We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best”

The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant
Ranked #2 of 96 Restaurants in Felixstowe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“simply the best”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have often bought our fish & chips from kevin when they had a small shop further up sea road and since they opened their new restaurant we go inside to eat,the staff are very friendly,the place is spotless and there is a happy ambience about the place.
we have a "pensioners" meal and it is still large but it is so tasty i wish i had bought the normal size,(Perhaps i'm greedy).We have tried all the other fish & chip shops in and around Felixstowe and walton but none comes anywhere near the Regal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    108
    17
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

we spent a lovely few days in felixstowe last week and coming from abroad i just had fish&chips on my mind all day. thank god we ended up in regal's fish bar on our first night because our meal certainly didn't disappoint. we ordered 1x cod&chips and 1x haddock&chips (automatically the big portions as we were starving, we just didn't know what was were getting ourselves into) the portions were MASSIVE, never seen anything like it, a proper big piece of fish in tasty batter, wonderful chunky chips and delicious mushy peas. some generous sprinkle of vinegar and we were in heaven! best fish&chips i had as long as i can remember (best company too i guess), the restaurant had a lovely atmosphere, even though it was near to empty when we came, attentive staff, great value for money, clean and obviously a lovely view out to the sea. this place is a definite recommendation if ever passing through felixstowe and i know we will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Huge bit of fish!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Qued for 20 minutes for a single cod and it was worth it! Massive bit of fish fresh out the fryer with salt and vinegar and eaten on a bench across the road at the beach! Great day out and a great Sunday lunch!! We'll be back for more :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegetarians please note !”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although there is vegetarian options ie cheese sandwiches and a vegetable pie anything fried including the chips is done so in Beef fat. There is plenty of warnings on the menus but just in case you planned to visit by looking on here any vegetarian will be unable to enjoy chips. And everybody loves a chip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbeetlebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We tried for the first time at the weekend and can only say what a pleasure it is to not only be welcolmed but to be served a massive plate of some of the best fish and chips that I have had in years.The owners should be congratulated on a lovely warm restaurant with good staff good food at a resonable price.We will be returning a lot this year I think.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roghack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Regal Fish Bar & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing