We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Brome Grange Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (624)
Filter reviews
624 results
Traveler rating
228
216
122
39
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
216
122
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstithe barnon arrivalhoneymoon suiteevening meal was goodwestern hotelsromantic breakthe main hotelsuperior roomfour poster bedpoached eggsfull englishboth morningsthe general managerroom was largeplenty of hot watercourtyard roompleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 624 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This must be a very popular place as fully booked for dinner when I rang late afternoon on day of proposed visit. This was a surprise on a cold day in March at times of recession. You would expect to have a Pre-booking in top London hotels, but in rural Suffolk, a surprise. There appear to be lots of pubs offering bar food but we were particularly wanting to dine in the evening.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

In summary, the other reviews are pretty accurate. We went last weekend via a Groupon voucher, so it was affordable. First impressions - the photos on the website are very flattering. The room was at the back so it was at least quiet. It was warm and clean. It had been recently decorated - a little too recent as the smell of fresh paint was very evident. There was plenty of hot water and the breakfast was good. The negatives:
The bathroom had been cheaply decorated. Small things like no bracket for the shower head!
WiFi in the room didn't work

All in all it just looked pretty tired, although it's evident some upgrading is happening.

But most disappointing was the customer service. The Groupon deal was meant to have included a complimentary glass of Prosecco each. This was not forthcoming and, as we chose not to have dinner there, was never offered. Worse than this was the alarm call at 5.50am on the Saturday morning. When we asked later why that had happened the receptionist flatly denied it had happened, on the basis that she didn't know how to programme it. Very disappointing as a simple apology would have sufficed, rather than implying that we were making it up.

Overall, not a great experience and unfortunately cannot recommend Brome Grange.

Room Tip: Not room 13!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions. We are disappointed to hear that we did not exceed your expectations on this occasion.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Myself and other half were celebrating 24 years together. We had read some good reviews for this hotel so I emailed them as we thought it would be nice to visit on our special occasion. From the beginning of contact until we waved goodbye after our stay we enjoyed such a fab time. A lovely lady named Julie was smashing when I emailed, and we put together a one night stay including dinner and bottle of wine. I also bought a Groupon deal for afternoon tea thinking this would be perfect during our stay.We stayed on the Saturday in March that was so horrendous weather wise and it snowed all day and night. On arrival we were warmly greeted by Julie and she showed us to the honeymoon suite. Well what could we say. We were blown away by it. Four poster bed, huge double power shower, and through an alcove a gorgeous two person massive spa bath. It was so big that the instructions given in the room said it would take half an hour to fill. The icing on the cake was the lovely box of chocs and card sitting waiting for us in celebration of our anniversary. The suite was so snuggly and warm and there was plenty of hot water (especially considering we had such a huge spa to fill later) and soft fluffy towels warming nicely on the heated rails. Good quality smellies too in the shower room plus wall dispensers filled with shampoo and body wash. Tray with tea and coffee making facilities and DECENT sized cups. Always a bonus for us instead of the silly little ones you sometimes get that house a couple of sips. The flat screen tv was a good size too so didn't need my glasses to see it. After exploring our suite and unpacking we made our way into the restaurant to enjoy our afternoon tea. Large crackling log fire and comfy sofas in the reception area greeted us in a cosy welcoming atmosphere. Decent pots of tea, and a cake stand filled with yummy sandwiches and dainty cakes and scones were served. Just the job and hit the spot nicely when we finished with a glass of fizz each. Lovely. After tea we made our way back to our suite. There were a couple of people from the hotel around as well as Julie and also one of the chefs. Everyone we met greeted us with a friendly hello which was so pleasant and makes a change from some places where the working staff seem to only bother when they have to. Everyone seemed so cheerful and looked like they really enjoyed their work. It made us feel very relaxed and at home. Back at our suite we enjoyed a lovely long soak in the spa bath - pure bliss before preparing for dinner. On arrival into the dining room we were shown to a table near the window so was able to watch the snow falling whilst enjoying our food. Dinner was superb. An iced jug of water was bought to our table and I had chicken caesar salad starter and other half had pate. Warm bread rolls were also served. For our mains we both plumped for steaks with hand cut chips, mushroom and tomato. Both steaks were really tender and melted in the mouth. We were pleased as quite often it can be hit and miss to get a good quality steak served just how you like it. They did not disappoint at all. For dessert I chose a trio of ice creams in a waffle basket which was decadent and beautifully rich, whilst other half went for crumble which he too thoroughly enjoyed. All portions were good sized. As mentioned earlier our stay included a bottle of wine which helped to set our meal off perfectly and was of good quality too. The serving staff were again very efficient, cheerful and made sure we had everything we needed. We did not have any long waits (but no rushing either) between courses and the restaurant was full which to our minds says it all. Especially considering it was such a dreadful night weather wise. They must certainly be doing something very right to get a full house, and everyone seemed more than happy with their food and drinks and the atmosphere was relaxed and very enjoyable.
After a very comfortable night in our four poster we awoke to a heavier covering of snow outside. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and the usual juices cereals etc where arranged to help yourself to. We ordered full english each and this was lovely and set us up for our return journey home. Julie was on reception to check us out and once again greeted us warmly as did the other staff before we left. The hotel has only recently over the last few months been up and running, and the owners are refurbishing. There is a board as you enter the hotel showing plans of how it will look when finished. They have already refurbed some rooms, and they also have a separate building that caters for conferences, meeting venues weddings etc. We have to say we were very impressed overall with Brome Grange. The staff, comfort, rooms and of course very importantly food are excellent. We will certainly come back and visit this gorgeous little gem again. Thanks everyone at Brome Grange. You made our anniversary one to remember forever. We wish you all best wishes for your future at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kas01uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed just one night and were made very welcome by friendly, helpful staff. The room was very comfortable, clean and warm although the weather outside was freezing with some snow!
We had an evening meal and breakfast, both of which were excelllent. In all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at the Brome Grange! Staff are very accommodating & friendly. Food was superb & the rooms were very clean & well equipment. Loads to do & see around the area. Will certainly be returning in the summer. There wedding package looked very appealing ;)

Definitely worth a visit :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairy2231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromeGrange, Owner at Best Western Brome Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It is very important to us and we value all our customers comments and suggestions.

We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Brome Grange Hotel soon.

Brian and Kelly Keane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews