We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our new lifestyle!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our new lifestyle!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We woke up yesterday on the first day of our Easter break and decided to go away for the night with our 12 year our old daughter and 15 week old puppy and found this place by searching dog friendly accommodation in Suffolk and I am glad we did.
Having only ever been in 4 and 5 star hotels when we are away, and most certainly never anywhere that allows dogs to stay over we, were slightly nervous with pup in tow.
However were transported into dog heaven, friendly accommodaing staff, dog biscuits and bowls of water everywhere! In addition loads of like minded people with their own pets and stories.
The food and service were very good and the accommoadtion clean but quirky and it suited us for our new family lifestyle.......
Would I have been as pleased with my stay had we not had pup in tow....not sure....not because anything was wrong persae but probably because we would not have fitted in quite so well!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    243
    107
    40
    14
See reviews for
131
428
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in "Guildhall" which is meant to be in the 'Marsh View Best' category, the room and bed were tiny (my partners feet nearly stuck out the bottom) the marsh view was more of a garage view with marsh to the far side. The plug socket was held together with tape, we had an empty wine bottle in our bedside table and the shower had mould and didn't smell nice at all. The food was average the staff weren't attentive at all. I really wanted to love this place as the history behind it is amazing, however i struggle to find a reason to come back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here mid March… Left feeling that the whole experience was extremely over priced. We booked a best room and ended up with a family room which was tiny. There were no ‘little luxuries’ and the room was extremely basic. Neither of us slept at all due to a mattress which just collapsed when you lay on it and a metal bed that made chiming noises every time you moved.
In The Ship’s defence, the food was excellent and the bar had a wonderful atmosphere in the evening. Breakfast was good also.
The price is way over the top though for the standard of the accommodation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at the Ship Inn and had a wonderful time, the staff made us most welcome and the place was clean, cosy and relaxed.
We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly go again.
The history of the area is very interesting and also some lovely walks

Room Tip: Book a room that over looks the marshes
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithMaynard474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Having stayed at The Ship twice, we returned today, for lunch in the garden and once again determined to return, for a short break. This pub, resturaunt, hotel is tucked away on the doorstep of the Suffolk coast and is warm and friendly and makes you feel like you have known it all your life! The food is excellent and our personal favourite is the homemade scotch egg, served with salad and wonderful, homemade picalilli. The rooms are fresh, warm and cosey, the garden beautiful, the beer is excellent and all of this a very short walk from the beautiful shingle beach. We were so encouraged to see that nearly all of the very friendly, attentive staff have remained the same as on our first visit, over two years ago. Go there, you will be so glad that you have!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is the second time that we've stayed in the last 6 months, again as a result of an offer, and we will be happy to stay here again. We were in a bigger bedroom this time, overlooking the courtyard with two windows and the car park on the other side through another. We arrived during high winds, so were glad to find that the Ship offered its usual warm staff greeting and service. It's an old building, the windows don't fit properly - this is a nightmare for some and yet charm for others - some rolled up toilet paper did the trick to cut the draughts, but force was needed to close one window that the cleaning staff had left open for ventilation. Apparently a new chef had arrived, but we still found that the food was excellent. The beer was as good as ever, and a large choice of nice wines were available as usual. We arrived on a Sunday night and it was busy in the bar, particularly with dogs. We had no problem with this, especially as it's a decent sized area, and we noticed that anyone who wanted to eat still had the availability of two other dining rooms and the large conservatory. This time of year the huge beer garden was out of the question for the evening, but we enjoyed a lunch there. On the second night we decided to try the conservatory to see if previous criticisms were valid. Not so, there were heaters dotted around, so much so that I actually turned a couple of them off - if anything it was too warm. Mrs Hobo appreciated the ambiance - plenty of candles to create a romantic feel. We slept well, breakfast was excellent as usual. We enjoyed walks by the sea, around the village and up into the woods amongst the red deer. A trip to Minsmere is a must if you like that sort of thing as Mr Hobo does. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsHobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a business trip. I had checked the place out before booking and getting a very good deal.
I had a very pleasant room which was very comfortable, the wifi was good and there was the usual coffee tray which sported good quality biscuits. The bathroom was clean and good quality shower gel etc. Having read the menu I was looking forward to dinner. I managed to get a table in a pleasantly busy bar / restaurant. There was a good selection of well kept beer. I chose fish & chips, this was served quite quickly - only problem was the excellent fish was let down by the soggiest chips ever! I spoke to the bar person who said the problem was starchy potatoes. I don't get that...if the potatoes are no good..get different ones!
I slept well & the food returned to form with a first class freshly cooked breakfast.
To sum up ...just short of five stars, but I would return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
795 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
658 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
717 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Property: The Ship at Dunwich
Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship at Dunwich 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing