We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new local hotel close to the office”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
NW England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“My new local hotel close to the office”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I now stay at the Brome Grange as it is close to my office where I visit once a month. Good location for me and a nice place to be away from home.

Friendly staff , all of them and they make you feel very welcome. Good food, dinner and breakfast, and the rooms are fantastic. There is even free wifi so not much ales you could want.

Nice bar area with open fire to chill in and parking is no problem and right outside your room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, General Manager at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank-you for your kind words regarding the hotel. I am glad you enjoy staying at the Brome Grange and we look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    187
    106
    32
    14
See reviews for
85
273
9
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed one night in courtyard twin which was spotlessly clean and well appointed for a budget motel-style place. Staff are lovely, breakfast is OK and price is very keen. Our only observation is that rooms being updated are a little on the bland side and could do with a colour injection. The new owners are obviously revamping the place a piece at a time - it is quite big and will need considerable investment, particularly in the bar/dining areas and grounds outside which are scruffy. Will be great if they can pull it all off!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank VikingDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, General Manager at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry you found the rooms bland but I am very pleased the room was clean. I have passed this on to the housekeeping team. We have started to address the gardens and I am sure you will see a big improvement on your next visit.
Thank-you and Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this venue beginning of the year when it was cold. The room we stayed in was in the so called court yard near the main Building. Our bedroom was very basic and although the heating system had been replaced by the new owners the heat was lost out of the old single glazed windows. On our first nights stay was to include a free drink with our meal but this didnot happen. The actual meal was really good and when we asked for the wine menu it was obviously not available and fifteen minutes later we were hand a hot piece of paper with the wine menu on . The next morning we went for breakfast and was seated where the waitress wanted us to sit and not where we wanted too. We were not given much choice and it was only after that we actually saw the breakfast menu. We decided not to stay another night although we had already paid for this because of our experience. When we checked out we introduced to the current owner who we explained what had happened and he showed us around rooms that were being refurbished and suggested we returned later on in the year when they will be more online , so we agreed to this.

Room Tip: choose a room near the main building and one that has been fully refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We value all of your comments and they were taken back to our team to discuss and make changes on how we can continue to improve in the future. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Hotel again in the future.
Kelly and Brian Keane, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came stayed at the Brome Grange as a base from which to visit Banham Zoo after stumbling across a Groupon deal one day. The hotel is easy to find, just off a main road. It has a cute courtyard layout with all rooms on the ground floor and reception in a separate building.

Initial impressions were good, reception is in a beamed building with an open fire and the restaurant. The man at check in was helpful and happy to show us their function room (16th century barn) when we enquired. No mention of the free glass of prosecco that was included with the groupon deal, but to be fair we didn't ask for it and aren't big drinkers anyway!

We were given room 7 which was a spacious double; well furnished and it was nice to have a free standing full length mirror. The bathroom looked like it had recently been partly refurbished. The shower was warm and the bed was comfy with two pillows each. No complaints here, we were really pleased with our room! Tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits were available.

We nearly ate at the restaurant but we didn't really fancy anything on the menu and the atmosphere wasn't what we wanted. We went into Diss instead and ate at the Park Hotel which was a good call!

Breakfast was nice. We had a selection of three different varieties of Tiptree jam and a marmite sachet on the table so didn't have the problems that previous reviewers mentioned of only having strawberry jam! Maybe they read the reviews.

Overall, I would be happy to stay here again but would rather give the nearby Cornwallis a try for variety. I should say at this point that my fiancee and I are easily pleased but we were more than satisfied with our one night stay.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 7 - lovely and spacious
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, bed & breakfast, enjoying one evening meal also. This hotel has had a makeover that has brought it up to a very good standard, for travellers, both private and business users. The attentive staff are the first thing you notice, quickly dealing with reservations, accompanying you to your room (ours was at the back of the courtyard, with peaceful views of the wood & fields). It was such an improvement from our stay with the previous owners a few years ago. The room had masses of drawer space, twin beds a distance apart so you could walk around & inbetween, large flatscreen tv, nice size bathroom, even ironing board etc., plus a good variety of drink sachets. You immediately got the feeling that you could ask for anything and it was no trouble at all. The friendly bar, itimate restaurant, and overall decor & service made us we will rebook, & recommend it. Yes it is still being refurbished, but a nice touch was to have the future plans of the enlargement & extension, shown towards reception. When the staff enquired about our days travels, or helped with directions & local information, we felt they really were interested, unlike some larger hotel chains! Well done the family and staff. See you again soon.

Room Tip: The high walls help contain the A140 traffic noise, but rooms towards the back help even more. Well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We spent one night here last Saturday as a last minute booking and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Our room (12) was very spacious and nicely decorated. We had twin beds which were very comfortable. There was a nice large flatscreen T.V and tea/coffee making facilities. We had dinner in the restaurant and here I unfortunately do have a negative as the heating did not appear to be on although it was quite a chilly evening, and we did feel rather cold and I did see
others feeling the same! However, we enjoyed our meal in spite of this and the service was good.

As the hotel only re-opened in December after a major refurbishment there are bound to be a few
teething problems, but I would say these will be resolved as time goes on. Good value for money
in my opinion and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: All rooms are built in single storey courtyard style. As long as they are all refurbished (only saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pathols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Let me begin by saying this place isn't perfect. It's in the middle of quite a major refurbishment and as such there are a few areas that aren't as good as they could be. Every time I flushed the loo in my room some water popped up out of the plug hole in the bath which was rather alarming. But it is all made OK by the incredibly accommodating staff. They really are an absolute asset to this hotel, and I hope the hotel owners are aware of this.
I travelled with a colleague who has some quite stringent dietary requirements. Very little on the menu was suitable for her, so the waitress and the chef together made a meal that was both tasty and safe for her to eat. And this came at no extra cost or without fuss or complaint. There was a young woman in reception who was being taken through her induction as it was her first day, and her supervisor had clearly been training her very well indeed.
The room was large and had quite a country feel to it in keeping with the hotel's surroundings. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, and I had a fantastic night's sleep. However, as I mentioned before, the bathroom certainly had its faults, so that is something for the renovators to tackle.
I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Essex-couple-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brome
18.7 mi away
Best Western Priory Hotel
Best Western Priory Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
428 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Best Western Ipswich hotel
2.4 mi away
The Park hotel
The Park hotel
#1 of 4 in Diss
220 reviews
20.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Brome Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Brome Grange Hotel

Property: Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Address: Norwich Road | Near Diss, Brome IP23 8AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Brome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Brome Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in delightful countryside the Best Western Brome Grange is an ideal venue for both business and pleasure. Originally founded in the 16th century the hotel has been extended and renovated and boasts 44 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms, 65 seater contemporary Courtyard Restaurant, 3 Meeting rooms, Precor Equipped Gymnasium, Spa Bath and Steam Room, Beauty Treatment rooms and 16th Century Tithe Barn Conference and Banqueting Facility. FREE Wifi and fully licensed Bar and Lounge area. The hotel is ideally located between the three poignant towns of Norwich, Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds and withe easy access to delightful Coastal Towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Brome Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing