We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship at Dunwich
Nearby Hotels
$187
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randolph Hotel(Southwold)(Great Value!)
$203
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wentworth Hotel(Aldeburgh)
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan(Southwold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Crown(Southwold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveler rating
341
277
120
43
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
341
277
120
43
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfish and chipsscotch eggdog ownersmarsh viewbeer gardensuffolk coastpork bellygreat lunchdunwich heathstable blocksister pubdog friendly pubpiefamily roomopen firemain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
541 - 546 of 796 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've meant to write a review on The Ship every time we come, we've been here so many times but finally decided to get around to it this evening whilst actually sitting in the bar at The Ship, by the open fire with a very nice bottle of red wine, fabulous! We totally love this place, all the staff are so lovely and friendly, nothing is too much trouble! The rooms are simple in design but very comfortable, cosy and relaxing and extremely clean. One of the best things is the food, you won't get better 'pub food' anywhere, locally sourced meat, which my partner loves and the new chef is fantastic, always happy to produce a delicious vegan meal for me. The Ship is in the most gorgeous location right by Dunwich Beach and the walking in this area is stunning. We cannot recommend The Ship highly enough!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank abby762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Ship is a great place to stay for a few days by the sea. Comfortable rooms, good food, pleasant atmosphere and friendly staff. Excellent location on the coast with good walking north to Walberswick and Southwold and south to the National Trust coastguard cottages.
The pub is very dog-friendly which means that as many as five dogs were in the bar at one time during our stay - OK if you like dogs, not so good if you don't!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Marsh View "best" room. We do not know about other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RivermanCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

A very friendly atmosphere and friendly attentive staff. Great menu and quality locally sourced food. Lovely room which exceeded our expectations with a good shower and comfortable bed; spotlessly clean. Very accomodating to our Border Collie Fly who was also allowed to stay in our room. All in all, an excellent experience. Although we had been here before and used the bar area, we will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Beacon Hill'. Good if you have a dog because it is at the back and right near the garden.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed here in the last 15 years. I think over that time it has changed, but never to the detriment of its basic character. Obviously not the place to visit if you want wall to wall excitement. Dunwich doesn't even boast a shop. And the beach cafe is closed out of season. All good so far. And The Ship is in keeping with the simple, relaxed atmosphere of the village. A wonderful place to stay for dog owners as not only can you eat in the dog friendly bar, but there is also a dedicated dog friendly breakfast room. The food has certainly improved since my first visits - then it was good, simple pub nosh, but now it has a much more varied and imaginitive menu - possibly the price of a meal has gone up a little, but they aren't silly prices. I am still salivating thinking of the pork belly. The rooms are lovely, especially the original ones in the main building. They are simple, spacious and clean. And every single member of staff was courteous and friendly. My life will be seriously impoverished if I didn't have regular visits to Dunwich to look forward to, and I hope that there will never be a need for the village or The Ship to lose their magical qualities.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room in the main building overlooking the marshes. Double glazing should dampen the noise of the high rise block of flats for the sparrows on the wall ouside the window.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Ship. We went on a special offer which represented excellent value for money , probably very hard to beat!
The food & staff were both great, my husband said they were the best scotch eggs he had ever tasted so they are highly recommended.
Unfortunately our first nights sleep was not perfect. We were in one of the annex rooms and there was a mechanical fan like noise going all night. Next morning we asked if this could be turned off, but there was a fault so they moved us to a room at the front with views of the marsh. The second nights sleep was peaceful. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The inn is very dog friendly which is great if you like dogs but be warned if you don't. We love dogs so it was fine for us.
The only complaint I have , is that I think it is time for some new pillows, in both rooms they were a bit flat.... This is easily sorted and no reason not to recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the inn not in the annex as these rooms are slightly overlooked.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac6dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews