We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely wedding reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had our wedding reception here including sit down meal and evening buffet. Food was hot, tasty and there was plenty of buffet to go round. The decor of the rooms were nice. Prior to holding the wedding reception the management was very flexible and accommodating to what we requested. We did not have any problems with the staff trying to clear away tables before the evening was up. Honeymoon suite was nice, and the breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh h, General Manager at Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Thank you Chris and Julia for your kind words. Again congratulations and hope you enjoy your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We attended a wedding here ova the weekend, I advise any potenial brides to NOT consider this hotel.
Firstly we arrived at the hotel, the ceremony was fab. We then went to sit down in the garden to have a drink, my godson needed changing so we went to find a changing facility in the ladies toilet. To our surpise we looked and there was none, there was a member of staff using the loo so I asked if there was any, her reply "sorry there isn't any, u could use the side in front of the mirror" I said thats bad as the side was about 10 inch wide. We ended up changing him in the diasbled toilet in the buggy :-(.

The wedding buffet was totally crap it was just like eating a snack, all the guests were starving. The staff kept hovering around taking empty glasses, plates as soon as people finished them.
Come the evening time, they were doin the same. I disappeared to the loo came back and my drink had been taken away, the staff were very ignorant and not very good english.

About 10-30pm the staff started cleaning tables up and brought the breakfast trolleys out, the wedding party felt as if they were being pushed out.
My husband was filming my niece singing on the karaoke and the staff hit my husband in the legs with a roll of carpet, as they were covering up the little dance floor that they had, ready for breakfast time.
They even asked one table full of guests to move so they could clear up, in which they replied " NO we will move wen we are ready and the party has finished".

Im just glad we didnt stay here ova nite, but I am intriged to wot the rooms look like after reading other reviews on this page.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh h, General Manager at Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Yes at the moment we don't have any baby changing facilities but we are in process of redecorating our public toilets so this issue will be solved.

About the Wedding buffet - it was only ordered for 30 people and was the only meal for whole day (3.30pm ceremony and buffet came out 6.00pm) for the entire wedding party where was about 60 people.

The service was quick and clean - all glasses and plates were cleaned as soon as people finished if we accidentally picked up a glass where was still a little drink inside I apologize.

The disco was booked until 11.00pm and no one was chased out. Of course after the function we need to get ready for breakfast service in the morning and sometimes we need to ask people move to the bar area so we can start cleaning and setting tables for morning. There's always about 30 to 45 minutes drink up time after the disco finishes s the bride and groom can say good-bye to their guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had the unfortunate experience of staying here from the 7th April to the 8th April
My fiancee had booked a 'superior double' - It was beyond basic.

The walls had not seen a lick of paint for decades - they were dull, shabby, scuffed and chipped, with large areas of wall not even able to boast having paint on them.

Two radiators had been removed from the walls - but the dangerously sharp brackets and pipes remained, needless to say - the areas of wall that had once been hidden by the radiators had also forfeited a lick of paint.

The door, door frame and skirting board also had scuff marks and chips of paint missing (therefore, blending in well with the walls)!

The flatter type of pillow that greeted us, also bore stains - in keeping with the ambiance of the general standard of this 'superior room'.

Like a previous comment - it is more like a succession of buildings that has been unsympathetically, banged together by Bob the Builder. With its poorly illuminated corridor and the choice of decor, it was appauling.

We did however, have a flushing loo - the downside was; the cistern would not always fill - The water would run into the cistern - it just would not fill. To stop this constant running of water - especially through the night, I took the already detached plug and chain from the bath. I wrapped the chain around the stop-cock arm and 'tied off' by replacing the lid accross the chain, thus catching the plug! Ingenious!!

The bath panel was also cracked

We did complain at reception, but was told ALL 'superior rooms' are the same! I was simply gob-struck!!

Never again shall we stay at this sub-standard establishment & andwe warn others who are thinking about wasting their hard earnt money.

Room Tip: We looked at the web-site - But this did not tell us the truth about the rooms. I think in future...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Brook hotel is midway between a guest house and a corporate type hotel – too big for a guest house (it looks to be several large houses combined together to make one large building), not professional enough for a corporate hotel.

The hotel is situated on a quiet street close to the shops and the sea front. There is parking directly out the front but I’m thinking it would be all taken if the hotel started to fill up. Facilities include a bar serving food, a restaurant which doubles as a breakfast room, and free Wi-Fi. I chose a superior double which looked to have been remodelled in the last few years and was quite pleasant with comfy bed, flat screen TV (a little small) and tea and coffee. The bathroom was nice and fresh though it was missing a shower curtain despite some fittings on the wall – made showering a challenge.

The public areas i.e. corridors are a little tired with several door handles broken although the doors could still be opened. The reception area is a little bland. As the building were originally houses you can hear other guests upstairs and next door.

Overall my stay was satisfactory. I’m used to staying in larger chain hotels but don’t mind taking the cheaper local option so I would likely stay here again for convenience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julianp-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

As we have friends in Felixstowe we always stay at the Brook Hotel. The food is always excellent and the staff are very friendly and the room was very comfortable. We found a couple of small faults with the lighting in our room when we arrived and reported this to reception it was dealt with immediately. There was 2 drawbacks as far as we were concerned, there is no lift and carpets on the stairs and hallways were tired and badly needed replacing. The local shops are very good and you can get more or less anything you require there. The seafront is the cleanest we have ever seen with beautifully kept flower gardens. We are planning to go back next year.

Room Tip: Just ask to see the rooms and they will be happy to show you round
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkey7266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Me and my partner came here for a relaxed weekend, we have a great time in felixstowe, stayed at the Brook Hotel and found the bed to be extremely comfortable and generally the service was great, our first morning we found our waiter to be useless, didnt get the toast until quite a while after we had our cooked breakfast even though we asked for it at the same time. The rooms were extremely clean and decorated to a high standard although the toilet did wobble quite a bit (and i mean the whole toilet). Also the TV barely has any channel even though it stated it has freeview you only got about 3 channels and not even your standard channels 1-4. Overall a lovely hotel, probably the best Felixstowe has to offer.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

I had read the previous reviews but still went ahead. Room we had was great ,large and well decorated with a good sized bathroom. But the hotel is let down by the noise and loud music. The worse noise is from the bar entrance door which every time it is closed makes an crashing noise and this happens about every ten minutes as the drinkers go out for a smoke.
When I mentioned this at check out she just shrugged her shoulders.

So my recommendation is make sure you ask for a room thats not over the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PES_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.5 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
471 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#3 of 18 in Ipswich
889 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grange Farm House
Grange Farm House
#1 of 8 in Felixstowe
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe

Address: Orwell Road, Felixstowe IP11 7PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Price Range: $42 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe is a privately owned 3 Star hotel located in the beautiful seaside town of Felixstowe. With free parking and an ideal location just a short walk from the town center, beach and the train station the BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe is a perfect base for visiting on business or for a leisure break. Why not explore some beautiful Suffolk Countryside in the neighboring towns of Woodbridge, Dedham, Flatford and the Essex villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Hotel Felixstowe
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing