We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great viewing and chill out spot!”
Review of Port of Felixstowe

Port of Felixstowe
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Felixstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great viewing and chill out spot!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you want to spent an hour or two overlooking where the rivers Stour and Orwell meet, watching the port activity, as well as great views across the river to Harwich and also Shotley, then this is the place to be!!. You will be sure to see huge Cargo ships coming and going and well as passenger ferries and cruise ships leaving Harwich. The Port Authority has recently opened a great tea room adjacent to the car park, which sell hot drink and meals all reasonably priced. There are also toilets now in this new facility.
You also have the opportunity to go on the foot ferry across to Harwich and Shotley, which can be an interesting experience!!, and nearby visit the Landguard Fort which an English Heritage facility going back to Henry the eighth times. Remember to take your binoculars. There is also a local bus service to the car park. Ample free car parking and is nice spot to chill out and relax whatever the weather!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonderfree41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    73
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A "swift" visit to Felixstowe”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at our friends house in the little adjoining village of Trimley St Mary and only a few miles from the bustling port. It's quaint Suffolk village with 2 shops (very well stocked with local cider), a pub and an Indian restaurant (expensive and greasy bhajis).

My wife was rather hoping to see her favourite container ship the “Clontarf” at the port, however after some investigation we realised that she has been recently decommissioned. Boo hoo. After this bit of disappointing news we were soon to be cheered by a sighting of a very rare Pacific Swift at Trimley Marshes behind the port. We were MADE UP! This majestic bird was a sight to behold and actually set off a mega-alert amongst England’s most keen twitchers. By Saturday afternoon a police roadblock was in place to manage the throngs of excited fans of our feathered friends.

We also enjoyed a walk into Felixtowe town and were caught unawares by a torrential storm. We stumbled across a local bar called Band Box to take shelter in and spent a few hours in the VIP area where the décor and mod cons were of very high quality.

We did enjoy this break very much and hope to visit there in years to come.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

It was alive with activity and movement - huge cargo being moved around - we saw the large cargo ships and the little lorries taking one load each and off they went around the country keeping transportation alive. My kids found it all very interesting as did My Husband and I.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2011AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“watch other people work”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A great view point of the port. You can sit for hours just watching the cargo ships coming in and out and the amazing skill of the crane drivers loading and unloading the ships

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynxy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Been to viewpoint a few times over the last week- fascinating watching the containers being loaded by the cranes. Saw Stena Line come in on Wednesday. Great if you can get front parking row - but often full- needs to be larger viewing point

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Felixstowe also viewed

 

Been to Port of Felixstowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing