We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Definitely returning”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The bottom line is that, despite a few issues, we would certainly stay again at the Brome Grange. The restaurant menu was fairly restricted but that is perhaps because of the variable residency and the short history of the Grange as a hotel. Considering the numbers ordering, service was on the slow side. However, everything else was fine. The staff were eager to please, the room was spacious with a large television, and the whole complex was peaceful despite fronting a major road. We had booked for an anniversary stay and everything was in place! We gather the hotel has a long-term expansion plan and we would wish them every success. The hotel is placed very centrally for the Broads, Framlingham, the Coast and the attractive countryside. Eye is a few minutes away, as is Diss. We trust prices will not rise as we felt we had good value.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a double bed since 'functions' tend to swamp the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyP433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Feedback is very important to us and we are glad that you can see the progression and positiveness of the training and works we are trying to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Brome Grange in the future. Regards Kelly and Brian Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    183
    106
    31
    14
See reviews for
83
272
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A colleague and I decided to grab a bite to eat and chose The Brome Grange as we like to support local businesses.
We opted for the bar menu which had quite a nice variety of choice, so felt comfortable in choosing different food to compare.
After a little while waiting for the menu (to be printed) and the drinks order to be delivered (correctly the second time) we asked how fresh the fish and burgers were. The newly employed waiter (also doubling as the bartender) tried to defend the Hotel but had to confess both are cooked from frozen.....Not in the mood to really pass criticism we both opted for the burger (we were both hungry and don't trust frozen fish!) and hoped for the best.
It took a while to arrive, was well presented and in all honesty wasn't too bad but we knew no love had gone into the preparation of the 4oz offering.
Having finished the meal we declined dessert and coffee, but paying the bill asking for the VAT number was difficult to acquire as letterhead paper was no where to be found. Eventually we did get the VAT number.
The place is recently opened under new management and there is a lot of work being done to refit the rooms. We felt the staff needed more 'customer training' and attention to detail as there seemed to be no leadership or structure. Although this was a boring ol Monday night, you never know who'll walk through the door if they think the place is quiet. I'd also recommend a bit of background music to create a bit of ambiance.
Will try it again........but when the training has been completed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We take customer feedback very seriously and are disappointed to read about your experience at The Brome Grange Hotel. The points you mentioned will be addressed with the team and will be put right asap. We do have some new staff which are in the training process and we hope that with the right direction we are able to improve our customer service every day. Thank you again and we hope to see you at The Hotel again in the near future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently had afternoon tea at this hotel and the quality of the food was not very good. We had 6 very tiny finger slices of sandwiches between the two of us and the cheese sandwich's literally had less than a teaspoon full of cheese in each one. We also had ham and smoked salmon which were average. Although the hotel advertises the scones and cakes as homemade they tasted shop bought and did not look very appealing. We were served by a friendly young man but were not brought any butter to go with our scones. I saw that another table had been given butter. We were served our tea and no one came back to our table to ask if everything was alright or if we needed anymore food or tea. Overall very poor quality of food & customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scratbygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are very disappointed to read your review today. Our customer feedback is very important to us and the staff to help ensure that we review everything we do and monitor our performance. Your comments will be discussed at our team meetings and we ensure you that the issues you encountered will be addressed. Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel where hopefully we can restore some faith in us.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I'm a keen runner. Not very good, but keen all the same. I also like food, but not when (as is increasingly the case) places think that giving you a piled plate will keep you coming back for more!

So dinner with a business contact at Brome Grange was a delight. Not long re-opened after a change of ownership and major refit, the hotel blends character with convenience (and I'm told comfort too if you stay the night)

Caesar salad, a proper pork chop and chocolate cheesecake were my menu choices. Each dish well prepared, well presented and perfect in size. I felt I'd had a good feed, without feeling stuffed or over-fed.

Oh and the staff here are great too, bright eyed and bushy tailed. A little like the young rabbit I met on the road when I pulled out to drive home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review which is much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit. I do apologise about the Rabbit, which I can say is not part of the service! We do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights here as part of a deal with Great Little Breaks/HotelshopUK.com. It was advertised as a "Romance Break" to include a "bottle of champagne, sensual bubble bath, chocolates and petals on the bed" all to value of £30. The champagne was sparkling wine, the sensual bubble bath was available in Boots for around £2.50, the chocolates probably about £3.00 and the petals maybe 25p. Disappointing as it was intended to be a celebration of my wife's 71st birthday.

Anyway, the room was clean, recently refurbished, well equipped with a comfortable bed, good sized bath towels, flat screen TV and free wi-fi. Many of the rooms are laid out along the lines of an American Motel with a line of around 10 rooms with parking outside the door.The hotel layout is attractive and a lot of work is currently underway to improve the gardens and surrounding land. Although the A143 passes in front of the hotel, passing vehicles do not create any noise nuisance. The hotel public rooms are spacious and the hotel staff keen to please and very helpful.

The food - we were on DB&B - was very adequate, however, I would have been slightly pressed to have spent more than 2 nights there, the menu being almost identical each night. Again the staff were very pleasant and keen to help, however, they do need more training. Breakfast was excellent being freshly cooked as ordered and served hot.

Alltogether a pleasant couple of days - even if not quite what we had anticipated. The hotel,is well situated to explore both Suffolk and Norfolk, Aldeburgh, Southwold and Woodbridge being just a few of the interesting small town in the locality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and thank you for your feedback and comments. They are greatly appreciated and are always discussed with staff to ensure that we continue to make improvements day by day. We have recently opened the Hotel and we do still have a lot of refurbishment work and staff training to complete. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for Dinner Bed and Breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were attentive and very pleasant. Our room 5 was very spacious and clean and also very quiet. We were not very happy with the mattress as if one turned the other went up. I also felt that the bath needed some grab rails to assist older people.
The meals were fantastic well presented and well served. The house red was great value and under £10 what a bargain and very drinkable. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay here providing the mattress is changed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewartBexhillSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review. You will be very pleased to here that we have had a delivery of 12 new mattresses for rooms this week! We are in the process of upgrading all our rooms to make them as comfortable as possible for our guests, Thank you once again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again one day.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently had a family birthday celebration at the hotel and stayed for the whole weekend. The rooms had been recently well refurbished are were big enough to put in an extra bed for our daughter. The main hotel was cosy and had a nice country feel. We had breakfast both mornings which were great and very generous. Staff were very pleasant and helpful in organising local activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AESmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us.Feedback is very important to the team and will certainly be passed on. We hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the near future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
21.7 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Property: Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 41 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 70 contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing