We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch on business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Myself and some colleagues dropped in for a quick business lunch this week. Staff very friendly upon our welcome. Easy parking.

The sun was out, so we sat outside in a nice courtyard area. Food was OK - good, however didn't meet the exact description on the menu.

We will certainly be back again to explore the menu further.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again in the future, now that our new Restaurant and Courtyard area is nearly complete.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 603 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a delightful and friendly privately owned hotel in the Glenn splendour of the Suffolk countryside. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They are also efficient and give excellent service. Combine this with a great chef and it makes for a ver pleasant stay. The hotel is undergoing refurb with a new Reception, restaurant gym and spa but the builders don't start until well into breakfast and did not disturb me at all. Building work always generates a bit of dust but it will be fabulous when it's finished. As there isn't a gym yet I popped into Diss(5mins drive) to use the small well equipped gym. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Prior to our arrival I was pleasantly surprised that the hotel emailed to ask if we would like to book a table for dinner- so big thumbs up there.

On arrival the site is in a process of upgrading so there is building work going on but it didn't disturb us at all.

The rooms are all on ground level & away from the road, a bit like a motel layout & I was allocated room 7 which faced out over fields. The room had TV, tea/coffee, desk etc. & the bed was comfy. The shower was decent but the towels were a bit whiffy (kitchen smell?)

The restaurant was buzzing with flies so we spent all of dinner, and breakfast, trying to swat them away at the same time as eating- not pleasant. The food was OK, nothing special. Breakfast was a joke, I ordered their Brome Signature breakfast (2 poached eggs, prosciutto & croissant) then the waitress came back to say they had no prosciutto & offered ham (didn't know what type) or bacon. I opted for ham then she came back 5 minutes later to say no ham!!
It would've been fine but when it came out the poached eggs were like bullets. We also overheard that they only had 1 sausage left (to a table of builders).

At least we can have a laugh about it but will probably not be back again unless we can eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicnoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your helpful review. Your comments have been passed on to our team. Without guest feedback it would not be possible to evaluate our performance and continue to improve on a daily basis.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed 2 nights here during July '14. The rooms are chalet style facing a large forecourt which is also the car park. The rooms are of a traditional style and are big along with a large bathroom. They are good but not spectacular but its not that kind of hotel. The hotel restaurant has a homely, traditional decor and the food is surprisingly very, very good! It's prices are above average. The breakfast has a large choice and plenty of food on your plate.
All of the staff in the hotel were all very helpful and friendly. They also offer heaters for each room if you need them while the central heating is off.
It's well worth a short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wrennie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and found it ok, we had the use of the adapted room which has a wet room and this was fine. The room was average size and had a step but a wooden ramp was available if required. I would not expect this is suitable for an electric wheelchair . As in other reviews the Hotel is a building site and in need of refurbishment . I hope that when it is completed it will be a much better place. The breakfasts are ok but I feel the evening meal was overpriced for what you get and our food was ok but nothing special. The staff are fine and friendly . The hotel has a function room in the car park area and it is used for weddings and other events so much noise in the rooms nearby until late so be prepared if you are staying a Saturday night. But overall this hotel seriously needs the up grade in all areas.

Room Tip: The rooms are in a court yard formation and as far from the function room would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review which was most helpful. We hope to have our refurbishment phase 1 complete next month (end Oct). We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Generally very good. The room was 'old' and showing its age. It was cold that night and there was no extra heating. I don't see why I have to write 200 characters when all I have say is what I have already said.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to the BW Brome Grange Hotel again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Sharing a hotel with a building site is not a good idea. Had we been warned we would not have visited. Our room was with the exception of the window frames, clean. The bathroom fittings are dated but the towels are fluffy and large. Lots of hot water and good shower pressure. The dinning room is small, cramped and rather dusty, I suspect the building works are the cause but the cleaners need to work double time if the hotel is to maintain standards. Dinner was very average and our puddings poor, lack of chocolate and lemon taste. Breakfast ingredients were good but so over cooked that the fried eggs were-hard, bacon like leather and sausages like bullets. Scrambled eggs like rubber! Staff, however, were heful and pleasant.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Thank you for your review. We apologise that you were not pre-warned of the extension taking place during your stay. We have many measures in place to ensure that the extension has little disruption to all our guests. Our aim is to make the BW Brome Grange a more delightful and comfortable place to stay once our extension is complete and we have a new restaurant, reception, meeting rooms, leisure and fitness in place. We do hope that you will return again one day to see the finished result.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
509 reviews
18.1 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 mi away
Best Western Ipswich Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
244 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Cedars Hotel
The Cedars Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stowmarket
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range: $54 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing