We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Afternoon tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I met with some friends for some afternoon tea and a catchup, greeted by the helpful & happy staff members I felt very welcome. The food was excellent (lot's of choices to suit everyone's fancy) followed by some lovely coffee. I will definately be returning here soon as I cannot point one error with the hotel, everything was lovely. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    58
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
90
80
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I stayed at the Riverside on Friday the 28.10.2011. The Hotel has a wonderful relaxing feeling to it. The decor and the bedrooms are designed to the highest standard. The staff are very friendly and courteous and the food is fantastic. The Hotel is in a beautiful setting with a lovely Garden. I met with some friends there for a social get together and we had an amazing evening. I would thoroughly recommend it for a get away weekend to relax and chill with your nearest and dearest. I believe that they are currently building a pampering Spa which the ladies will love, especially those Brides to be looking for a pre wedding treat with their Hen friends. The hotel is fully air conditions which is perfect for those hot summer evenings.
It was so nice I am going to take my Wife there for a surprise weekend very soon.

Room Tip: No tips required as all of the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night as the usual place we stay was full. We probably won't be returning, very average in restaurant and breakfast actually poor (it was cold). The place has little character, it has high ceilings in the bar and the "restaurant" feels like it's more of a function hall than a restaurant. The bedroom felt very basic and we didn't sleep that well due to the noise. The plus points, it is clean and the location suited us as we needed to be in that area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, Suffolk, England,
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Couldn't have asked for anymore, made every aspect of our wedding day come true. The hotel is superbly decorated, the rooms are very inviting and the staff go out of there way to be helpful, and make every single person of the wedding party feel wanted and special.

Thank you so much to all the staff at The Riverside House Hotel for making our dream wedding come true.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, whether its for a wedding, dinner, afternoon tea, or even a quick drink.

Room Tip: No tip all the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel is excellent value for money. Stayed for 2 nights and also attended a private party held here with approx 80 guests. The service was excellent and the food was even better. The staff were very friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. The decor is beautiful and in keeping with the history of the house but with a tasteful modern edge. The bedroom was impressive, beds were comfortable, it was spotless and everything thought of. I could not fault anything with this hotel. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Had a meal in the restaurant which was also delicious, well presented and excellent value for money. I was sorry to leave! This hotel is a perfect setting for a wedding. Would recommend this place to anyone and hope to stay here again v soon.

Room Tip: Stayed in a family room - Room 31, top floor - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossomel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Ged, Laura, Roxie, Laura, and the rest of the staff really made our stay enjoyable. We felt like part of the family. Our room was very comfortable. We learned that the hotel had been recently remodeled and it showed - everything was beautiful; from the rooms to the bar, to the patio and garden. The breakfasts were great - go for the French Toast with clotted cream. Dinner was delicious, as well. We stayed at a couple other B&Bs and inns in the area before going to the Riverside. We will definitely stay at the Riverside again (and not the others).

Room Tip: The "Family Rooms" are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed at the riverside hotel for 2 nights with a Japanese collegue. We were both really pleased with the quality of the rooms, the hotel is really nice throughout, staff are friendly and the restaurant food is superb. Overall a lovely place to stay. Will look forward to going again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RugbyBobby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
22.9 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing