We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and Not Too Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Not Too Expensive”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at the Riverside Mildenhall for two nights before going on to the Norfolk Broads.
On arrival, we headed straight to the beautiful riverside garden with a bottle of wine while our girls enjoyed looking at the lovely flowers. What a great start. Inside, diners were enjoying Sunday lunch with live entertainment.
We had a family room which was fantastic. The girls had their own little room with a TV which they loved and we had the main room. The bathroom was nice with a good shower although my husband was disappointed there was no bath.
That evening we walked into the village which the hotel website states is an "attractive historic town." In fact, we were disappointed as found it to be a little run down. However, we enjoyed a meal at the local Chinese restaurant.
On returning to the hotel, we had a few drinks in the bar and the bartender was happy and chatty engaging in conversation with our girls. There are a good range of cocktails as well as wines.
Breakfast at the Riverside was freshly cooked to order so no queuing for cold sausages and bacon. You can help yourself to cereals, patries and juice too and this set us up for the day nicely.
After going out to Thetford Forest for the day, we returned and had afternoon tea in the garden. This was excellent value for a hotel at £7.50 per head with sandwiches, cakes, scones and tea.
That night we decided to eat in the hotel. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating and provided us with a meal for the children which wasn't on the menu, as well as making suggestions. Again we relaxed in the bar and our girls went outside in the garden to watch a Bowling game being played by guests.
To summarise, we enjoyed a relaxing stay with great service and didn't spend more money than necessary.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 23 which was a family suite. It was perfect for us and our two girls and had a won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hays70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    64
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
98
90
6
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston lincs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

As we were visiting the area we decided to return to Riverside Hotel to have Sunday Lunch. We had stayed over night last June for our friends wedding and had been very impressed with the Hotel. I have to say we were not disappointed . The food was delicious the service great. We had drinks in the beautiful gardens before lunch. There was 6 of us and we enjoyed everything that this lovely hotel had to offer. The staff were so friendly. We would recommend this hotel both for overnight stays and meals and it's a real gem not to be missed. Thank you it was the end to a lovely day

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slove2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this hotel from the reviews that fellow trip advisors had written so we knew it would be good. On arrival although we were early and our room wasn't ready the receptionist was happy to help. By the time we'd had lunch in the bar, our room was ready. The hotel decor is beautiful, each reception room very tastefully and artfully finished to the highest standard. The gardens are beautifully scaped, making the best of the riverside setting. The hotel staff are pleasant and very obliging, even recommending and booking a table at a local restaurant for an evening meal. The standard of customer service was excellent, honest and efficient. Breakfast was hearty, with a good choice of full english, kippers, or continental. If we're every visiting this area again, we will stay here.

Room Tip: Use the lift if your room is on the 2nd floor, the stairs are very harrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a very nice lunch at the Riverside House Hotel in Mildenhall this week. A good varied menu, elegantly served, The salmon I had was beautifully cooked with a mint salsa, something I had not had before it went well with the salmon and was a novel touch. The garden going down to the river is a pleasure to look out onto from the dining room, pity the weather wasn't good it would have been nice to sit out there. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pennyk299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding, nice rooms, nice food, a hog roast, nice change to have breakfast served, v good too. Decent restaurant and bar, would go back. Staff very friendly and efficient, came straight up when we called
For some help

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

we had the hotel exclusively for the weekend for my daughters wedding, the organistaion by dedicated staff was second to none, the wedding meal was fantastic which came out a table at a time all in concesion, the hog roast in the evening was a bit of a let down, then came the breakfast, the food was good but we had to wait 55 minutes for it the same as all our other guests who arrived in the restaurant at different times. The rooms were lovely and well equiped with a lift servicing them. Staff were all extremely helpfull and polite allthough more staff would have made their life easier. The gardens were all well manicured with delightfull views of the river with ample on site parking. definately reccomend this venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Went to the Riverside for a birthday afternoon tea. The service we received from a lady called Suzanne was excellent. She was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was lovely and I will definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpulham81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
476 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
896 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
707 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
486 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing