014. We are so pleased we chose this venue it was a fantastic day , the service was second to none. Everyone was made to feel welcome, and nothing was too much trouble. The setting is excellent for the pictures and guests to relaxing in. The rooms where all spotless and very comfortable. All the food was thoroughly enjoyed by all our guests and breakfast was first class too. I wouldn't think twice about choosing the Riverside again for any future celebrations we may have. A big thank you to Ged and staff!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

A top quality hotel with great food, modern rooms and friendly staff. Me and my wife recently got married at the Riverside Hotel and had an amazing day, which the hotel played a major role in. From our first meeting planning the wedding with Ged to the final details of the day the management team in particular could not do enough for us as well the fabulous staff. Their relaxed but organised manner allowed us to shape and make the day our own rather than the prescriptive packages deals that we had encountered looking around other venues. Knowing the food was great prior to the big day was important and none of our guests were left disappointed with an amazing 3 course meal.

I would highly recommend this Hotel and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked to stay for 2 nights with a Living Social voucher and were not sure what to expect. We were very impressed. The hotel is gorgeous and we had lovely views from our bedroom window onto the back lawn and river itself. Breakfast was delicious as was the meal we had one evening in the resturant. As an added treat they did afternoon tea on the Sunday afternoon with a jazz band playing. So we sat in out room with the massive window open reading books, watching the world go by and listening to great music. A blissful two days

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrainekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Relaxing 2 day break. Lovely setting by river. Spotless spacious bedroom, Food satisfactory with good breakfast. Maybe needed wider vegetarian menu. Very good value for money though we did have a wonderful deal found on internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nibs60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had our Wedding at the Riverside House Hotel in May 2013 and could not have asked for a better service and venue. Ged our wedding organiser/hotel manager was just fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, the process was very relaxed and he thought of everything! The day itself went very smoothly and all staff were friendly, professional and ensured everything was where it should be when it should be there. The garden is beautiful and we were lucky enough for the weather to allow us to have our reception drinks there. We had lots of comments about the high quality of the food and the fact that the drinks are normally priced (not extortionate hotel prices). We would recommend Julie from Langton's florist, Mildenhall who did a fantastic job on our beautiful bouquets and table displays. If your thinking of getting married in the area definitely go and take a look, we would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
BEST WESTERN Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing