We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A memorable occasion we will never forget !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A memorable occasion we will never forget !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The whole experience of our stay and hospitality was faultless.
Beautiful rooms, excellant food and wonderful staff all contributed to a fantatsic day and evening for our wedding celebration.
With the weather being great ,the gardens were a beautiful setting for the evening.
Attention to detail was given by all the staff.
We can highly recommend this venue for a function and also the resturant and hotel rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Normski07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    58
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
89
79
6
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

We were married at the Riverside on 25th June 2011 and cannot recommend the Riverside highly enough.
The lead up to the wedding was dealt with fantastically by all the staff, the service and preparations were faultless all the way through and as for the wedding day itself - perfect!
Standard of food is excellent, quality of the rooms are outstanding, ambience of the hotel perfectly tranquil and the staff are professional, courteous and without fault.
We are very grateful for their help in making our wedding day perfect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had a lovely romantic weekend. The room was great, very stylish and modern in fact the whole hotel really sets the standard for its catagory of places to stay. We enjoyed our meals that we had in both the restaurant and bar, very tasty freshly cooked food which we could not fault but at the same time reasonable on price. In a nutshell I have stayed in a lot of hotels over the years, very few have offered what we experienced for this grade of hotel . I will definately be back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

Stayed here several times since it's refurbishment and new ownership and can not fault the hotel at all, rooms tastefully decorated and the bed was to die for :) staff more than helpful, looking forward to returning in the future
Kate from Norwich

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBS, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

This was our second visit as we had been here for Sunday Lunch, which is one of the best I have ever had - really tasty and decent sized portions.
This visit was not as good!! We decided to come here for my Mum's 60th as we had enjoyed our previous visit.
We had THREE menus to choose from - a Fixed Price, Specials, and a normal one - which was slightly confusing.... even the waitress said it was. A couple of examples of our dishes - My husband had a pork dish with spinach, and the pork was the smallest bit of meat I have ever seen (3"x2" - being generous) - I had to give him some of mine so he actually had something to eat!! My Mum had Salmon and Crayfish Risotto and said that the rice was overcooked and stodgy. Generally, the food was just okay - not good enough to make me go back again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PRINCESSP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St.Edmunds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

My wife and I looked at many venues for our special day, but this was by far the best, in a league of it's own in fact. From the stunning hotel interior and gardens through to the attentive staff and wonderful food, they made our wedding a day to remember for all the right reasons.

The hotel interior is beautiful as it's recently undergone a huge refurbishment in which a lot of money has clearly been invested, and it truly shows. From the beautiful clean rooms throughout, including the classy bridal suite, the two large bars, the open and spacious dining room with piano through to the landscape gardens, it's just amazing.

Our guests have all commented on how stunning the venue was and we were lucky enough with the weather too, so we were able to utilize the gardens to drink pimms, have our photo's taken with gorgeous backdrops, see the children running around enjoying themselves whilst others played boule and enjoyed the sun.

The wedding breakfast too was a thing of beauty. The chairs and linen all matched our colours and gave an incredible feeling of class, and once the food arrived it was like sitting in a top London restaurant. The starters, mains and dessert were so well presented and cooked to perfection we just couldn't be happier, and neither could our guests. I must also mention that we had a small number of children to the day and they were well catered for in terms of food too.

We finished the day dancing with our family and friends, but not before an evening buffet for the later guests which was again beautiful food well presented.

I must just say that although the venue is amazing, without the friendly staff and managers it could have been a different day, but they all worked so hard not only on the day itself, but in the months leading up to our wedding so a big thanks must go to them.

My wife and I have been back since to enjoy the fantastic food and relaxed atmosphere and would always come here, especially for special occasions.

There really is nowhere like this around Mildenhall, or indeed for many miles in my opinion, so if you want somewhere where you can enjoy the food and drink and feel calm, happy and relaxed then The Riverside is the hotel to visit.

5 Stars :D

Room Tip: We hired all the rooms and everyone was happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jester_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Four of us went along for Sunday lunch as we had been told the food was excellent. We were not disappointed! The food, service, setting and piano playing made for an unforgettable experience. The staff were without exception friendly and efficient but the head waitress, Suzanne, really went out of her way to make our visit a success. She welcomed us warmly and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we wanted without being intrusive.

We will certainly recommend the Riverside House Hotel to our friends and can't wait to make a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmarylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
22.9 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Worlington Hall
Worlington Hall
#4 of 5 in Mildenhall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel
Bedford Lodge Hotel
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House Hotel

Property: Riverside House Hotel
Address: 17 Mill Street | Barton Mills, Mildenhall IP28 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside House Hotel is set on the picturesque banks of the river Lark and is located in the attractive historic town of Mildenhall. Despite undergoing a complete renovation in 2010, this 18th-century building has maintained its beautiful period features and is now bursting with a contemporary, modern charm. If you require spacious conference facilities for all your business related events, private dinners, weddings, parties, or summer barbecues, our picturesque grounds, stylish rooms and finest local cuisine, the Riverside House is the perfect venue. The hotel is situated near to the A11 and provides our guests with good access to all the local areas such Bury St Edmunds, Ely, Newmarket, Thetford and Cambridge - so whether you are looking for a relaxing break, a day at Newmarket races or wanting to find out more about this historic town and its surrounding villages, the Riverside House Hotel is the perfect location from which to venture. Mildenhall is host to a number of first class sporting events; our local football team is fast climbing the ranks of the semi-professional league, our cricket team boasts one of the finest grounds in the county and is host to a number of minor county games during the summer and for the more aquatic minded there is an excellent pool 5 minutes from the hotel. The Riverside has its own floodlit, 2 court petanque (boules) court in the garden for everyone to enjoy (except some Monday nights when we play in the local league. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Riverside House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Mildenhall
Riverside House Hotel Mildenhall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing