We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orwell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$58
$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marlborough Hotel(Felixstowe)
$85
$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alma Inn(Harwich)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Woodhall Manor(Woodbridge)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (486)
Filter reviews
486 results
Traveler rating
172
174
81
33
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
174
81
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan updatepublic roomsgrand old ladylovely hotelbar priceslots of characterhigh streetfront of housetwo coursesblack puddingreception areabit datedcooked breakfastlarge roomtown centreplenty of hot watertea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 486 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Comfortable and fairly clean although had to remove dust from surfaces. Fairly hard but reasonably comfortable bed.Creaking floors and no sound proofing. Heard everything next door and general noise from functions. Very hot in room but not secure if window open. No noisy air conditioning. Large room with en suite bathroom and lots of hot water. Absolutely first rate breakfast with table service. Food seemed to be freshly prepared. Freshly squeezed orange juice
instead of watered down substitute. Very good location although some traffic noise. Beautiful lounge with open fire and library to relax in. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to an 80th party and stayed in room 100. Very nice. The food was absolutely brilliant and service superb. The local lamb and fish was out of this world and everything was very reasonably priced. It is an old style hotel so don't expect swish - but bags of character and not far from anywhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We decided on a last minute short break to combat the freezing Easter weather and were really pleased that we chose the Orwell. We were in room 103, a large and airy room with really high ceilings in the old part of the hotel, overlooking the car park. Very clean and comfortable, and the bathroom appeared to have been revamped fairly recently. The hotel is charming, with lots of leather sofas and grand chandeliers. We got a fab price including breakfast, which unusually these days was all waitress service. Very good breakfast menu choice, cooked well and service good. The hotel is very close to shops and 10 mins walk to the seafront. Easy on site parking.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the hotel seem to be larger, with high ceilings.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonia638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Have used this Hotel on a number of occasions as our company has a corporate rate. Rooms vary in size and quality depending which room you get, but always clean and comfortable. Menu was a little dated but food usually of good quality and service of a good standard. I would recommend the Breakfasts they are usually substantial and always served piping hot from the kitchen. I wouldn't not recommend this Hotel, but my personal preference is for something a little more modern.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just visited the Orwell Hotel in Felixstowe and have had a marvellous time! We stayed for one night at the beginning of March to celebrate my partner's birthday. On arrival we were lucky enough to be upgraded to the Deben Suite, which was fabulous and extremely spacious! There was a large, lovely, light lounge with enough seating for at least eight and included a large dining table. A king-size bed bedroom opened off this, with ensuite bathroom, complete with huge corner bath. This bathroom was big enough to party in! In addition there was an extra cloakroom toilet. As this was to be a birthday surprise, I asked for some extra info/brochure on the hotel. They were brilliant, sending lots of interesting info on the Orwell's history and origins, which greatly added to the gift. The breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice. The ambience of the hotel was very cosy and welcoming, with chesterfields and a lovely library. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, especially Izzy, Rachel and Lyndsey, the Reception Ladies. I would recommend the Orwell Hotel and we are planning to return in future with my mother. Thank you all at The Orwell Hotel! We completed our visit to Felixstowe with a visit to the Mind, Body and Soul exhibition on at the Leisure Centre and had a look around the comprehensive shopping centre.

Room Tip: We were situated at the front of the hotel in the Deben Suite which was great. In anticipation of returning with my mother at a later date, I also looked at another standard room, with king-size bed and matching Chesterfield wing chairs and also a single room with double bed for my mother. They were at the rear and were equally lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smaceno3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews