We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going to book for next year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunwich
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff House Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Cliff House holiday park is the besting camping experieince I have had to date. The park in laid out in such as way you feel like you are camping in the forest, but we had electric hook-up - so the best of both worlds. Also our friend has a camper van, and he could pitch up next to our group of tents and didn't have to park in a separate section - fab. Also they don't make you camp in a different section if you have a dog - another bonus. All the facilties are clean and well kept, however I think they would benefit from another shower block. They allow you to have a BBQ on pitch, as long as the warden has checked over you gear. The site has a great bar and restaurant on site which are amazing - they really did make our Bank holiday break. Great beer and great food and the service was also fab. The park is right on the beach and the step are at the rrear of the park - so another plus if you have kids or a dog. All in all we can't wait to go back and we are planning out next trip to Cliff House already.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smotty1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 161 of 161 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were intending to visit a different camp site over Easter but could not as their shower blocks were closed. I stumbled acroos Cliff House whilst desperately looking for an alternative and I am so glad that I did. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, our pitch was easy to get on to and situated in the trees. The bar and restaurant were very pleasant and the toilet and shower blocks warm and clean with plenty of hot water. The direct access to the beach makes for a good if somewhat bracing walk although strolling around the site before warming up with a cappacino in the bar is also very nice. All in all a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay in our VW camper as my wife and I were visiting a company locally on 18th Feb. We struggled to find a site actually open in winter and this happened to be the nearest. In the end we're glad we came here. The Showers and toilets were very clean, and even though we turned up at 17:30 by which time reception was closed (well it is winter) we'd been left all the info we needed and paid the night watchman. Reception had actually called earlier to confirm we were still coming and told us all we needed, but there was also a not left for us.

We just managed to squeeze in a walk along a lovely deserted beech, which the site is just above.

There was a bar open, but we didn't venture in as we wanted to relax in the van, but it looked OK from what we saw.

The camping is under trees and is very well drained. Our van weighs 3 tons, and had no problem at all, but as it was -2c I think the ground could have been frozen.

The only down side is the timing on the light by the shower is quite short, so if you are in there on your own you may have to wave an arm in front of the sensor. Not really a problem though, as there is still enough other lights in the room to still see.

We're back later in the year, and I think this could be the place for us to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Cliff House in our campervan over New Year as noticed on the website they were open all year as a new venture. We couldn't believe how empty it was! We were utterly spoilt as we almost had the place to ourselves apart from a few fellow campers and some families staying in lodges/statics.
The site is lovely with trees and good sized pitches with hook up etc. The shower blocks were warm, clean and worked well. The shop and cafe were closed so can't comment and the bar event for new year was ticket only so again didn't go in.
Great place for walking, dogs and children as there are miles of walks through the forests, national trust and Heath land within 5 minutes not to mention the beach a stones throw away. Some pitches had a sea view too.
Definitely visit again although I'm sure it gets busy in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Twinsliders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We have stayed at Cliff House the last four August bank holidays. It’s a great location. We camp and the tent pitches with electrical hook up are very big (we have a 6 man tent with extension that’s about 9 metres) and there is more than enough room plus space for the car. Most pitches are in the wooded part of the site but there are many pitches on grass. A pebble beach is only 5 minutes walk with direct access from the site. Good shop on site but you must order you paper early if you want one. The 12 Lost Churches Pub/Restaurant has a good range of food and drinks plus some themed evenings. The site is near Aldeburgh and Southwold. We normally get our food at Saxmundham Waitrose of Tescos (they are opposite each other). There are cottages, log cabins and fixed caravans for rent / sale. If the weather doesn’t behave there always Leiston Cinema not too far away. I can’t recommend Cliff House enough!

Room Tip: A pitch in the woods with Electrical Hook up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magicdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff House Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff House Holiday Park

Address: Cliff House Minsmere Road, Dunwich IP17 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Dunwich
Hotel Class:5 star — Cliff House Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 30 acre Award Winning 5 Star Rated Holiday Park situated on the Suffolk Heritage Coastline at Dunwich. We are between the Traditional seaside towns of Southwold and Aldeburgh.Cliff House Holiday Park has Camping plots, Touring plots, Self catering and we own and sell holiday static caravans and wooden lodges (We always have a good selection for sale). We have a fabulous bar and restaurant named The 12 Lost Churches (check out the tripadvisor ratings). We have our own beach access and are surrounded by 1000's of acres of National Trust Land great for walking/ birdwatching etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cliff House Holiday Park Dunwich, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing