We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orwell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice location and character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We would certainly stay here again.
Easily the best in the area, it has lots of charm and has very good service.
A little pricey, but you sometimes have to pay for nice things in life!
Food lovely.
Right by the train station and half a mile from the beach.

Room Tip: A room away from the main road is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liveonelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    150
    74
    28
    19
See reviews for
77
167
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We held our wedding at the Orwell in January 2013, everything from start to finish was impeccable. The service was superb, the food both at the reception and breakfast the next morning was faultless. Everyone who stayed said how impressed they were with the standard of the rooms, I can't speak highly enough of the staff and the hotel, with special thanks to Steven Cordroy who managed the wedding so brilliantly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Albans, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Orwell for an American Square Dancing weekend. The rooms and common areas were lovely and warm and welcoming considering it was -5 degrees outside. The hotel has ample free, flat parking. The hotel is of the grand Edwardian (?) English style and very well kept. although in some parts e.g. bathrooms it could do with an update. The food is good although it all could have been a little hotter. They have an excellent ballroom which we filled and took full advantage of. I have visited for this event on previous years and the standard is very consistent. I have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Excellent location close to the Railway Station, easy to find. Ample parking. Rooms are good. Good food and excellent breakfast. Reasonably priced. A comfortable stay.
Pleased on both occasions.
Recommended
Pradeep Thatai

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeep T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calpe. Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We decided to come to the UK from our home in Spain to spend our Diamond Wedding Anniversary with our family in the week leading up to Christmas. We first checked on line to recommended hotels in the area and chose The ***** Hotel which was thoroughly awful and after one night we checked out and found the Orwell and managed to get a room , in fact a suite. The difference was immediate, we had previously booked this Hotel for a Dinner/Party for our family and we can only say that our faith in British hotels was renewed. The quality of service and the accomodation was first class as was the Restaurant and we would definitely return to this Hotel on return visits to the UK. Thank you to 'all' the staff and management for making this a special occasion for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We attended a wedding reception at the hotel and decided to book a room, what a Gorgeous hotel with faded elegance and class.

The price of the room was very very reasonable and the Breakfast was beautifully presented, fresh ingredients and lovely and hot. The staff at the hotel were attentive and Friendly, the receptionist Issy was lovely in helping is book our room and give us directions to the beach.

would not hesitate to visit again !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Gorgeous hotel with faded elegance.just our taste, food and staff excellent. Christmas Eve Dinner and Dance was also very well organized and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Christmas day and Boxing day lunchtime had a pianist playing christmassy music which was wonderful but there I am afraid the entertainment stopped. Was surprised and disappointed no entertainment each evening as when booking the receptionist told us there would be so much going on over the whole festive package. First time I have ever retired to bed by 9.30 at Christmas as there was nothing to do but drink in the bar which was empty of people as they had retired to bed due to boredom.Just the pianist or singer would have been perfect. Would not go for Christmas again but would definataly stay during the year for B & B.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotty717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
8.8 mi away
Seckford Hall
Seckford Hall
#3 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.1 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.9 mi away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orwell Hotel

Property: The Orwell Hotel
Address: Hamilton Road, Felixstowe IP11 7DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Felixstowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Orwell Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For short breaks or longer holidays, the Orwell Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, excellent cuisine, fine wine, great service and a friendly atmosphere all provided by our highly trained staff. Felixstowe, a family seaside resort, with a Victorian atmosphere. Bathing huts, seafront gardens and red shingle beach with pier. Close to Felixstowe's town centre is the Orwell Hotel, a Victorian house dating back to 1898. The spacious public areas are traditionally decorated and have a wealth of charm and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing