We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More veggie options please!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ship at Dunwich
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at the Ship for two nights in early November. We took advantage of a voucher offer which represented excellent value for money. Our room - Gilden Gate was the smallest pub/hotel room I've ever stayed in - quite a challenge as we had a large dog with us. The pub was lovely, breakfast was generous and very well organised. We ate at the pub the first night and both thoroughly enjoyed our meals, unfortunately there was only one veggie option on the menu and none on he specials board - simply not good enough! - so we were forced to go elsewhere to eat on the second night. You wouldn't dream of offering a single menu choice for meat-eaters, so please consider at least a second option for veggies...

Room Tip: We stayed in Gilden Gate which was one of the carpark annex rooms. Very small, especially as we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jds38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Ship. We are looking at introducing a separate vegetarian menu to make sure we do our best to cater for all our customers. We would have of course been happy to create a dish for your second night as we often have another vegetarian dish on our specials but appreciate that it sounds as if this was not the case when you stayed and for this I apologise, I really do understand the frustration of not getting a great vegetarian choice when staying away as I was myself a vegetarian for many years and still love eating good vegetarian food to this day.
I hope you choose to return in the near future to sample our new menu with the extended vegetarian options and that we change your last impression of us.

Many thanks for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 785 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely old English pub with lovely warm rooms. The food was delicious and the bar and beer great. I was disappointed with the room in that I expected to be in the pub but we were put in an outhouse. Although the room was lovely and very clean I would have enjoyed the atmosphere of being part of the pub. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carole c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just back from a short break to East Anglia and felt the need to review a couple of places visited! Stayed here for one night, room was small, needing a decorate, but adequate for myself and my wife. Food ok but took approx 50 mins for two main courses to appear. It was not a busy lunchtime! Service was really the let down here, staff really seemed to wish they were elsewhere, which was such a shame as pub really in a super spot! Maybe we caught The Ship on an off day, but you could have done better!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew G, General Manager at The Ship at Dunwich, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review The Ship and for the good points you make about the area and our location. It is such a shame that as you say, you felt you caught us not at our best. As always we can only apologise and share your feedback with the team to keep us on our toes
I am surprised by the comments you made about the team as the feedback we usually get is the opposite and describes them as warm, helpful and knowledgeable. I am so sorry if this was not the case in your experience.
We have many different dining areas at The Ship and it is rare we have a quiet lunchtime so it’s difficult for me to put my finger on why your lunches took too long. Our aim is to deliver food within 30 minutes, as we do cook all our dishes to order to ensure the best quality, I can only presume there were a few big tables in the other dining areas that slowed things up a little.
It would be great to see you back here one day and I am hopeful that next time we see a review from you on Tripadvisor it paints a picture of what we aim to be for all our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed on the 1st and 2nd Nov. It was such a lovely hotel, lovely bar, food for breakfast was lovely, great selection. Evening meal one word WOW, their fish and chips were delicious. The homemade touch goes a long way. Friendly staff, great value for money and comfortable rooms. We stayed in room 12( woods end) which was small but had everything you could need. Also tried one of the suggested walks in the guest information book and we got to see and walk along the beautiful beach on our return.
One word of advice, the cafe on the beach is not worth a visit, over priced and not a patch on the ship and they were asking £1.30 for one can of coke?
Stick with the ship and you can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Imagine a traditional bar with log fire and stone floor. Lots of people with muddy dogs and muddy boots drinking real ale and red wine, reading the Sunday papers and enjoying roast beef lunches.
Fabulous walks from the door, down to the pebbly beach or up to the Priory ruins. Simple but comfortable room overlooking the marshes - the only minor complainst were the noisy plumbing and the temperature in the bedroom which was over hot but this meant that we slept with the window open and could hear the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the pub with a view over the marshes. rooms are not generously si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max2012Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

FOR
food,beer,atmosphere,staff and service,clenliness,location and great for taking your dog!!!

AGAINST
Just a little bit to warm for our liking but probably nice in the winter.

Looking forward to visiting again, for more than one night though,the three of us enjoyed our stay so much.
Mark,Julia & Hershey the dog

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark4aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I booked this holiday for our family which includes two boys (12 & 5) and our golden retriever puppy. I wanted something that would suit us all and give us a chance to get out and about, and we weren't disappointed! Our room was located at the top (Blackfriars) which was very quirky with its sloped roof and it was clean, warm, well furnished and a separate room for the the boys and spacious hall for the dog! We ate in the conservatory for dinner and our dog was most welcome - I appreciate that eating with dogs isn't everyone's cup of tea, but there is a dog free room which had a nice sofa in it! The staff were friendly, helpful and whilst often busy I found them attentive. We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: Blackfriars was great for a family but don't expect to carry a buggy all the way to the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyV48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunwich
2.5 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
848 reviews
8.5 mi away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
699 reviews
4.4 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,536 reviews
4 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
405 reviews
5.1 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship at Dunwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship at Dunwich

Address: St. James's Street, Dunwich IP17 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Dunwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunwich
Price Range: $134 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ship at Dunwich 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a haunt of smugglers, The Ship Inn isn't just a great place to eat, drink, relax and get away from it all – we like to think it's also part of a great story. Now a quiet, idyllic village surrounded by nature reserves, heathland and beach, only the romantic ruins of Dunwich monastery remain to hint at the fate of this once thriving medieval port claimed by the waves during a terrible storm. It's said you can still hear the peal of the church bells beneath the waves. While we can't guarantee that, there are certain, more earthly things we're always happy to provide… real ales, real food and a real fire. You will find: a great pub, home-cooked food in our restaurant, a cosy hotel with comfortable, traditionally furnished bedrooms, some with views across the sea or marshes. There is also an enormous garden dotted with fruit trees (including our 300 year old fig tree) and a beach that really is just a couple of minutes walk away. Whether you want to use it as a base to explore this wild and wonderful coastline, enjoy some of the best fish and chips on the Suffolk coast or simply indulge in a pint or two of Adnams, The Ship Inn at Dunwich extends the warmest of welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Ship at Dunwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship At Dunwich Hotel Dunwich
The Ship At Dunwich Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing