We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We would like to thank all the staff for a great New Years Eve party. The food was fantastic and the waitress and waiter staff was excellent. We were made very welcolm.A speical thank you to Sarah Booty for booking the table and booking a nice room for our friends to stay the night.Many thanks again Hilary .

Room Tip: The room in the main hotel was excellent. Staff very helpful and polite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. Your comments have been passed to our staff and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 577 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Monday 23rd December until Friday 27th December for a Christmas break. I recommend this hotel to everyone - the staff were so welcoming nothing was too much trouble for them. Very surprised with the food and service - all of our meals were excellent everything was fresh no frozen food at all. I especially want to point out that Jonathan Crisp, the restaurant manager, was extremely helpful and has excellent social skills. He made us feel "special" plus all of his staff were exceptional and so friendly which is unusual in the UK. I cannot understand some of the reviews as we could not fault this hotel. The food was comparable with many 4/5 stars we have visited in the UK.. We stayed in the Brome Suite which I would highly recommend - worth paying extra for this room. Every request we made e.g. more towels and pillows was carried out within a few minutes and we were so comfortable. The room was extremely well heated as it was quite cold outside and very clean. I was really impressed with the gifts of fruit/bottled water which were placed in our room and could not believe it when my husband and I were also given individual Christmas presents which were totally unexpected. We met the Owner Brian and also the General Manager Julie who have created a wonderful welcoming atmosphere in the Hotel. Have nothing but praise for everyone for working so hard to make our Christmas break perfect. Hopefully we will be back!

Room Tip: highly recommend booking the Brome Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trisha1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Break with us. We endeavour to ensure that all our guests receiving a welcoming, home from home experience; especially during the festive holidays. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to the hotel in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We decided to go out for Xmas day lunch with the family and were very pleased to be seated in the adjacent barn, the room was beautifully decorated as we're the tables, and we were greeted at the door and taken to our table. All the staff were very jolly and very polite ( some were very young but perfect manners)and couldn't have been more accommodating. The food was excellent, well presented and hot, the chef had altered the menu to accommodate my vegetarian mother. Soup was beautiful, We were even given complimentary liqueurs to end the excellent 5 course meal which was extremely good value. Definitely be booking next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We value your feedback and kind comments and these have been passed on to the team. We hope to welcome you back again to the Hotel very soon.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

16.12.2013 My friend and I went for afternoon tea. I was wearing an orthopaedic shoe as a result of foot surgery and the receptionist greeted me " what on earth have you done to your Foot?" Very tired dining area. One glass of champagne flat and too sweet to be real champagne. Both glasses replaced on request. Sandwiches very basic. Cakes all mass produced. Tea topped up with hot water no fresh tea bags so too weak to drink. Waiter Neville saved the day as very caring and friendly. Enormous spider in ladies loo in cob web at eye level. First and last time for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank maryehawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed that your expectations were not met during your recent visit to the Hotel. We do value your comments as without customer feedback we cannot continue to improve and measure our standards. We do have an expansion plan in progress which will hopefully see a new Restaurant and refurbished Lounge area. We hope that may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Brian and Kelly Keane
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend booked a month ago to take my mother and father for lunch as we'll not see them over Xmas.

On arrival we were told they had no record of our booking, even though my girlfriend had been in an email conversation with the grange regarding the suitability for my elderly father. However, they managed to seat us anyway.

The waiter that took our drinks order was confused about what is red wine and what is white. But he corrected his mistake quickly.

Mainly, the food was good. The veg was overdone and a bit soggy and my fathers beef was tough and griselly. However, the rest of the food was good. I had the turkey and I enjoyed it.

The service was pretty slow(45 mins for our starter), but other than the drinks confusion was ok.

Overall, I would give the grange another chance as the good showed potential, although it would have to improve for me to make further visits after that.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you would consider returning to the Hotel. We are continuing to improve our standards every day and we hope that this will have a positive impact on your next visit.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We made the decision to have our christmas party at the Brome Grange, as we had heard very good reviews for the Carvery. Having attended the christmas party last night, for £25 we thought it would be good, but we were left very disappointed. If you were unlucky enough to be in the marquee near the centre of the room you had to squeeze in and have the table against your ribs, to many people in one area, the mains came out along with one small watery gravy boat, this size would be enough for only 2 people we were on a table of 10, eventually asking another member of staff for more only one gravy boat came out, a splash of gravy was all we got. 2 people running the bar was not enough. Overall I feel the number of heads was more important than the quality.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EL17203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met at your recent Christmas party. We do hope that you made your reservations known on the night to our manager and that it was dealt with immediately. We do hope that we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. Welcoming log fire - lovely and cosy bar/reception area. Room comfortable and warm, which was very welcome after coming in from the cold weather outside. Handy for Diss and Bury St Edmunds - enjoyed the Christmas Fair.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 10 in Bury St. Edmunds
510 reviews
20.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
18.2 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
490 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich Hotel
21.4 mi away
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range: $56 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing