We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Lodge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Felixstowe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Felixstowe B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Have just spent three very peaceful nights in this very clean and comfortable hotel. It is ideally situated near the sea front, about 4 mins walk away. All amenities in rooms, which are spotlessly clean. Extremely comfortable beds. Lovely sea view and very spacious bedroom. Breakfast was delicious with a very good selection of cereals along with fruit, yogurt etc. Lovely fresh hot toast and of course not forgetting full English cooked breakfast. Proprietors Margaret and John very friendly and gave us a warm welcome on arrival. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avril J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
15
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We found Castle Lodge on Trip Advisor and were delighted with the subsequent experience. The comfort of the accommodation combined with the warm welcome by the owner, Margaret, created for us a wonderful base from which to move out and reunite with those whom we have known over nearly 70 years. Having come to Felixstowe in 1942 - the writer of this review being 2 at the time - we have not infrequently been disappointed by the lack of quality accommodation in the immediate vicinity. All this has been laid to rest and we now look forward to repeated return visits to Castle Lodge Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David06111940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We have been staying at Castle Lodge for many years and it is still as welcoming and relaxing as ever. Margaret and John are excellent hosts and the hotel itself has lots of charm. The rooms are very comfortable with all the facilities you could wish for. There are wonderful sea views from some of the rooms and it is worth asking for one of these! The breakfast is delicious with local produce being a feature. The hotel is very near the Spa Pavilion and sea front with it's great promenade and gardens.We would never stay anywhere else in Felixstowe and can highly recommend it. Thanks for another lovely stay and hope to come again really soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wallace447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I was made most welcome by Margaret
Room large
Breakfast was yummy and had lovely chat with Margaret too
Would I stay here again YES I would
I was there to see Evening with Jonathan Ansell at very near by Spar Pavillion

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teadrinkergooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I visit Felixstowe fairly frequently and the Castle Lodge is always the first place I try to book. Unfortunately as I usually only know that I am going a few day in advance I cannot always get a room. No other hotel or B & B in Felixstowe is as clean and quiet.(I have had to stay in several inferior but more expensive hotels) As a lone female I feel safe. It is in a great location. Margaret and her husband offer a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L10NEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We just had a great weekend at Castle Lodge Hotel. Lovely atmosphere, with charming hosts and a very clean and comfortable room.

The food was good and an added bonus was that, on request, they can cater for GLUTEN FREE diets.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

I have just come back from a stay at the Castle Lodge Hotel, Felixstowe. We had a family room with fabulous sea views & the en-suite room was very light and spacious.
I often find going away difficult as I am on a strict gluten free diet but the owners specialise in catering for gluten free, low fat and vegetarian diets and the food - especially the puddings - was excellent.
The dining room is large and homely, and in the front lounge the kids got out Scrabble & monopoloy whilst my husband & I had a drink from the bar. The owners are very friendly and didn't mind that my kids were having a rather loud time!
I'm glad we discovered this lovely gem of a hotel - just a short walk from the beach. We'll be back soon.

Room Tip: sea view rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jouet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Felixstowe
0.4 mi away
The Orwell Hotel
The Orwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Felixstowe
415 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Felixstowe Town Centre
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brook Hotel, Felixstowe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
8.6 mi away
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
Milsoms Kesgrave Hall
#1 of 1 in Kesgrave
491 reviews
10.7 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Lodge Hotel

Property: Castle Lodge Hotel
Address: Chevalier Road, Felixstowe IP11 7EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Felixstowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Felixstowe
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Castle Lodge Hotel Felixstowe, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing