We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alice in Wonderland meets Nanny McPhee”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Earsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Earsham B&B and Inns
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Alice in Wonderland meets Nanny McPhee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My new husband and I decided to spend our 'Mini Moon' at the Plantation Farmhouse immediately after our wedding... We were not dissapointed. From luxurious Hungarian Goose feather pillows, to home made pear and ginger Jam, to surround sound in the bathroom this retreat really is a find and total escapism from everyday life. The tasteful French Shabby Chic decor just seems to fit the style of this beautiful period building and it is luxury on every level.
Cherrie and Paul are superb hosts, and the attention to detail on everything at their home is second to none. Ask to try Cherries own blend tea, with a slice of her chocolate cake while sat on the terrace watching Bert, Pixie and co all cluck past (chickens...).
This is truly one of the most special places we have ever come across and the 'daddy' of B&B's in the UK.
We could go on for ever with the details of the Plantation Farm House, but we worry we may never be able to get a booking here again :-) Dont think about this place - just book it.....

Room Tip: The Willow Room is Sublime....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissyFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our short stay in Willow was perfect, absolutely PERFECT!

We endorse - 100% - the extremely positive comments all the other reviewers have listed - it’s a totally unique experience and impossible to criticise.

Situated at the south of the Norfolk Broads its rural setting is idyllic – all that was missing was Goldilocks arriving with the 3 bears!:P

The house is some 500 years old but the refurbishment is very sympathetic and offers all the amenities the 21st century visitor could want.

Cherrie and Paul have seemingly covered every contingency and we found no cause to criticise anything, they oozed a natural friendliness and hospitality and not the typical profit motive that so many establishments see as their primary focus.

Willow is a huge space and the separate bathroom is nearly as big as the bedroom. It has a walk in shower that could accommodate the England rugby team (all at once) and the centrally placed bath allows a long decadent wallow..... and they offer fluffy quality bathrobes of varying sizes – very civilised.

The list of freebie goodies that are on offer is endless- chilled drinks in the fridge, choccies.smellies.electronic gizmos and so on.

Breakfast is an experience in itself and not to be missed.
Please do not rush it- consider it integral to your stay.
The choice is huge –including 4 types of bread, 5 choices of jams and marmalades – fresh ground coffee, numerous choices of leaf tea –Cherrie could even name the hen that laid the eggs we ate.
The quality of local produce with high provenance cannot be bettered and its presentation is exact as Cherrie cooks everything precisely and fresh to order.

Visit Plantation and enjoy not just a nights’ accommodation...but a highly uplifting and pleasurable experience that will leave you relaxed and happy ....this I promise you!

Room Tip: Get whatever is available - a visit is a MUST! Though taller people should choose Willow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Plantation Farmhouse is an absolutely beautiful place to stay, throughout the house the attention to detail is unbeliveable. But what makes it even more special is Cherrie and Paul themselves, they truly make your stay wonderful and nothing is too much trouble for them. So if you're in the area then this is THE place to stay. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I haven't put a review on here before but I just felt moved to after our stay at Plantation Farmhouse.....I may be some time...!!
In the last 5 years we have enjoyed a week away stopping off at several locations staying at what are often described as 'Boutique' or 'Luxury' bed and breakfast places in the UK. We stayed with Cherrie and Paul for a couple of days at the end of last week and I can honestly say that this is the real deal !
The things that we value are (i) welcoming hosts (ii) something unusual or unique in the accomodation (iii) bright and clean rooms (iv) something more imaginative than " a full english" for breakfast.........So,
(i) Cherrie and Paul are a lovely couple and it is clear that Cherrie has put her heart and soul into making a retreat that feels like home. It seems like it is a pleasure for Cherrie to help make your stay just what you need it to be. We feel like we have visited old friends. I can't praise them more highly than that
(ii) The house is in a lovely part of Suffolk and tricky to find as it's hidden down a long path populated by hares, baby pheasants and squirrels. The house is nicely set between a few outbuildings with a duck pond and chickens milling around. Inside it is a gem. A beautifully restored and decorated farmhouse with a fresh, clean shabby chic vibe. Everything is top quality....even the grand piano in the kitchen is a Steinway !!
(iii) We stayed in Willow - you can see pictures on the website - it is that good and more. Very spacious room with an ante space off and a large stunning bathroom. All with ipod dock and integral sound system. Freshly ground coffee, choice of tea, home made cookies on the chest of drawers. DVD's, walk books, maps etc etc...no detail has been missed.
(iv) We don't do the full English thing and look for venues that recognise that food in the morning can still excite. We had kippers one day, wild Alaskan Salmon the next with eggs from the resident hens. All the peripherals ( tea, coffee, cereal, toast etc) were again elegantly produced and presented. Again, I challenge others to compete with this offering.....
So, if you've got this far (I can't believe I have) all you really need to know is that you really ought to give this place a try. You will love your hosts and the experience that they give to you.

Room Tip: Willow is the must stay room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P-spenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at Plantation Farmhouse for our first wedding anniversary and couldn't have had a better experience. The room was beautiful (we stayed in Willow, but also had a cheeky peek at Larch which was also fabulous) and was full of delightful finishing touches such as luxury bath products and a super selection of teas and coffee, including delicious homemade cookies! We felt really welcome and began our stay with tea and cake outside (it may have been chilly but I was determined to enjoy what little sunshine we had and to make sure I experienced as much of plantation farmhouse as I could!) Nibbling away on homemade lemon drizzle cake, sipping on earl grey and watching the chickens having a cluck and pecking around was just fab and a lovely start to our stay.

Breakfast the next morning was superb; cereals,fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh bread, croissants, fresh juices and a hearty cooked option cooked to perfection definitely prepares you for the day ahead!

There is so much more to plantation farmhouse than just a bed and breakfast that I could end up writing an essay, so the best thing I can say is book your stay today! You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimzy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just had the most beautiful few days away at this beautiful house, our host Cherrie was absolutely lovely,nothing was too much trouble we felt thoroughly spoilt! On our arrival we were greeted with homemade cake and tea or coffee, we sat in a beautiful courtyard in lovely weather. We were shown to our rooms which are exquisite, the attention to detail is amazing, pure indulgence, our suite was called Willow, beautiful high vaulted ceiling, extremely comfortable bed with a lovely bathroom with walk in shower and roll top bath. Breakfast was a delight, under the front veranda, cereals, full English breakfast, fresh fruits,yoghurts, freshly squeezed orange the list was endless all locally sourced by Cherrie and her husband Paul. This bed and breakfast exceeded all our expectations and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Try this amazing farmhouse!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wallflower63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We arrived to a glorious afternoon tea with homemade cake and specially blended tea which was a real treat to start our break. Cherrie could not have been more welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.we were shown to a beautiful room which could only be described as a hidden treasure. We loved the welcoming homemade biscuits and tray of tea and coffee. The room did not lack anything and it was truly home from home. In the morning our host had such great local knowledge that she was able to plan our day trip to the beautiful Suffolk coast whilst enjoying a lovely array of food for breakfast.We were offered a full English as well as cereals,fresh fruits and toast.All of this was washed down by a large pot of tea.We had not realised how truly stunning the coastline was but our travels took us to Southwold,Snape Maltings and Aldeborough.we could not have had a better day out as we were blessed with glorious sunshine. On our return we were offered a cold drink or another pot of delicious blended tea. All products were locally sourced which was very important to our hosts. We can truthfully say that we have stayed in many hotels and Plantation Farmhouse is up there with the very best. The attention of detail of our hosts,Paul and Cherrie could not be bettered and we can not wait until we are able to make a return trip.

Room Tip: Go and try either room you will love them both!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sesaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Property: Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Address: Earsham NR35 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Earsham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Earsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling on the border of two of England's most tranquil and unspoilt counties, and lying between the historic city of Norwich and the charming coastal town of Southwold, Plantation Farmhouse Boutique Bed and Breakfast combines the luxury and style of a boutique hotel with the intimacy character and charm of a farmhouse bed and breakfast.The two bedrooms have been designed using a stunning combination of antique and contemporary furniture, and designer and vintage fabrics. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing