We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here! ! Worst holiday ever !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our caravans disgusting, we came with our 2 babies for a couple of days break and was expecting something basic but clean, however, our caravan smelt strongly of dog and cigarettes, the oven door was broken off, toilet flush broken, no frying pan, stained curtains and floors, and worst of all it's FLEA INFESTED, fleas in the curtains, beds, chairs, everywhere!! We even had someone come and had a look at the fleas, they told us our caravan had had this problem before and said they could move us to a new caravan but not really a good idea in case we spread the fleas round the park!!!! We have to go home with fleas now... We are absolutely disgusted at this service. Do not waste your money coming to this place. We feel totally ripped off. I feel guilty for bringing my small children here.

Room Tip: Don't come here
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Many Thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you encountered whilst here. I can assure you that if we receive any issues pertaining to pests etc then we would immediately take the Holiday caravan off line and bring in the Pest control to deal with the issue. I have checked back through our records and can see no other instances reported of this nature on this caravan. I am sorry that the Park Warden was not more helpful and did not move you to another caravan. I believe you have contacted us by email and we will be responding back to you in person on the issues you experienced

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 687 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have been to this park 3 yrs running & have found, it's definitely what you make it!!!the children love it!!! If you want everything perfect go to a five star resort-not a holiday camp near the britains busiest ferry port!!! We always enjoy our stay & found any problems or niggles were delt with quickly & efficiently !!!! We will be back!! See u soon!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Many Thanks for your kind words following on from your latest stay with us here at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lets remember this site is on the edge of the largest container port in Britain and therefore noise can be experienced both night and day. We were moved to a quieter caravan after a couple of days and everything was fine. The staff were pleasent and polite and a special mention must go to the restaurant manager who went out of his way to please. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the prawn cocktail set me up for the day...well done. Felixstowe has a special charm to it and not everyone explores the full extent of the place. The site is a great
place to explore the area and indeed some friends who visited from down the road in Ipswich said they were thinking of a break there. The site is a short walk to the beach and a large seafront Sunday market and fifeteen minutes walk into the town centre .A great value for money site. Thanks for the lovely weeks break.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebilly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind words following on from your recent stay with us at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park. I have passed your comments on to the park team, it is always nice to receive positive feedback from our guests. I hope it is not too long until we welcome you back on park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 day break at this holiday park. For the two nights we paid a total of £70.00 for a 8 berth gold plus caravan! yes, £70.00 and I am basing this review on this price, if we had paid more, I would be writing an entirely different review! Firstly, the caravan was very, very clean, as was the site. The grass between the vans was cut and the grounds well maintained. I should point out, that parking was on the grass by the side of the van, this caused problems when cars were parked in front and behind ours, as you have to drive through other caravans to get onto the road, this could be very dangerous when children and running around and maybe the site should address this problem before a serious accident happens. There was an excellent indoor pool complete with a flume and toddlers pool and appeared to be well kept and very tidy. The clubhouse was pretty much what I expected, as was the food offering. The prices were comparable to this sort of facility. The park itself, is about 1/2 mile away from the beach so if you have young children, it is not to far. I should also point out, that the site is on the opposite side of the docks. As the docks are quite at the weekends, the noise was minimal but I am not too sure what sort of noise the wind may carry, on a weekday, you should bear this in mind when booking if you are looking for somewhere quiet. So summing up, for £70 for two days it was a bargain as we used it for a base and where else can you get somewhere for £35.00 per night?

Room Tip: Remember that the noise from the docks may be loud so bear in mind when booking
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review following on from your recent visit to Felixstowe Beach. I was pleased to read that you were happy with your caravan and the indoor pool and overall you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The reception and booking in was OK. The bar area and swimming pool were OK. The filthy carpet in our caravan was cleaned successfully and quickly, took several hours to dry but we went out so that was OK. Now to the rest......the whole park was scruffy and not at all well maintained. The rows of caravans were too close together, as were the caravans from each other. Apart from the 'main' roads around the park, the 'roads' between rows of caravans were just dirt tracks, narrow, pot holes etc. These should have been tarmac or concrete - the rains earlier in the year only made them worse. We were told to drive between caravans to park next to ours, but many have sheds or 'gardens' so that was impossible. Once you drove along the 'road' to the caravan, there was not enough room to turn in to park next to it (as instructed at reception). Our car is quite small, a bigger one would have been impossible to park. Our caravan was a 'Silver' - although I am not convinced it was, and goodness knows what a 'bronze' would have been like ! It was clean enough - after the carpet had been cleaned - but virtually no storage - there were only 2 of us in a 6 berth and we didn't have enough room ! There was no itinerary as to what should be in it, so you had no idea if it was correct - always with the worry that you could be accused of 'mislaying' an item. Our caravan was parked under trees so bits kept falling off and hitting the caravan and car, and birds deposited their droppings on both to an extreme degree. The caravan steps were covered - obviously they, nor the caravan exterior were ever cleaned. The trees should have been removed or severely pruned and a new fence to replace the rotting one separating us from the Peewit caravan site drive way next door. We tried the Felix club on our first night, by 9.45pm nothing was happening so we left , never to go there again. Admittedly it was the week after half term and very few people there, but an announcement as to what, if anything, was happening would have been nice ! There was free Internet connection in the bar area, but you had to pay for it in the caravans. We wouldn't go there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review on Felixstowe Beach following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the park and the layout. I have noted your comments relating to the trees and I can advise you that we are in the process of having various work carried out on the trees to improve the situation. I would like to thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The location of the park was perfect - about a 5 minute walk to the sea front and a 10 minute drive to the main town.

On arrival we were told to park on the mud next to the caravans (which were very crammed in with hardly any space between!) - we were not warned that it was a complete and utter mud bath and we got stuck in a puddle and my pensioner father had to push the car out! Once the neighbours cars were in, it was impossible to get our car out - one time we attempted going out over an undropped kerb just to get the car out and it scrapped the underside of the car and made a very disconcerting noise.

The caravan itself was fine. We have stayed at lots of caravans before so know not to expect luxury! There was no toaster, however this was quickly rectified when we reported it. The tap dripped continuously but as we didnt want to waste our holiday in reception moaning, we just got on with it.

The pool was small but nice, but the water slide was never open! We stayed a week during the kids half term and saw the slide open for around 15 minutes on the very last day. My kids managed 3 slides each the whole week!

The bar staff were friendly enough and we didnt have to wait long for a drink. We got some amazing hot nuts from the bar on night one, but were disappointed when they sold out on that night and werent replenished the rest of the week!

We ate one meal in the club...it took ages to arrive then we had to send two of the meals back as they were cold - not just lukewarm, physically COLD! So they went away and came back, obviously microwaved and the burger still not hot, but by then we were too hungry to care! The bar staff had no clue where the table numbers were and were regularly wandering around the room with plates of food going cold!

On to the entertainment! We were told on our third day that there would be no shows as the team had just lost a member so were still working on dance routines etc. In the end there was one mediocre show all week. Bethan has to be the laziest, most annoying person in the universe!! She made her dislike of children well known and was downright rude to my 7 year old daughter. She spent most of her time in the bar, or moaning that holiday makers werent buying her cups of tea!! Biggest disappointment was my youngest working out that Loopy is really a person in a costume because whoever was in it kept pulling their gloves around!!!!

On the bank holiday a BBQ was put on with free food, live music, face painting etc. It was one of the highlights of our holiday - really well organised and great fun. The kids had a fantastic time and were chuffed when Cyril made an appearance!

We had a great holiday, but I think this was mostly down to ourselves!!!! We love Park Holidays so will rebook with them, but probably not to this park.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us at Felixstowe Beach. I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your break as much as you had expected. I have passed your comments regarding the food & entertainment onto the Complex Manager and we will use your feedback to make changes for the better. Also, I have spoken to the Entertainments Manager with regards to to one of our Entertainers & Loopy and I can assure you she will be dealing with this as part of the ongoing training. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Fun day we put on and would like to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Even though we booked the platinum static and although it was a nice static the position of it was down right awful! A muddy dirty plot backing onto a road with on going traffic.Even though it had a nice balcony we were not given any chairs to sit on - so the balcony was pointless. Overall the look and feel of the park was ugly, unkept and not in the slightest bit nice.
The food when it arrived was good and great value - but it took for ever to arrive - a good 90 minutes. Then pudding another hour! on one of the days there was NO rice and No icecream - so HALF the menu was missing!
Staff were lovely
Pool seemed good
Felixstowe interesting - the docks and cargo ships certainly added to the kids knowledge of transportation. The Landguard Fort was brilliant and the best part of the holiday.
We stayed 3 nights out of our booked 4. Hope this helps :)

Room Tip: depends on your budget!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2011AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHolidaysUK, General Manager at Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the location of your caravan during your recent stay with us at Felixstowe Beach. I am pleased that you were happy with the food but a little dismayed that it took some time to arrive, I have passed your comments on this over to the Complex Manager so that he can address them. We are working to improve the standards on the park and I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
1.2 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Felixstowe
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Brook Hotel, Flexstowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
16.2 mi away
Seawick Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK
16.1 mi away
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Martello Beach Holiday Park - Pa...
#14 of 14 in Clacton-on-Sea
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK

Address: Felixstowe Beach Caravan Park Walton Avenue, Felixstowe IP11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felixstowe Beach regularly appears in the top 3 for customer satisfaction, but great service is just part of its special appeal. On the park you’ll find a great indoor pool complete with water slide for children of all ages! The entertainment venue is perfect for live shows and cabarets ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Felixstowe Beach Holiday Park - Park Holidays UK Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing