We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture Perfect Hotel Stay”
Review of The George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George
Ranked #1 of 4 Cavendish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for an overnight stay, as we were attending a wedding in Alphaton. When booking, we were given our choice of rooms and was permitted to have an early check in. We arrived at the hotel, and was welcomed by a friendly member of staff, she showed us to our room. We had the blindsided room (Room 2) which had a surprising bed, sofa, dresser and wardrobe. Including was tea and coffee facilities. We were at the front of the hotel, so could see out into the village and our car below in the car park.
Before we left for the wedding, we had a drink in the bar, which had local drinks available. The bar was not overly priced. The hotel had arranged for our taxi.
Breakfast the next morning was peaceful and delicious. We were the only guests so enjoyed being served and waited on by the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheKennyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your review...i am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you were made to feel welcome and comfortable. We always strive to accommodate all of our customers needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 166 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Steaks were the best we have eated for a very long time. We could mix and match on the menus which was great.
Service was brilliant. Restura t was busy and had a great atmosphere.
Would highly recommend this eatery.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your birthday celebration at The George.....see you on your next birthday!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

2nd stay in 6 weeks. We absolutely love this place. The beds are so comfortable, the food is the best and the staff are all so lovely, can't do enough for you. We have been coming here for a few years now and have never found anything to complain about. We always try to get room 1 as it's our favourite, but have stayed in the other rooms and they are lovely. Thank you Bonnie , Lewis and staff for keeping the standard so high and making us keep coming back!

Julie & Rae x

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julie179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you Julie & Rae for another fab review....we love it when customers return time after time. We really appreciated your support. When you coming next?? See you soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great hotel, room was a little small, but unsurprising as its a super old building. Low ceilings so watch out if you are tall. Food was excellent, one of the best breakfasts I've had in ages. Great for weekend breaks or weddings etc. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your highly recommended review....see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The George is a Tudor building that has been given the 'mid-century modern' treatment - plenty of painted timber and stripped doors, seventies furniture and clean styling. Our room involved a change of level to get into the bathroom - not unusual in old buildings that have been reorganised - but was spotlessly clean and comfortable with the customary tray of tea-things, some very luxy bedding and nice decorative touches.
Dinner was terrific - at the upper end of the gastro-pub range, but reasonably priced and beautifully cooked and presented. Breakfast used equally good ingredients, but was sensibly no-nonsense, with a small range of choices - the freshly squeezed juice and home-baked bread were delicious. Service throughout was cheery and friendly. All in all a lovely place to hole up for a couple of days while exploring the wonderful villages and sights nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palexri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

A really lovely review....Thank you!! We are glad all our little touches are well received...hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Great little find, very nice setting, loved the decor and courtyard garden. Lovely gastro pub style food. Service perhaps a little slow but this was Monday night and 50%+ of the tables were full. Very enjoyable evening with colleuges.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

We are glad you had an enjoyable meal with us at The George and that the decor and garden were well received....Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a night recently which included dinner, bed and breakfast and for what we got it was exceedingly good value. I would have happily paid more!

The meal itself was exceptional gastro pub food which left me scraping every last piece off my plate. Portions sizes were good and the presentation was excellent. Breakfast was also very good and served at a reasonable time (when I’m on holiday I don’t want to be forced to have it at 8am!).

The building itself dates from the 16th century so there's lots of period features, uneven floors and low doors. To me this gives a place character and is a bonus although it does lead to my only gripe. Our room was directly above the restaurant and we found that the noise from a particularly boisterous party travelled into our room. Not a huge problem unless you're after a quiet, early night.

I also have to mention that we were on a cycling holiday so needed somewhere to store our bikes overnight. Whilst we left them around the back when we arrived, unprompted the staff bought them inside overnight which kept them safe and dry.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan_W_12569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie S, Owner at The George, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review....we glad you found us good value money!! Hopefully we will see you again soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavendish
2.3 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
140 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
542 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Five Bells Public House
The Five Bells Public House
#4 of 4 in Cavendish
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George

Address: The Green, Cavendish CO10 8BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Cavendish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cavendish
Price Range: $106 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in this 16th-century restaurant with rooms. The George is situated on the edge of the village green in Cavendish, positioned in between the popular villages of Clare and Long Melford and just a short drive from the timeless village of Lavenham. Since October 2010, co-owners Lewis Bennet & Bonnie Steel have achieved their 2nd Rosette and four gold stars from the AA & Visit Britain tourist guides. The emphasis at The George is on the quality of food and customer service. The menus offer a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes and budgets. The menus change frequently and are guided by the seasons. We aim to use the highest quality, sustainably sourced ingredients and utilise our garden to grow seasonal items such as baby leaf, beetroot, edible flowers, tomatoes and herbs to use on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cavendish
The George Cavendish, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing