We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good budget hotel with fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good budget hotel with fantastic staff”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

i read a few reviews of this hotel before i booked,i agree with some of you regarding the carpets in the corridors and stair ways,and the wooden sash windows,yes you have to be a little careful when opening then,but really the rooms are large,clean and bright,as are the bathrooms,the bar/pub area is a great place to relax,the food is excellent,try the breakfast and the carvery.
Most importantly,the staff,Alex and Gala,were fantastic in reception,and all the other staff could not do enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    69
    46
    17
    24
See reviews for
42
83
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had our whole wedding here in march it was an amazing day the staff were lovely the manager very attentive their were a few problems with the meals and a hick up with the disco in the evening but was sorted out right away by hotel manage overall a very good venue out side the hotel is looking a bit tired but apart from that we had an amazing day thank you Maddis

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a groupon deal which included breakfast, 3 course evening meal and bottle of wine. I wouldn't pay the full price or return here.
However I'll begin with the positive points before I get onto the negatives !
The best thing by far about this hotel is the staff and the excellent service they provide, from check in through to the bar staff, restaurant staff and breakfast staff. We didn't have to wait for anything .
Luckily we were given a spacious room on the ground floor away from the bar so didn't encounter the noise that other people have mentioned.
The evening meal was quite bland. The choice was limited and dated. I'm not convinced the soup was homemade and the cheesecake for dessert definitely wasn't, tasted synthetic ! There was a choice for the free wine , though , which was a welcome surprise from just a house white or red.
Breakfast was well cooked and had a good choice even though I don't eat meat. We sampled scrambled and poached eggs and both were well cooked. Once again good quick service also.
As others have said the place certainly needs some renovation.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night, the staff are friendly, the restaurant and food is ok not over priced, as for our room it was neat and clean but needs a lot of money spending on it to bring it up to scratch, worn everything bed, carpets, bathroom, furniture, ivy plant gowning though the window from outside a hole in the wall, I doubt I would got back,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiltonEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago just after the refurb and it was lovely, very clean modern rooms , spacious and friendly staff.

We stayed here for one night the end of last year and what a change.

It is terrible, the rooms are extremely tired, the doors and walls are paper thin, the shower curtains were covered in mould.

My mum also stayed and was told there was a Christmas party and she was right above the function room, she was told she could be moved but only to a lower standard room.

This room was from a time warp and was covered in thick dust. She was told lower standard not substandard!

Like I said I stayed here a few years ago and it was lovely, however things have changed and I would never stay here again. I have stayed in most of the hotels in Felixstowe and would rather stay at them next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveHunter86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
Level Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I dont think that I have ever been to a hotel of such contrasts. It is just off the main shopping street and the sea front. We were able to park outside.

Everything on the ground floor was excellent. The food for both meals was well up to the mark, for quality and quantity as was the decor and the beer (Adnams) in the bar. The staff were friendly and helpful.

But step on the stairs and things began to fall apart. The carpet had clearly seen much better days. Most floorboards seemed to creak, especially the ones outside our door. In the room it was warm and clean. However in the bathroom the radiator had clearly leaked and had been removed. All its fittings were still there, sticking out. The shower had been disconnected. The fan broken. The decorations in the room were tired. Thenet curtains ripped. The cream for the complementary coffee was out of date and "off".

However we only paid £69 for a Groupon deal for one night. This included an excellent evening meal for two + comlementary wine and B&B. We felt that for the money this was very good. Had we paid the "normal" asking price then perhaps our rating may have been much lower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend break here using the Groupon deal.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The reception and corridors need a bit of updating they are looking a bit shabby. The restaurant and bar areas were bright and airy. The breakfast was lovely. We were not very impressed with the evening meals though. We were disappointed to only be offered a carvery or fish and chips on the friday night. The carvery was ok but there could have been a better choice of vegetables. Saturday night we were offered the full menu but the food was not very appertising.

The room was spacious with a large bathroom - but there was no heat in the bathroom and was absolutely freezing. The room itself had a radiator that was on full blast but even that didn't warm the room up.

Enough said about the negaitves. We had a very enjoyable weekend and met some of the locals in the bar who were very firendly. Hubby even won the bar sweapstake on the Grand National.

If we visit Felixstowe again we would stay at the hotel but on a bed and breakfast basis and in the summer!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shuey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.5 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Felixstowe
415 reviews
10.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
10.8 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
9.2 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe

Property: BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
Address: Orwell Road, Felixstowe IP11 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe is a privately owned 3 Star hotel located in the beautiful seaside town of Felixstowe. With free parking and an ideal location just a short walk from the town center, beach and the train station the BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe is a perfect base for visiting on business or for a leisure break. Why not explore some beautiful Suffolk Countryside in the neighboring towns of Woodbridge, Dedham, Flatford and the Essex villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Hotel Felixstowe
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing