We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service impeccable”
Review of Worlington Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Worlington Hall
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Although we did not stay here as double booked I must say the way the issue was dealt with was faultless, the incredibly sweet Ida and bar lady which we didn't catch the name were fantastic, they proceeded to find alternative accommodation whilst serving a complimentary drink, we had a fantastic night out and a comfortable stay, I would recommend this hotel because of the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraandmattcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Worlington Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 108 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

in brief, we booked via an online site (Booking,com), in the process of renovating grandmothers house in the area, 2.5hrs drive from home, to maximise the weekend, we'd stay locally. Husband in the military, his availability changed at late notice, so called the hotel direct, reception were kind enough to rebook for a new date. The 2nd date came, and as worked had progressed well, the over night stay was now,not needed, I called reception and cancelled within 48hrs as per the booking,com online rules. The hotel reception confrimed on both cancellations/re booking that there would be NO fees and NO room charge until check out. Unfortunately, reception and accounts/owners, do not seem to speak from the same hymn sheet. After weeks of emails , calls and even calling into the hotel in person, as of yet i have seen NO refund for the £130 for 2 rooms.........

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOWD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Reading the past comments I really was uneasy about staying here.However the place is beautiful.Albeit it's not run as it should be I got the feeling as the staff were totally undervalued by the owners.We booked breakfast for 8am and only at 8:30 did the receptionist and chef arrive with an apology.We weren't in a rush so it wasn't a big issue,however if I had been in a hurry then it may have been a different story.The place originates from the 16th century and oozes character.The bedrooms are well equipped and really cosy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pot5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

i think some of the reviews are unfair, yes its dated but it does not pretend to be swish, we stayed on a saturday night with dog, huge room and bathroom and the bits that mattered (sheets etc) were fine, did not eat in the evening but breakfast was lovely and the chef very good at cooking sausages, ask my dog!! i am giving it 4 as it met our requirements and did not pretend to be anything it was not and at £69 it was good value.

Room Tip: overlooking the back garden was nice, dont expect the ritz and you wont be disappointed
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I really should give this hotel a bad review, but I can't because despite the peeling paint, faded furnishings and dusty corners, this hotel has real character! Our room was enormous, with a canopied bed and lovely fireplace. The bathroom was fine, with bath, shower etc, and all in perfect working order. For the money we paid (£35 each for B&B) we thought it was good value for money. We took our dog along, and were pleased to find that the hotel has a large park-like area to the rear which was perfect for dog walking. All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixie622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Booked for me by the company and looking to send other members of staff here for future work in the area. Big mistake staying here. I was allocated a room - Greenfinch. An extremely dated twin room to the front of the property over looking the main road, actually right up against the main road. Be prepared for noise. Noise from traffic and continual noise from the electrical generator for the hotel right below the room. Even the person in a nearby room mentioned this continual sound in the night. A dirty room, a dirty kettle that needs a good wash on the outside. Empty sugar wrapper on the floor, empty biscuit wrappers in the top draw alongside the bed. A bathroom sink so small that you cannot fill the kettle - you have to fill a cup and tip the water into the kettle. Single beds with a mattress so useless you may as well sleep on the floor.
I went down for evening meal to find no restaurant open, you have to eat in a small bar area. Checked the menu and selected Lasagne meal to be told a few minutes later the chef had not made any. Selected Tagliatelle for the bar lady to come back and say that was not on the menu. No wonder no person was eating there.
The good bits, checking out in the morning. Wont go back there, wont recommend the place.

Room Tip: Dont have my room. Try another at rear of property only if you have to stay here. Consider a tent!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daibachuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked two nights because our usual hotel was full, and having read some of these reviews I was rather worried. I needn't have been! I am writing this courtesy of their free WiFi, which gives a good clear signal. We have a lovely big room with a huge bed, bigger than Kingsize, and a large bathroom with a modern freestanding bath. Everything is spotlessly clean. The staff have been very friendly and helpful. The food might be pub grub, but it is properly cooked, and the vegetables are fresh - I had broccoli last night, which is easy to get wrong, but it was green & perfectly done. The breakfast was excellent, again properly cooked with real fried potatoes, not the horrible frozen hash browns that seem to have become part of an 'English breakfast' lately. And a cafetiere of ground coffee complemented it perfectly.
The grounds are perfect for dog walking, and indeed, this is a brilliant hotel if you are travelling with a mutt. The room is lovely and warm, having 2 heaters if needed. Tea and coffee provision in the room is generous.
We will make this our hotel of choice in Suffolk from now on.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mildenhall
0.9 mi away
Riverside House Hotel
Riverside House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Mildenhall
311 reviews
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Barton Mills
Travelodge Barton Mills
#1 of 2 in Barton Mills
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Bull Inn
The Bull Inn
#2 of 2 in Barton Mills
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
720 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
914 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Heath Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worlington Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worlington Hall

Address: Worlington House Mildenhall Road, Mildenhall IP28 8RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Mildenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Mildenhall
Price Range: $113 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Worlington Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Worlington Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worlington Hall Mildenhall, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing