We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best by a mile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant

The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Felixstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Best by a mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Visited the Regal with friends from Switzerland they wanted English fish & chips so we took them to one of the best chippies around, brilliant staff always smiling food piping hot a large cod is really large the only thing missing was the news paper wrapping that only us oldies remember.
All round eleven out of ten. You can even reserve a table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    100
    17
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best fish and chips i have ever eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

beautiful menu, starters were lovely, fresh and kept making us go back! the staff were so friendly and i loved going in there, our holiday wasnt very nice but this place kept our spirits high :]

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pixiepaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
190 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Visited the Regal around 3 times before and it has never disappointed me - it is fantastic. The Whitebait starter is lovely and the Sausage & Chips are the best I've had in any fish & chip place. The service is very good - even in busy periods like my recent visit and the décor is very me (I like traditional). Excellent all round!

Along with the Seafront Fish & Pie on bent hill - these are my favourite fish & chip restaurants in East Suffolk.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 375Christopher1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have been to the Regal several times in the past year. The Fish and Chips are fantastic huge pieces of fish,and tasty batter. Along with The Red Lion pub in Southwold, these are my favourite Fish and chips anywhere in Suffolk.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank macala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited Felixstowe on Sunday, 8th April and booked four of us in for lunch at The Regal. The Staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful and the food was very good. Two of us had fish (huge pieces with lovely batter!) and chips, one had scampi and chips which was delicious and I had a Chicken, Leek and Spring Onion pie with chips and garden peas which was very tasty. It made a change to have a licensed bar too. They were large portions and the food was freshly cooked and nice and hot. We all enjoyed our meal and thought it was very good value. We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant also viewed

 
Felixstowe, Suffolk
 
Felixstowe, Suffolk
 

Been to The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing