We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us and the dogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our stay at the end of February was just brilliant. The friendly staff, excellent food and comfy beds was perfect for a couple of nights getaway.The walks nearby are beautiful, either coastal or heathland. Southwold and Aldeborough not far away for abit of shopping and to take home some fresh fish.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 773 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second visit to the Ship. We took our 2 dogs for a 2 night break. We had a fabulous room, plenty of space for all of us, easy access to the enclosed garden for pooches and just a stones throw away from the Coastal Path Walk and the beach.

The food at the Ship is excellent, so no need to venture out at night. Varied menu all cooked by someone who obviously enjoys their grub. Lots of lovely local produce cooked with imagination and love. Breakfasts set you up for the rest of the day, lovely locally reared pork and bacon, fresh coffee fantastic local bread.

The staff at the Ship are welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble, this is a wonderful, dog and people friendly place to stay...we will be booking again.

Room Tip: If you take your dogs ask for the garden room, family or outside rooms, very handy for the early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just come back from a two day break - it is very friendly and welcoming here. A great relaxing place, lovely log fire in bar, where we eat in the evening. Food of very good standard and very accommodating for anyone with special diets. The bedroom was spotlessly clean - not a huge room but adequate for a short stay. Anyone looking a quiet relaxing break close to the sea and away from everything I would certainly recommend it here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed for a one night break mid February as part of a short tour in Suffolk. i t is a really good country Inn, rather than an Hotel and should be judged on that basis. lovely fresh local food and locally brewed beers. Comfortable and welcoming and a great fire roaring in the bar.Getting a table can be a bit of an ordeal when they are busy in the winter and you cannot sit outside. the bedroom had a DVD with the fascinating history of Dunwich. we'll definitely go again.

Room Tip: Giuldhall or all saints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for a two night break with another couple in February. Weather was very mixed so were only too pleased to eat in the pub. Glad we did as food was wholesome and appetizing, and some good wines as well at reasonable prices. The rooms were spotless and we were given fresh towels each day. Lovely breakfast and above all a delightful staff who always had time for you. First but defiantly not last visit.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the Marsh view rooms especially looking out in the morning to see deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at the Ship Hotel which is a great base for exploring the Suffolk coast. The room was in an annex that over looked the car park, it was comfortable and adequate and what we would expect for the price. The staff were helpful and very friendly. The breakfasts were lovely.

We ate in the bar on the first evening, the food was reasonable pub food and the beer was great. However, the bar lacked atmosphere, it was brightly lit and the other guests were not particularly friendly. There was a man propping up the drinking beer and belching loudly, which was off-putting.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived with our beagle and our staffie my daughter and l were made so welcome. We were offered an upgraded room which was super. The dogs were made very welcome, being allowed in the bar and even to be with us at breakfast in a small cosy dining room. All food at The Ship was just fantastic, with breakfast being a marvellous start to our day( so much for my diet!). Even the dogs were included, being given their own sausages. Roll on our next stay at this fabulous jewel of a find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubble1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
841 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
352 reviews
4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#2 of 4 in Southwold
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
745 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
694 reviews
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range: $119 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship at Dunwich 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing