We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stuck in a time warp!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Reviewed May 20, 2013

not great. central location, good parking. noisy floorboards, threadbare carpeting throughout. breakfast was nice, but music was blarringly loud. staff were really friendly but lacking in local knowledge or language skills.
i dont think i will stay here again, which is a shame.

Thank Andrewinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here over the bank holiday weekend. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was 1 minute from the shops and same for the seafront.

The cleanliness was the biggest problem, the towels and beds were clean but did not feel comfortable with bare feet on the carpet could do with a good clean. When we came into our room we were greeted by 6 spiders (with webs - should have been dusted down), a moth and believe it or not 2 dead snails! Bath tub needed to be cleaned too. We booked a superior room and It was very spacious, big bed, big windows brighten up the room, enough storage space for clothes and a mirror and table to do your make up :).

Other than being woken up at 6am one morning because of another guest in another room snoring it was a reasonable nights sleep although there was a bit of a dip in the bed.

There was no shower curtain so if you wanted a shower it was a bit awkward and the window ledge was rotten. However there was soap and cream in dispensers with a small bottle of shower gel and shampoo.

Didn't eat in the restaurant and ordered 2 drinks (a beer and spirit with mixer) at a price of £9.10 absolutely absurd considering you could get this cheaper in london!

There wasn't much to do in the area, couple of little pubs and a few places to eat, little bit on the seafront for kids including donkey rides which was nice, as well as some amusements and miniature golf. Also in the town there's shops and bingo too. If you go you have to visit The little ice cream company - they do the best ice cream I've ever tasted!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

i read a few reviews of this hotel before i booked,i agree with some of you regarding the carpets in the corridors and stair ways,and the wooden sash windows,yes you have to be a little careful when opening then,but really the rooms are large,clean and bright,as are the bathrooms,the bar/pub area is a great place to relax,the food is excellent,try the breakfast and the carvery.
Most importantly,the staff,Alex and Gala,were fantastic in reception,and all the other staff could not do enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had our whole wedding here in march it was an amazing day the staff were lovely the manager very attentive their were a few problems with the meals and a hick up with the disco in the evening but was sorted out right away by hotel manage overall a very good venue out side the hotel is looking a bit tired but apart from that we had an amazing day thank you Maddis

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a groupon deal which included breakfast, 3 course evening meal and bottle of wine. I wouldn't pay the full price or return here.
However I'll begin with the positive points before I get onto the negatives !
The best thing by far about this hotel is the staff and the excellent service they provide, from check in through to the bar staff, restaurant staff and breakfast staff. We didn't have to wait for anything .
Luckily we were given a spacious room on the ground floor away from the bar so didn't encounter the noise that other people have mentioned.
The evening meal was quite bland. The choice was limited and dated. I'm not convinced the soup was homemade and the cheesecake for dessert definitely wasn't, tasted synthetic ! There was a choice for the free wine , though , which was a welcome surprise from just a house white or red.
Breakfast was well cooked and had a good choice even though I don't eat meat. We sampled scrambled and poached eggs and both were well cooked. Once again good quick service also.
As others have said the place certainly needs some renovation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chocolatehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, the staff are friendly, the restaurant and food is ok not over priced, as for our room it was neat and clean but needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to scratch, worn everything bed, carpets, bathroom, furniture, ivy plant gowning though the window from outside a hole in the wall, I doubt I would got back,

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiltonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago just after the refurb and it was lovely, very clean modern rooms , spacious and friendly staff.

We stayed here for one night the end of last year and what a change.

It is terrible, the rooms are extremely tired, the doors and walls are paper thin, the shower curtains were covered in mould.

My mum also stayed and was told there was a Christmas party and she was right above the function room, she was told she could be moved but only to a lower standard room.

This room was from a time warp and was covered in thick dust. She was told lower standard not substandard!

Like I said I stayed here a few years ago and it was lovely, however things have changed and I would never stay here again. I have stayed in most of the hotels in Felixstowe and would rather stay at them next time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveHunter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.5 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
471 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
888 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe

Address: Orwell Road, Felixstowe IP11 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Price Range: $42 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe is a privately owned 3 Star hotel located in the beautiful seaside town of Felixstowe. With free parking and an ideal location just a short walk from the town center, beach and the train station the BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe is a perfect base for visiting on business or for a leisure break. Why not explore some beautiful Suffolk Countryside in the neighboring towns of Woodbridge, Dedham, Flatford and the Essex villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Hotel Felixstowe
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing