We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of the way but well worth the travel”
Review of The Ferry Boat Inn

The Ferry Boat Inn
Ranked #9 of 96 Restaurants in Felixstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Out of the way but well worth the travel”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Ferry Boat Inn is located along side the quay at Felixstowe used by Private yachts and through a golf course! It is a favourite pub restaurant for visitors who have walked along the beach from the town centre of Felixstowe. The Ferry Boat inn is a character filled building fith lovely fireplaces an beams, and filled with equally characters among the staff and patrons.
There is a good range of real ales and a wide menu which aims to source all ingredients from local suppliers. The food was well cooked and of generous size. There are also "Over 60s" (half sized) portions of some dishes for people who can not manage such generous portions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff_grayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    126
    42
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good Food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Was told of the Ferry Boat by one of the local guys whilst working down in Felixstowe. the place is nice and warm and staff very welcoming, oldy worldy pub very nice.

Plenty of menu choice with fish being the local favorite. All the food we had was cooked as we liked and tasted great.
All in all a great recomendation by the local guy and would definatly encourage you to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank almagettum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Could have been great - it wasn't”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fancied a pub meal to celebrate a birthday. It was a quiet tuesday evening. The staff didn't acknowledge our arrival and when we asked for a table for 4 we were told to sit anywhere there wasn't cutlery on the table. Had to order at the counter where our debit card was retained. The 'custy french bread' was chilled and anaemic.

We had 3 starters, 4 mains, 2 deserts and 2 coffees - a bottle of Pino Grigo, 2 pints of beer & 2 soft drinks. We were charged £120.

The food was edible, but nothing special. Had to ask for more cutlery.

Food overpriced
Staff disinterested
Seating uncomfortable
We won't go back

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TL226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“...ended up leaving, and going for a Chinese Takeout !”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Looking forward to a Birthday meal with family - I phoned ahead to check if our small dog would be allowed in the bar area, staff replied "yes"- as long as on a lead and seated under the table.So I went ahead and booked a table for three adults (plus dog) for Sunday evening dinner.
On arrival, initially both my husband and I were ignored by front of house staff in favour of some "locals" - when we stated we had a table booked we were indicated a small, knee high "Coffee table" with wrapped cutlery for 3 - one dinner plate would have filled this table, and it would have been impossible to fit any dog larger than a Terrier underneath it.When we asked if we could possibly move to another table, we were told No. We asked if it was possible to exchange the table for a larger one,and again we were told No,(the rest of the place was empty!) and the staff were obviously not interested in our custom or comfort.
So we left - not wishing to spend any more time with rude, surly staff with no manners or customer care.Having taken the time to drive out specially to this fairly remote location - I must say it was without doubt the worst restaurant experience we've ever had !
There was no "atmosphere" There was no "service"

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“didnt even get as far as eating!!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

strange location, car park full of pot holes, and appaling service.

building is lovely itself, it really is cute, so we thought we would go in for a drink ( me, my fiance and my daughter)

walked in and asked to be seated at a table and her exact words were " sorry children are only welcome if they are eating" excuse me but my daughter was 3 WEEKS OLD at the time sleeping peacefully in her car seat what exactly is a 3 week old supposed to eat!!!!!!!!

laughable. they literally were not going to give us a table!

must be making FAR too much money, so why bother driving out to the sticks to somewhere thats too far up their own **** to care about customers

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank airhostess17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ferry Boat Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing